19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow super recipe!!!!!!!! I made the sauce exactly as the recipe said. I browned the meat balls for a few minutes and let them boil in the sauce for about 15 minutes. I served them with brown and wild rice.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saramokey June 03, 2009

Yuuuuummmmy !!! more than 5 stars yummy :) This is comfort food, easy, simple, basic, honest and quick. This mega simple recipe *may* just be a recipe to make me into as big a pasta fan as my DH. He always makes pasta sans sauce and I find it sooo boring... now THIS recipe comes to my rescue... easy to make when you are in a hurry, I cooked it a bit longer so that the sauce reduced and became nice and thick, added it to a steaming heap of spagetti ... took it to the table and practically inhaled it :) If you have mince meat (ground meat) in your fridge and you are looking for a new twist instead of the "same old, same old..." especially on budget, then this recipe is it. I used cheap canned tomatoes, and substituted beadcrumbs in the meatballs since we don't have matzo meal here and it turned out great. This is definiately a store cupboard meal that you could make for unexpected guests,or teenage kids who seemingly have hollow legs and if you are careful with the chili, it's fussy eater friendly and most of all, amost laughingly easy to make. That definiately constitutes a very well deserved 5 stars in my book :) Many Thanks for posting the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch June 27, 2005

I love the sauce, but I think the meatballs themselves need a little more seasoning. Will try again with more umph!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott February 17, 2014

I hate to be so blunt but this recipe is horrible. Right now I am not happy because nobody in my family could finish eating this and now we have to find something else to eat. What a waste of food and time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stargirl11 November 17, 2013

These were really yummy and easy, but my sauce didn't turn out nearly as nice looking as the one in the picture. I used sweet chilli sauce and a little extra water, no sugar.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Satyne April 30, 2013

This recipe is simple and fairly quick. I usually make it with turkey. Both of my boys LOVE it as does my husband. It's not fancy, but it is a crowd pleaser for my family, which includes one picky eater. My 5 year-old says, "It's the best!" I serve it with egg noodles.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khlobel April 23, 2012

This came together nice and quick. I really liked what the lemon juice brought to the flavor of the sauce. It made a bit more sauce than I wanted, so I will freeze the rest and use it another time. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lori Mama March 08, 2012

What a delicious Pesach meal! It was very quick and easy.

I did make a few minor changes. I used grated onions and crushed garlic instead of the powders and I made my own chili sauce using Chili Sauce Substitute Chili Sauce Substitute, doubling it because we like our food saucy. Served it over mashed potatoes. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kosher Mom April 22, 2011

I only used the sauce part of the recipe, as I've been trying to find a sweet n' sour sauce that would be liked by all seven of us. This one was awsome on meatballs over brown rice... everyone LOVED it!! The only complaint was there not being enough! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chey_M January 27, 2009
Always Perfect Sweet and Sour Meatballs