Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Amazing Black Bean Brownies Recipe(Courtesy of Ania Catalano)
    Lost? Site Map

    Amazing Black Bean Brownies Recipe(Courtesy of Ania Catalano)

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2009

      Wonderful!!!- I made a half batch because I have to enforce portion control with baked sweets involving chocolate {{lol}}...made for the COMFORT CAFE event and picked because I liked the name Ania (inside joke)...I had almost enough agave so I subbed a few dates in with the beans in the processor to make up the sweetness factor (this is something I have done with sweet bean recipes in the past and I like what it does to the texture so I felt comfortable doing so)...I flavored the coffee/chocolate mix with the additions of cinnamon and chili to add even more depth to the already interesting layers of flavors and also introduced almond extract in addition to the vanilla :) ...have to admit that the look of my finished product was a bummer...totally my fault...I stunk up the egg marble effect thingy, and was too lazy and cheap to use the parchment so they stuck a bit and didn't cut up so well...BUT who cares what it looks like when it tastes so darn good...the flavors again are fabulous...very subtle sophisticated sweets...brownies for grown ups for sure :) great after dinner small bites:) _Thanks hippichiclv...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      It's amazing that you can't taste the black beans at all. I used single servings of instant coffee from Starbucks which were slightly less than 1 Tbsp each and worked well. I will toast the walnuts next time. Very moist and tasty brownies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      This is my favorite brownie recipe. I've tried it both with agave and honey, and they worked equally well. The coffee taste was too strong the first time I made it, and I now use two tablespoons instead of the quarter cup. Everyone raved about these last Christmas and I ended up copying out the recipe for several people...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2010

      The coffee flavor was way to strong. I ended up throwing the entire pan in the garbage. I didn't allow my kids to try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      Loved it! Have tried other Black Bean Brownie recipes but this one tastes the best. YUMMY.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2009

      I'm soooo intrigued! I'm making this sometime this week, and I'll report back. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      This was rather good if you like dark chocolate and coffee flavor. However, the nutirtional value isn't much different than that of traditional (box) brownies. So unless you're just into trying unique things (like I am) I would reccomend going w/ traditional brownies. Also, would reccomend this for adults w/ distinctive taste, not good for kids, not sweet enough.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      There is a problem here though. Honey under ingrrdients and Agave nectar under instructions! Have asked the Chef to let us know. :-) Would love to try these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2009

      I actually haven't made these yet, but it sounds so interesting I'm going to have to try them. Posting for future reference. I also have a friend who has gluten allergies, so this is definitely something I can share with her. Am giving 5 stars just for the concept!! After I make these, I will post my review.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      I found this recipe on a food blog awhile ago, and decided to give it a try. The brownies are amazingly good, and personally I found them to be good both warm and cold - no bean taste at all. I also used coffee substitute (the version of the recipe I saw only recommended instant coffee is a person is gluten sensitive), and the coffee flavor was very mild.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      this is amazing! You would never know this contains black beans. I did not have enough Agave nectar on hand so used half and then used "just like sugar" sugar substitute and they still turned out fabulous. I will make these again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Amazing Black Bean Brownies Recipe(Courtesy of Ania Catalano)

    Serving Size: 1 (22 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 45

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 83.7
     
    Calories from Fat 68
    81%
    Total Fat 7.5 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 27.3 mg
    9%
    Sodium 20.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.1 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    agave nectar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites