212 Reviews

I don't know why I've never reviewed this recipe before. This has been my go to tortilla recipe since I I started dating my husband! I absolutely love this recipe, so easy and it's a hit every time. We like to add Lime Tortilla Chips! I'm nursing right now and the spice is a little too much so I use different peppers so it's not so spicy and it's still fantastic! My family gets so excited when they see me buying the ingredients for this! Great, Easy, Quick, Healthy..what more could you ask for!?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hbkises December 14, 2014

This turned out SO GOOD! I made a few modifications based on reading other reviews. Added a can of black beans; instead of using tomatoes and sauce, I used a can of rotel hot tomatoes and a couple tablespoons of tomato paste. I also only used 2 big chicken breasts and it still turned out with enough chicken. Topped with sour cream, cheese, and crushed tortilla chips. So so good! I'll definitely keep this recipe on hand. It also makes a ton so I look forward to freezing it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abouks October 17, 2014

Just cooked it now, was so so tasty!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katerina M. August 02, 2014

I made this almost exactly as written except I used homemade shrimp stock that I had on hand and it was really delicious. Even my husband kept saying how good it was. Thank you for sharing it!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mammafishy May 17, 2014

This is sooooo good! The only think I added were black beans!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GrandmaSuzi April 27, 2014

Just made this soup for the first time. Made just as directed and it was wonderful. Next time I may add some black beans. A real keeper!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Granny 7 April 05, 2014

I am giving this 4 stars because I had to pump it up. I ended up doubling the spices and adding the leftover cilantro from the fridge. Yum. Definitely will make it again. I garnished it with zesty Doritos and grated old cheddar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 March 18, 2014

Excellent!! Especially good the next day! I used green chilies in place of jalapeno and in place of the dry white wine I used Ballatore Moscato Rose (more on the sweet side). When I shredded the chicken I seasoned with garlic salt and splashed with Ballatore Moscato Rose before putting it back in the pot. Oh and due to my pantry I had to use can corn (which worked out fine). I topped each serving with just a dab of sour cream( not to much or it will overtake the soup). It was Wonderful! Thank you for the recipe!! I will use it again for sure!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tara_toombs January 08, 2014

We thought the soup was good, but still searching for a recipe that is better for us. The initial flavor was great, but it almost seemed to mellow in your mouth and lose it's punch. Hard to explain. Not a rich, deep, or developed flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iceitup November 13, 2013

This was a great soup! I would definitely make this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny January 18, 2013
Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!