Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Get Healthy Your Way

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    400-Calorie Dinner Recipes

    Totally Satisfying. Totally Made by You.
    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    Sure-to-Amaze Superfoods

    The 16 Benefits You Won't Believe
    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    25 Lighter Comfort Foods

    Bust Your Cravings and Button Your Jeans!
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Average Rating:

    209 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 209

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2012

      I was pleasantly surprised with how delicious and easy this soup was!! It was my first attempt at making soup ever and it's delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      This was fantastic! Just like we get at one of our fave restaurants. I halved the recipe, added a can of rinsed and drained kidney beans, and left out the wine/water. It was perfect. I paired it with Seasoned Tortilla Strips seasoned tortilla strips. I will be making this quite often. Thank you for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Added celery, carrot, and zucchini to up the vegetables in my family's diet and also to add bulk (I'm feeding 2 teenage boys). Put crumbled tortilla chips and cheddar cheese on the table for each person to add as they like. Delicious and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2012

      As I perused recipes for Chicken Tortilla Soup, this one caught my eye. I read the reviews and used most of the suggestions here. I used one can of Rotel and fresh tomatoes to equal the 2 cans (still added fresh jalapeno and cayenne pepper), drained/rinsed black beans, omited wine/water, added 2 pkgs. Goya Sazon, 1 tsp. paprika, and 2 zucchini (thick sliced), used tomato paste in place of sauce, added ground chipotle, made homemade tortilla strips, garnished with avocado, sour cream, colby jack cheese. I did add more chili powder and cuminos to adjust to our taste---however, I did not use fiesta/southwest corn because I could not find any at the grocery store. This recipe was so easy and as far as taste---It was simply the best. Tasty, hearty, healthy, filling, and did I mention it was "off the chain" good. I was so happy this recipe made a lot. I don't have a lot of room to freeze things, so I am blessed to be able to share this wonderful bounty with friends....mmmm mmmmm good! (posted a photo, if it is approved)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2012

      Just finished several servings of this tortilla soup. Only change I made was to add a can of black beans as suggested by another review and my favortie herb, cilantro. Added crushed tortilla chips, cheese, sour cream and additional cilantro to each serving. Quite tasty and satisfying!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      I have tried several tortilla soup recipes and this is the best so far. I made two changes that I'll share, for the tomato sauce I used El Pato which is a Mexican Hot Style Tomato sauce, you can find it on the hispanic foods aisle in most grocery stores. Added a nice kick. Also, I let my simmer for a few hours to really let the flavors meld. That's it! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2012

      Loved it. I changed a few things. I doubled the amount of Tomato sauce by accident, but it worked great. I think otherwise it may not have been creamy enough. I did not used green peppers or jalapeños. Instead I used a can of mild that I puréed in the food processor. Also used a can of corn since that's what I had on hand. Was cooked
      In 45 minutes. The family loved eat, even the pickiest teenager known to man. Will make this often and love that's it's healthy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      This was fantastic. I added red and yellow pepper, a few stalks of celery, and 1 can of light kidney beans drained. I only used 2 chicken breasts. I only used 48 oz of Kitchen Basic's chicken stock (not broth) and it was just the right consistency. I served it with multi-colored tortilla strips and some shredded cheddar cheese. Very nice level of spiciness. I will definitely put this one in my home recipe box. Oh one more substitution...I didn't have fresh jalapeno so I used some diced pickled jalapeno.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2011

      I will definately make this soup again!!!!! I added a can of black beans for extra fiber and color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2011

      This recipe is excellent. I added two cans of kidney beans and one can of black beans, excluded the tomato paste, green onion and green pepper (simply because I didn't have it on hand) and used four tablespoons of corn maze flour to thicken it (and only two Costco chicken breasts)... perfect. Will for sure make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      Thanks this was amazing, and very comforting!!! Made a whole bunch!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      This is wonderful! I used a rotisserie chicken, and looked at labels to make a gluten-free meal! Definitely something I will make over and over for my family.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      A great soup that can be modified any number of different ways to match individual tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      i never write reviews, but felt i had to sign up to leave a review here. Made this the other night and it was amazing. I had a cold and was looking for something spicy and warm to make me feel better. this completely hit the spot. definitely plan on making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      DH and I have been making this recipe for over a year now, we just cannot get enough of it!!! It is so simple and the hardest part really is shredding the chicken!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2011

      This is the best and I do mean the best I have had. I thought Crackle Barrel had the best boy was I wrong......If you like this type of food you won't find anything any better....The only, and I mean the only thing different I did was add a boul of chicken flavor...

      God Bless

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      fantastic. love this soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      Wonderful taste! I used 1/4 cup vermouth and 1/4 cup water for the water/wine ingredient and added 2 bay leaves and fresh chopped cilandro, just because I love cilandro. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2010

      You can't stop eating it, make plenty! Delicious, even better than I expected.

      Texas Trapper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      While I'm not sure how authentic of a tortilla soup this is, it's really good! I made the other chicken tortilla soup on the top 100 list a while back and we liked this recipe better. I used the whole green pepper, but other than that I think I followed the recipe exactly. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    20%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 828.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes