26 Reviews

This was my first attempt at cooking a ham. I love ham, but my partner does not care for it. It is an exercise in futility to bake a ham for one. But this past Easter, I volunteered to bring a "real ham" instead of the honey baked thingy that we usually have and noone really enjoys. It was a smashing success. Not one bit of leftovers. I remembered seeing this episode on Food Network. The name of the episode was called "Ham I Am". He is quite clever with the puns. He did the first half of show on Country ham, not my fave...too dry and too salty. Second half was "city ham" which is basically baked ham as most of us know it. I was so happy to find this recipe. But for anyone who has not made this, you can see the actual video on youtube from the following link http://youtube.com/watch?v=aLVBmMxl0X8 The city ham recipe starts at the 3:00 marker. If a picture is worth a thousand words, a cooking video is worth a million. Make it and wait for the copious praises you will receive.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rocco Gibralter June 28, 2008

Am making it right now, and I can tell it's going to be superb! One problem: by the time I got all the toppings on, my 130 degree ham had coasted to 149 on the counter! I checked several spots, so it wasn't a hot spot. It's back in the oven now, but I'll check it often and take it out as soon as the snaps melt enough; the inside is already hot enough for food safety.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhiannon Deux December 30, 2007

I wish I could give this more stars...it was unbelievably good. I had a 12 pound full ham so I improvised. I used all the ingredients(except used Jack Daniels instead of bourbon since I had some) and just adjusted ingredients to cover the ham. It is the best ham anyone here had ever had and it was very easy. It was wonderful to actually be able to eat the coating instead of it being wasted on the fat. I will definately make many times.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queenofcamping December 25, 2006

I've made this ham ever since it first appeared on food network. I've been ordered to make it every Christmas and Easter. It is as amazing as the reviews say. A sugestion because I've ruined a few roasting pans..line your roaster with plenty of foil before placing your ham in to assemble and cook. The "candy" one of reviewers mentions sticks to your pan and is litterally impossible to remove. This ham is easy to make and the taste will blow you away. I'll never make any other kind of ham again.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carrie27 April 06, 2005

This is my favorite Ham recipe for the holidays. My whole family loves the sweet and tangy flavor of the ginger snaps, mustard and bourbon topping.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeachyMom78 December 27, 2010

It left such an impression, my guest told me again a few months later that it was a good ham.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heavenslice June 22, 2010

This is such a moist and juicy ham. I made this yesterday for Easter and we loved it. The glaze on the outside was so flavorful. Thank you so much for this yummy recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mommyoffour April 05, 2010

I cut a 1lb 4oz. roast from a cooked ham butt. Following the internal temps as posted in the recipe. Dd who is 21yrs. does not like ham. Dd loved it & gives it more then 5 stars. The meat was moist not over cooked which has happened with a few other recipes. Thank you Sharlene~W for posting this recipe as I will no longer have a problem when serving ham at home.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada October 29, 2009

This is the best ham I have ever made in the last 40 years. It was so flavorful and tender. I put some of the fat/meat bits back in the oven, on a rack and baked until fat was gone. I was left with the most wonderful burnt end bits. Some catalogues charge a fortune for these treats.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Auntichele January 03, 2009

Excellent. The only way to do a ham for Christmas.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jackie7757 January 03, 2008
Alton Brown's City Ham