211 Reviews

DH, who considers himself a tortilla soup connoisseur, said "Baby, this is the best tortilla soup I have ever had, hands down." And then he helped himself to another huge bowl. :) I changed a few small things: 1 bag of frozen southwestern corn mix instead of plain corn; 1 can of green chilis instead of jalapeno; 1 can of tomato paste instead of tomato sauce; omitted the white wine; added a can of drained/rinsed black beans, 4 stalks of celery (chopped), 2 small zuchinnis (sliced thick) and a teaspoon of smoked paprika. Served with sour cream, chips and sliced avocado, then emailed the recipe to everyone I know. Everyone who has tried it, raves about it. Freezes very well. Freeze in portion-sized freezer safe bowls, then take to work and pop in the microwave for a fast, tasty lunch. This is a 10 star recipe. Healthy and delicious.

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Faux Chef Lael August 18, 2010

Terrific recipe. Just perfect. When I make this, I use one rotisserie chicken, minus skin and bones, of course. It is the perfect quantity of chicken and makes this recipe super fast.

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jlsheetz September 26, 2010

See edit at bottom:
Wow!!! THIS IS FABULOUS!! Didn't have to adjust very much at all. Used Rotel instead of canned tomatoes, omitted tomato sauce, used my homemade stock (Rescued Turkey Stock Lennie's Rescued Turkey stock) which didn't require me to use canned broth since my stock is concentrated and I add water to that. I was a bit worried as it simmered and I tasted it that it would be too spicy even for us, so I added a dollop of sour cream to our bowls and we both lapped it up. Served with a side of guacamole, sour cream and tortilla chips on the side and crushed in the soup... and salad. What a great cold night meal. We both LOVED this!
ETA: This freezes extremely well! 8/23/2011 - I don't know why I forgot to put stars on so many reviews. Updating to add the very deserved 5 stars to this FABULOUS recipe. I have to say, this is my FAVOURITE recipe here.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cathy17 August 23, 2011

I Loved this easy and delcious recipe! We were in a hurry so I made it vegetarian style without the chicken and it was still wonderful. I did add extra bell pepper and used 3 large jalapenos (and next time I will use even more bell pepper it was so awesome). I served it with a side of different toppings so everyone was able to top it off how they liked such as sliced avacodos, lime wedges, sour cream, shredded cheese, tortilla chips, and fresh jalapeno slices. I also heated up some four tortillas in the iron skillet for dipping, All you need are a couple of Tecate's or some Pinot Noir and you have yourself an awesome dinner.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
viviowos December 15, 2010

Fantastic dish! Super easy & super easy. I served it up with some shredded cheese sprinkled on top along with crushed tortilla chips. Will definitely be making this one again & again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
astrin August 20, 2011

My husband and I have been searching for the perfect tortilla soup and this is it!! It's even better than the soup we get at 'El Patio' in Presidio, Texas. Presidio is on the Mexican/ U.S. Border and El Patio is known for it's excellent tortilla soup. 10 stars!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelodyC100 January 12, 2011

DELISH ..... The guests at our Mexican fiesta asked for the recipe! Its hard to get jalapenos in Canada at this time of year, so I used a tin of green chilies. I increased the amount of corn & like others, I added a tin of black beans. Thanx Valerie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady January 23, 2006

Fantastic soup. I followed the recipe to a tee. Intense flavor, perfect spice combination. I served it with sour cream, shredded cheddar and fried corn tortilla strips on the side, but it really didn't need any of those. Perfect just the way it is.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rutholive January 19, 2006

FANTASTIC recipe!! My 19 month old has a dairy allergy and it's hard to find great soups for him--he LOVED this one! I added a can (15oz) of black beans (rinsed and drained), a cup of brown rice, 3 stalks of celery(chopped) and a little ground chipotle (to taste). Plenty of leftovers to freeze, too! Thanks for the great recipe--there aren't enough stars here to give it justice!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Linds September 15, 2011

Very tasty recipe! The only things I differently were to use canned corn (what we had available), add 1/2 cup cilantro ( we love it) and offered some jack cheese as a topper. This is a definite keeper. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Deb from Ca March 07, 2011
Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!