35 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I've made this recipe SEVERAL times, and it gets better and better each time. Make sure you not only melt the butter but also let it brown a bit for a more enhanced flavor. Plus it is imperative you let it chill for at least 2 hours in the fridge before making cookies.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
80sQueen July 04, 2010

I love this recipe. I use it as a basis for my favorite oatmeal cookies. I reduce the bread flour to 1 1/2 cups, and stir in 1 cup of chopped almonds, 2 cups of oats and only 1/3 cup of chocolate chips by hand {after the flour is mixed in). All other ingredients and the mixing steps are the same as the basic recipe, except I use the microwave to melt the butter. The dough needs several hours of chilling before baking. The dough should be stiff when chilled and hard to scoop. Bread flour is essential for me. Baking takes 11 minutes in my convection oven. I get 24 cookies from this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cush March 07, 2007

This is a great cookie. I followed the recipe exactly, and when I baked them at 375 for 14 min., they were a little too crisp. Reducing the bake time to about 11 minutes made a wonderful crispy-on-the outside, chewy-on-the inside cookie. Delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SkyCandyGirl January 07, 2006

Ok I remade these cookies using bread flour. The bread four is a MUST. When I made them before using all purpose, the taste was good but when the cookie cooled they got a little cripsy (so it's perfect if you like a crispy cookie) However I like a chewy cookie and chewy is what you get using bread flour. I cooked them 6min rotated the pan then cooked another 6min. for 12min total which seemed perfect in my oven. Finally a chewy cookie after they cool. Thanx.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camzmom October 25, 2005

These are the perfect cookie! They're so soft and chewy; but not cakey. Just couldn't be better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sherri35 July 31, 2014

Perfect cookie! I followed the recipe exactly, then speed chilled the dough for 30 mins in the freezer. The texture and taste are exactly what I want from a chocolate chip cookie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryland20 January 07, 2013

These turned out great! Although next time I will certainly cut down the amount of chocolate chips to just ONE cup. Two cups was simply too much for me. As far as one other reviews go, I don't understand how these cookies ended up "cakey." Odd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cindyrocks88 December 05, 2011

I made recipe to the letter but they turned out 'cakey',not to my taste at all.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
greyhound girl September 09, 2010

Made this recipe twice just to see if maybe I messed up the first time and they turned out the same the second time. These were just "okay", but far from the best chewy chocolate chip cookies I have ever had. The flavor was a kind of bland and these cookies definitely could use more salt in the recipe and they were a bit too greasy for my liking. I'll just stay with the recipe I already have which I think is far better than this one.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rollo21 January 23, 2010

A tasty cookie. I had to add almost another whole cup of flour because I used regular flour. They turned out good, though! I also added 2 cups of Kraft caramel bits. Extra chewiness!! 375 was too high for my oven. The first pan over-cooked. I backed it off to 365 and the rest were fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott November 17, 2009
Alton Brown's Chewy Cookies