124 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! This is so moist and rich. I LOVED it! I took it to work for the last day of school and it was a BIG hit! I used a spring form pan and didn't care for that. Next time I'll use a bundt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WW Girl June 10, 2010

This was too simple to make to come out tasting this great. I subbed 1/3 less cream cheese, lowered the sugar to 2 1/2 cups (would even use 2 cups next time) used I Can't Believe it's Not Butter sticks, and Egg Beaters because my mother is watching her cholesterol. I needn't have worried about all of the subs because as stated above, the cake was phenominal. I baked using 2 large loaf pans; checking the cake after an hour and 10 minutes I saw that the edges browned nicely but the middle was still a bit doughy. I had begun with a 320 degree oven, lowered the temp to 300, put them in for another 15 minutes, then turned off the oven and left them in for another 10 and they came out perfect, inside and out. Granted, everyone's stoves are different, but I would begin checking slightly before the recommended bake time and make adjustments accordingly.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aunt Maria May 31, 2010

I know that after 85 rave reviews an 86th is no longer necessary but I can't help myself! My cake has just been turned out after spending exactly 11/2 hours in the oven. The batter was so thick that some air bubbles got stuck so it's a bit pockmarked, but these will be easily hidden by frosting (but I'm not sure this cake actually needs any). I couldn't help cutting off the teeniest but of crust from what is now the bottom of the cake and it's delish. The taste of the crumb is also very good, I can definitely see how the cream cheese contributes . I have to admit that I added alot of flavouring (2T. plus 2t. and 2t. of almond) but as far and I can tell it's good. Also I was very very nervous about there not being any leavening agent in this cake, but it rose up pretty good and it's not overly dense. I decided to butter and flour my bundt pan even though it has a nonstick coating and the cake slid right out. My BF (I'm not sure what the other Zaar abbreviations stand for) says that the cake is very sweet, but that's why it's good. I will post an update once I've actually had a mouthful of the cake, but you're already getting cheers from me...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefEmma May 28, 2010

this is a definite keeper!! My husband had an almost 40 bday. He dosent like sweet cakes so i made this one. He loved it! eats it for breakfast with coffee. Its really an anytime cake. Thanks so much. I will make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scartier78 May 24, 2010

Absolutely fantastic! Another first timer for making pound cake. Rave reviews from my family. I didn't change a thing and it turned out perfect. We served it sliced with thawed mixed berries and a big dollop of cool whip on top. Even my picky 12 year old son cleaned off his plate. Tried and true recipes books like those are my favorites too. If I could give it more then 5 stars, I would. This will definitely be a keeper in our house. Thank you so much for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Biffy 62 May 07, 2010

my first attempt at making a pound cake and it was wonderful and moist. only thing i added was the almond extract extra but i am sure it would have been great with out it as well. thanks so much for the recipe jeff i will be making again and again

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bouchon78 April 21, 2010

I bought a book called 101 Things To Do Before You are Old and Boring. "Learn to bake a cake" is on my list and this is the recipe I choose! It was great (even though my beaters broke and I had to hand cream everything) Since it was my first attempt eer at a bundt cake, I stuck to the recipe exactly. My eggs were jumbo and my cream cheese was 1/3 the fat I think! Since I had to buy a pan, I will definitely make this again. Thanks for the reminder to grease and flour the pan! And thanks Amanda for the great find!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Left Handed Chef April 14, 2010

Very easy cake to make. I took it to work and co-workers said it was the best pound cake they had ever eaten!! I made one change: I added 1/8 teaspoon of almond extract. It really rounded out the flavor. I'm throwing away all of my other pound cake recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BtNugget March 02, 2010

This recipe is terrific! My husband got me a KitchenAid Mixer for Christmas and this pound cake recipe comes together so quickly with it! This is the second time I have made this. Tonight, I had only about 1 1/2 cups of white sugar, so I subbed in brown sugar for the rest....fantastic flavor! And since I was lazy, I used two glass loaf pans instead of a tube/budnt pan. I baked it for 60 mintues, checked it, and then for another 20ish minutes. It's really, really important to have your butter, cream cheese, and eggs room temperature...it created a not-quite-so-dense batter that was easier to work with. Thanks for the sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flirtyfunchick February 23, 2010

This is an amazing cake, totally worth the time and effort!! I needed to cook it longer, probably about an hour and 45 mins, but it was perfect. Served it with a homemade lemon curd, and it was a great finish to a meal. Thanks for sharing!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelroy207 January 25, 2010
Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake