277 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Really very good, and easy to make with things you probably have on hand already (except the lime, in my case). I only marinated the chicken for 40 minutes, because I'd heard that any marinade with lime should be used for 1 hour or less for the sake of texture. The chicken was flavorful, juicy, and tender! Next time I may up the marinating time to 1 hour, but I'll probably max out at that level just because I can. I served it to my husband and 2 year old with oven roasted red potatoes, white corn, and crusty bread. Even the 2 year old liked it! Not overly citrusy or vinegary - just savory and just the right amount of sweet. Delicious! Thanks for posting!

21 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yaycarter July 17, 2002

Mark, I have to admit to ignorance, but I am not sure what coarse grain mustard is so I used regular ole French's mustard. Other than that, followed your ingredient list exactly and blended it all together in my blender because I was too lazy to mince the garlic. This made plenty of marinade for 10 thighs which we grilled outdoors after about 6 hrs. marinating time. You are right! This is a wonderful marinade for chicken. I left the skin on the thighs for grilling because I believe it helps keep the meat moist. The combination of this marinade and grilling gives the chicken a finger-lickin' good flavor! We will be using this recipe often.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie in Texas April 06, 2003

Oh yeah, this is very good. We used it on chicken thighs and it was a big hit. I didn't have cider vinegar so I substituted rice vinegar. Everyone was happy and all the chicken was gone at the end of the picnic. Thanks

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Guava Girl April 07, 2003

This is a great recipe, however, instead of discarding the marinade, try instead boiling the reserved marinade for 10 to 12 minutes. This serves to kill any bacteria from the raw chicken. Now you can baste the chicken with the thickened marinade for even more flavor, as well as a beautiful 'bark'. Unless I'm cooking indoors, I hardly ever discard marinades since trying this method.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. June 02, 2010

This is a wonderful, EASY recipe with a terrific light citrus flavor. I followed the recipe exactly and marinated my chicken breasts for about 12 hours before grilling. The results were perfect - very moist and flavorful. I served the chicken with a seasoned white rice. I will make this one again and again! Thanks, Ginny!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss gracie October 30, 2002

This was great. I had all the ingredients on hand, and was expecting 10 people for dinner. I mixed this up and reserved half a cup for chicken salad the next day. The remaining gave me enough to marinate 12 chicken breast halves. I let it marinade for 7-8 hours, then dumped it into casserole pans (including the marinade) and baked at 350 for 55 minutes or so. Chicken was juicy, flavorful and loved by all. The chicken salad with the leftover chicken and reserved marinade (+3 T mayo) was fantastic too! Different, but delicious!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ramartin42 June 01, 2010

I made this marinade in a gallon ziplock bag, tossed several chicken breasts in the bag, and threw them in the freezer during a OAMC blitz. Took this out tonight, and it was very, very good! DH and DD both enjoyed it, as well. Thanks for sharing, this will be part of my OAMC cookbook!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MissRed1970 February 09, 2010

Thia would have to be one of the best marinades! Followed the instructions to the letter! Allowed Chicken to marinate overnight and then cooked it on the BBQ....The chicken was moist and very tender. The whole family enjoyed this one! Even next door commented on the aroma while it was cooking! Thanks for posting this great recipe!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MaraJade October 18, 2002

Easy to prepare...great slightly sweet citrus taste.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SeanS August 19, 2002

Very very good "restaurant quality" flavor! We couldn't grill it for two days and after two days of marinating it was still excellent! So, in my opinion, don't worry if, at the last moment, you get dinner reservations and cannot grill the chicken! Just put it on "hold" for another day! Thanks for a great simple technique

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panino June 28, 2003
Amazing Chicken Marinade