275 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I was making dinner for a friend's family and mine on the same night so we decided to try this marinade recipe since I was making boneless chicken breasts and was nervous about them being dry. My husband and I both agree that we have NEVER had chicken that was more flavorful and tender..the next day my friend and her husband said the chicken was AMAZING..and were thrilled when I gave them this recipe! Thanks for posting! By the way, I forgot to add the lime...I can't imagine it being any better, but I will try it next time and believe me THERE WILL BE A NEXT TIME!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Dalton January 25, 2004

This was wonderful. I cut up a fryer and vacuum packed it in this and left it overnight. I didn't grill the chicken I just put it in a baking dish and baked it after pouring the remaining marinade on it. Delicious flavor and it was even better cold. I cubed the leftover chicken and I don't think there will be enough left to make anything with if I keep snacking on it right out of the fridge.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Notherjack November 20, 2003

*W*O*W* What a GREAT marinade! Very tasty and easy. The entire family raved about this one! I can't wait to make it again this weekend! Perfect balance of sweetness and spices. It is so good. You have to try this!!Thank you GinnyP for this recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaydensMommy22 September 15, 2003

`Sorry Yooper, This recipe really didn't produce the results I was looking for. I think I may be looking for a recipe that is unobtainable for boneless, skinless breasts -one that will produce a crisy, brown, but still moist breast of chicken. Made your full recipe of sauce so have plenty left over which I have stored in a jar. I may try it on pork chops or perhaps some cut of bone in chicken in the near future(before I think the sauce is getting a little too old to use and have to throw it out. However, Many thanks for taking the time to post your recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
joan in CNY September 06, 2003

Wow, was this really tasty!!! I marinated for only 2 hours as I too heard the thing about marinating chicken in lime should be limited to a short period of time. Maybe I will marinate next time without the lime overnight and add the lime juice about an hour before BBQ'ng. Even the picky 10 year old devoured his piece of chicken!! Thanks for posting Ginny! :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chippie1 August 19, 2003

This was fabulous! You could easily use more chicken as this makes plenty of marinade. I felt a little guilty discarding the amount I did. I only used half the amount of olive oil to cut down on the fat. I also marinated in the morning and grilled it for dinner. My mustard-hating DD said it was the best grilled chicken she'd had in ages and she didn't even use any bottled BBQ sauce for dipping; the flavor stands on its own. The mix of ingredients is truly magic. I will be making this often.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msboogie August 13, 2003

Ok, I did *major* improvisation on this recipe, and it still turned out, so it definitely deserves all its stars! I used White wine vinegar instead, normal mustard instead of seeded. I didn't have lime, so I increased the lemon, then placed some lemon slices on top of the chicken while it marinated. No fresh garlic, but powder seemed to do it. Like I said, I'm amazed that it turned out! The only thing I found was that it needs to be grilled at a relatively low heat because the sugar in the marinade burns quickly. Other than that, it was great and the chicken turned out moist, juicy and flavourful. Definitely a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Len23 August 01, 2003

An excellent marinade. My family loved it.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mck.fam July 30, 2003

This was the best grilled chicken me or my family has ever had. Even my daughter, who has to drown all her grilled meats in A1 Steak Sauce, tried it without the A1 and loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marla Jones July 26, 2003

Yes, this marinade was amazing! This is hands down the best marinade for chicken that I've ever tasted. The chicken had the perfect balance of spiciness, tanginess, and sweetness. I used red wine vinegar instead of cider vinegar because it was what I had on hand. I think that this marinade will also taste great on fish or beef.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beckas June 15, 2003
Amazing Chicken Marinade