Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Average Rating:

    205 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 205

    Sort by:

    • on August 18, 2010

      DH, who considers himself a tortilla soup connoisseur, said "Baby, this is the best tortilla soup I have ever had, hands down." And then he helped himself to another huge bowl. :) I changed a few small things: 1 bag of frozen southwestern corn mix instead of plain corn; 1 can of green chilis instead of jalapeno; 1 can of tomato paste instead of tomato sauce; omitted the white wine; added a can of drained/rinsed black beans, 4 stalks of celery (chopped), 2 small zuchinnis (sliced thick) and a teaspoon of smoked paprika. Served with sour cream, chips and sliced avocado, then emailed the recipe to everyone I know. Everyone who has tried it, raves about it. Freezes very well. Freeze in portion-sized freezer safe bowls, then take to work and pop in the microwave for a fast, tasty lunch. This is a 10 star recipe. Healthy and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Terrific recipe. Just perfect. When I make this, I use one rotisserie chicken, minus skin and bones, of course. It is the perfect quantity of chicken and makes this recipe super fast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      See edit at bottom:
      Wow!!! THIS IS FABULOUS!! Didn't have to adjust very much at all. Used Rotel instead of canned tomatoes, omitted tomato sauce, used my homemade stock (Rescued Turkey Stock Lennie's Rescued Turkey stock) which didn't require me to use canned broth since my stock is concentrated and I add water to that. I was a bit worried as it simmered and I tasted it that it would be too spicy even for us, so I added a dollop of sour cream to our bowls and we both lapped it up. Served with a side of guacamole, sour cream and tortilla chips on the side and crushed in the soup... and salad. What a great cold night meal. We both LOVED this!
      ETA: This freezes extremely well! 8/23/2011 - I don't know why I forgot to put stars on so many reviews. Updating to add the very deserved 5 stars to this FABULOUS recipe. I have to say, this is my FAVOURITE recipe here.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2010

      I Loved this easy and delcious recipe! We were in a hurry so I made it vegetarian style without the chicken and it was still wonderful. I did add extra bell pepper and used 3 large jalapenos (and next time I will use even more bell pepper it was so awesome). I served it with a side of different toppings so everyone was able to top it off how they liked such as sliced avacodos, lime wedges, sour cream, shredded cheese, tortilla chips, and fresh jalapeno slices. I also heated up some four tortillas in the iron skillet for dipping, All you need are a couple of Tecate's or some Pinot Noir and you have yourself an awesome dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      Fantastic dish! Super easy & super easy. I served it up with some shredded cheese sprinkled on top along with crushed tortilla chips. Will definitely be making this one again & again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      FANTASTIC recipe!! My 19 month old has a dairy allergy and it's hard to find great soups for him--he LOVED this one! I added a can (15oz) of black beans (rinsed and drained), a cup of brown rice, 3 stalks of celery(chopped) and a little ground chipotle (to taste). Plenty of leftovers to freeze, too! Thanks for the great recipe--there aren't enough stars here to give it justice!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2011

      Very tasty recipe! The only things I differently were to use canned corn (what we had available), add 1/2 cup cilantro ( we love it) and offered some jack cheese as a topper. This is a definite keeper. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      This was GREAT. Warning- it makes a lot (we're only 2 people)...so either cut recipe in half or be prepared to freeze. I'm happy there was a lot extra- can't wait to eat it again. Left out jalepeno because we have a toddler and it was still so good. Easy to make- hardest part was shredding chicken. YUMMY will make again and again. Great for company in the winter!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2011

      My husband and I have been searching for the perfect tortilla soup and this is it!! It's even better than the soup we get at 'El Patio' in Presidio, Texas. Presidio is on the Mexican/ U.S. Border and El Patio is known for it's excellent tortilla soup. 10 stars!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2010

      Fantastic! Delicious! It is Amazing! We've never had it before, but we love soup and came across this recipe, decided to try it and glad we did! Added the black beans like others mentioned (good for the body) and used two jalapeno's - seeds and all - we like hot, spicy food. Two containers for my freezer but I'm not sure they won't be gone by the end of next week! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      Very good! This was packed with flavor. I did add about twice the corn and two packets of Sazon seasoning. It really pumped up the spice. I can't believe how healthy this is too! Hoping it freezes well because I have a lot leftover. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2006

      Very tasty and I love that it's healthy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2006

      DELISH ..... The guests at our Mexican fiesta asked for the recipe! Its hard to get jalapenos in Canada at this time of year, so I used a tin of green chilies. I increased the amount of corn & like others, I added a tin of black beans. Thanx Valerie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2006

      Fantastic soup. I followed the recipe to a tee. Intense flavor, perfect spice combination. I served it with sour cream, shredded cheddar and fried corn tortilla strips on the side, but it really didn't need any of those. Perfect just the way it is.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2006

      Wow! This was very good! I was surprised at the depth of flavor. Will definitely do again. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2014

      Just cooked it now, was so so tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2014

      I made this almost exactly as written except I used homemade shrimp stock that I had on hand and it was really delicious. Even my husband kept saying how good it was. Thank you for sharing it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      This is sooooo good! The only think I added were black beans!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Just made this soup for the first time. Made just as directed and it was wonderful. Next time I may add some black beans. A real keeper!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2014

      I am giving this 4 stars because I had to pump it up. I ended up doubling the spices and adding the leftover cilantro from the fridge. Yum. Definitely will make it again. I garnished it with zesty Doritos and grated old cheddar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Chicken Tortilla Soup!

    Serving Size: 1 (409 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 163.3
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    20%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 30.2 mg
    10%
    Sodium 828.5 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 5.3 g
    21%
    Protein 16.1 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites