Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Average Rating:

    208 Total Reviews

    Showing 181-200 of 208

    Sort by:

    • on June 20, 2007

      This is INCREDIBLE soup. We made it precisely according to the directions, and it was very good at first taste. Letting it sit in the fridge overnight, it was fantastic. Our slight variation was to serve it piping hot over over rice and black beans, "gumbo style" (copying the menu of a local Mexican restaurant). Garnish with a squeeze of Key Lime, y hombre, esa sopa es muy, pero muy rica!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

    • on March 23, 2007

      Imade this recipe for the first time today, and followed it exactly as written. DELICIOUS!! Thanks, Valerie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      THIS ROCKS! We loved this soup. It was SO flavorful and had the perfect amount of zing. I added a lowfat mix of mexican cheeses and the crumbled lowfat tortilla chips on top are a must. Thanks for a great recipe! This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      This soup is awesome! I found that by boiling the chicken breast, I did not have to use the canned broth, which saved money AND sodium. I then cooled and shredded the chicked and added the broth to all of the other ingredients. I did not use the topping as this soup is so delicious without the chips. This soup is spicy, but not overly spicy. It is perfect and great as is. Thanks for posting. This recipe is easy and definitely a favorite of mine and anyone else who tries it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2007

      This is an excellent for a cold winters night..just a warm and cozy meal that everyone loved..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      Yummy soup! I changed a few things. I diced up uncooked chicken breasts to eliminate the chicken removal and shredding step. Also, added a can of kidney beans and a can of Rotel tomatoes to add a little more bite. Never tried it with the chips but will certainly be making it again!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Excellent, easy to make even for a first timer and tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2006

      This was really good. I did not add the cumin, chili powder, or cayenne but used rotel for the diced tomatoes and it was plenty spicy still. Hubby and I loved it but next time I will have to cut all that and use regular diced tomatoes for them to like it. I have several individual servings in the freezer for lunches now.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2006

      Amazing! Plenty of flavors! I made this a few days ago, and it was gone within a couple days. Everyone loved it, and I would not change a thing about it. I did double the jalapeno peppers, cayenne pepper, and chili powder because it was not spicy enough for me. I love spicy food! My husband still talked about how wonderful this recipe was today. Thank you so much for sharing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2006

      Wow! What a great soup to throw together. I made this in my crockpot several weekends ago. Froze it into 2 small containers for lunches, and 1 big for dh & I to share. Only changes were to use chicken broth instead of the wine, and to omit the jalapeno. Yum! We absolutely loved it. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2006

      This soup recipe has become a staple for us! The delicious flavor and low fat ingredients keep us coming back for more. Plus it is very easy to make. I have incorporated many of the suggestions given by other members for additions to the recipe for added variety - black beans and brown rice are our favorite additions. This soup is also extra delicious if you add some freshly made salsa to it! We like it spicy so the jalepeno seeds are a "must"! For a "company" dinner a dollop of sour cream and some sliced green onions on the top, along with the tortilla chips, makes a lovely and delicious presentation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2006

      I'm making this right now again, for the fourth time in 6 months and I absolutely love it. I can't wait to eat! Thanks again, Val.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2006

      This recipe is absolutely the best!!!! It has a really deep depth of flavor. I like spice so I used 2 jalapenos AND a serrano. I have also added rice. With or without the rice is it a great recipe. Wish I could give it 10 stars!! And it freezes great also. Thanks for a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2005

      I used only a splash of olive oil- nonstick pan- to reduce fat. Added some diced fresh carrots and celery and upped the garlic to 6 large cloves and added some cayenne to it- have a cold! grrr I used some homemade broth I had frozen and fresh tomatoes rather than canned. this would be great with one chipotle- would add a hint of smoky flavor. I also added some chopped zuchinni at the end just until soft. Very traditional Mexican. Great recipe- very easy to add or take away to your tastes and still comes out yummy! Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2005

      This was outstanding. I have a weekly soup club and served this with a choice of tortilla chips or corn chips. Several asked for the recipe, once saying it was the best she had ever had. You guys are making my soup club a success.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2005

      WOW!! this really was so good! I agree with everyone...and it definately was perfect with the tortilla strips #100646 on the top of it! I will make this again and again! Very spicy- which I like, be careful if you dont handle spice well. I also added jalepenos that were pre-cut in the jar rather than one whole one as requested and it tasted perfect! Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2005

      Amazing is right! This soup was so delicious! I made as posted except that I used some leftover chicken that I had and I used a can of green chilies instead of the jalapeno and I added a can of black beans. YUM! I simmered for about an hour. I served with Seasoned Tortilla Strips Seasoned Tortilla Strips by Junebug. Thanks for posting a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2005

      Yummy! I did not have jalepenos, but it was excellent all the same with extra cayenne. Thank you for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2005

      Awesome soup, thanks for sharing this recipe! Only modification was to use frozen fiesta veggies instead of just corn (black beans, red pepper, corn, onion).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    20%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 828.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes