125 Reviews

I was looking for an easy pound cake recipe after finding a more labor/ingredient intensive recipe in "The Joy of Cooking". After reading the reviews, I had to try it! I halved the ingredients simply b/c I only have one loaf pan. It turned out PERFECTLY! This is an incredible poundcake recipe. The texture is perfect - dense, but not heavy. Almost velvety. Some reviewers found it too sweet, but I didn't think that it was too sweet at all. I actually doubled up on the vanilla, but I may try lemon next time instead, just as a variation. I didn't time it, but I would say cooking time is definitely between 1.5-2 hours. Make sure to butter and flour the pan, and when it's finished, allow it to cool for 5-10 minutes in the pan, or until it pulls away from the sides. Then the cake will fall right out of the pan without sticking. I will probably use this recipe for the rest of my life - so easy and sooooooooo good. Thanks, Jeff!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlb727 September 07, 2007

Yum!!!!! This pound cake was so easy and moist. I love it! My husband told me that his grandmother (who is the worlds best baker) would be proud. The only thing I did differently was add 1/2 tsp. extra vanilla and stir the flour in by hand as to not add too much air. I think it makes a big difference when making pound cake. Make this...you won't be disappoited! :)

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fourkids June 27, 2009

Absolutely amazing cake! I made a half batch and baked it in a loaf pan. At the 60 min mark, I tented a piece of foil over the pan to prevent the crust from browning too much. Also added a pinch of salt and used the full tsp of vanilla for the half batch. I let the butter, cream cheese and eggs come to room temperature completely before starting. I froze most of the cake in slices, will update this review when I thaw it. Thanks, Jeff and Amanda!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dimpi July 30, 2010

This was delicious!! Taking the advice of a couple other reviewers, I used Crisco and flour and heavily coated my pan. I also left it to cool in the pan for about 10 minutes, and probably could have left it another five or so. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect! I would like to suggest that those that had issues used too much flour. You must fluff the flour and then lightly spoon it into your measuring cup and lightly level off. If you use the dipping method, you will end up with too much flour. Also, in my experience, you cannot over beat the fats. If your butter starts to separate, throw it out and start all over. Pound cakes are tricky and I think these are the two main causes of failure. This is extremely high fat. If you worry about fat calories and grams, this would not be the recipe for you! Please do not try to make it healthy. Jeff, thank you for the recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rose is Rose January 14, 2014

Love this cake! I added some almond extract as well. My family devoured it! Next time I'll try making it lemon by adding some lemon extract and lemon zest. This recipe is a definite keeper.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Fyvettew November 06, 2010

WOW .......absolutely deliscious. I wish I could give the cake more stars. This is definetly my all time favorite pound cake recipe. I have looked for years for that "special" pound cake recipe and have FINIALLY found it. I didn't change a thing and was a bit cautious about making the cake without any leveling ingred. but in the end, the cake turned out so beautiful and actually had risen above { not over; thankfully } the pan itself. The only thing I might do different next time would be to add a pinch of salt or maybe even use 1 stick of salted butter {my preference}. Other than that I wouldn't or couldn't change a thing to make the cake any more tasteful. I served the cake with fresh picked Blackberries, Creme'Anglaise and Whipped Creme.....absolutely DIVINE.
Thanks so much for posting. Saderbee

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaderBee July 27, 2010

My daughter made this cake for our family vacation. She used a 9x13 pan and it turned out perfect. Great dense texture and rich buttery flavor. The ideal poundcake. I'm sure we'll make again. It's not healthy, but pretty much worth every darn calorie. Thanks for posting.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas August 05, 2012

I have been in this country for twenty years, and been looking for the right pound cake recipe for a long time, growing up in Africa baking was a part of my everyday life as a girl, my grandmother, my grandaunts, aunts all had one recipe for pound cake it was the family, and for the life of me when ever I tried to bake a pound cake using that recipe I can never remember. but this cake WOW! WOW ! just hit home, it is just right it reminds me of my grandma recipes it is so moist, the only thing I added was a level teaspoon of baking powder and some orange zest, mine, oh mine I just turn to a teenager again and travel home without leaving the shores of America, this is so good the way it bakes just right, I actually ate a half pan of this cake right when it came out of the oven something I do not usually do. this was so easy to make, thanks Jeff and Amanda.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
celestrialeve March 19, 2012

I really wanted to like it, but it still tasted raw after baking 2.5 hours and was far too moist for a cully cooked cake. It looked gorgeous though. Perhaps I went wrong somewhere with my flour. I'm going to try again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
plannermom May 11, 2007

This turned out pretty amazing. It was my first time making a pound cake. I did let the butter, cream cheese, and eggs come to room temperature before I started making it. I also added another teaspoon of vanilla and a teaspoon rum extract. I cooked it in two 9 in cake pans and the cook time was around 1 hour and 20 min. The end result was delicious. I couldn't stop eating the top I cut off to make the cake flat. Would definitely make this cake again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
megapayne2 March 03, 2014
Amanda's Cheese Pound Cake