Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alton Brown's Chipotle Smashed Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alton Brown's Chipotle Smashed Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on December 04, 2009

      Here's a solution to the chipotle in adobo problem--when you use this product, you invariably never use the entire can. Take a plastic ice cube tray and place one pepper in each well and then distribute the adobo sauce among the set of peppers. Freeze and store in a poly bag. Now, when you need chipotle in adobo, take one cube and dice it. (Also works for tomato paste!). Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2013

      We love chipotles in sweet potatoes, this recipe is pretty close to the way we doe it, but we like to add some freshly squeezed lime juice to balance the natural sweetness of the sweet potatoes. Leftover chipotles in adobo last a year in the fridge, so we always have some on hand, and you can add more if you like them spicier, but if you've never used them before, be cautious because you can't take them out once they are in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2011

      The blend of sweet and spicy was fantastic. I put a whole tsp of adobo sauce and thought it still could use a little more. I will probably up this next time. This is a good alternative to the traditional mashed taters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      I love this recipe! I have never liked sweet potatoes because people sweeten them up so much. I love them like this. We just made these for the second Thanksgiving and everyone is pleasantly surprised by them. Thanks Alton!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      I knew this would be good because it's Alton Brown and this was not only good,,,, it was SENSATIONAL!!!! I did the full tsp of adobo sauce that Alton did and the heat was just right!!! Actually not hot at all, just extremely flavorful!!!! They make you want to keep eating and eating the sweet potato which is good for you!! It is wonderful to have a flavorful sweet potato dish that doesn't have the same old brown sugar, marshmallows, maple syrup, etc. I always like those too but this recipe will really wow people, it's different and great! Wonderful side dish and totally easy to make too!!!! Thanks so much for posting, will make again and again!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2008

    • on November 19, 2007

      love this recipe!! I didn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      Sweet potatoes are amazingly good for you as well - especially steamed. I substitute the butter with Smart Balance spread. Infinitely better for you and no one will know the difference. Alton rocks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      A terrific recipe. I love the sweet, earthy taste of the potato and the luxurious taste of butter. Add a smokey, spicy chipotle chile and it takes you to another taste sensation. Kicked up, but not overpowering. You will definately like this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2006

      I am the only sweet potato lover in my house so I made half the recipe and it was wonderful! The sweetness of the potato with the smoky spiciness of the chipotle were great together. This was a hit with me and I'll be making it often. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alton Brown's Chipotle Smashed Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (73 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 106.8
     
    Calories from Fat 52
    48%
    Total Fat 5.7 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 3.6 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 617.9 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.0 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 1.0 g
    2%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chipotle chiles in adobo

    adobo sauce

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes