Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on January 05, 2011

      Perfect! My rice cooker does a great job on white rice, but brown is always a little too sticky. This made perfect, fluffy brown rice. Doubled the recipe, used my teakettle to boil the water then combined it with the butter before adding rice. Baked in a covered corningware dish.

      Also, rice cooked this way is handy for OAMC. Package the rice in microwaveable bags while it's still warm, then freeze. I get great results from the Glad steamable bags - nuke 2c of rice for about 4-5 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      This is the absolute BEST way to make brown rice! I cut the salt in half and it tastes great. One thing I like about this method is that the rice can be made ahead, refrigerated, and reheated in the micro with just a teaspoon of water to rehydrate it. Other methods leave the rice hard as a brick if refrigerated so this one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      The texture of this brown rice comes out perfectly, if you follow the recipe exactly. I've tried to cut the recipe in half, since I cook for two. It doesn't come out right unless you use the full amounts. So I make this recipe when I know I am going to make something with brown rice the next day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2009

      Easy and perfect. I've also added mushrooms, minced garlic, dried onion and 1/2 cup of canned pumkin and it was amazing. This recipe is fool proof and can be altered easily. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Very easy and good. I made a triple batch for a large family gathering and was a little nervous it might not work - but - it was perfect rice, right out of the oven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2011

      so good. I added Better than boullion- chicken , Cumin, Chili Powder tarragon vinegar and a pinch of cilantro I ate with Crock-Pot Chicken With Black Beans & Cream Cheese. I don't know how this should be rated as I ate together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      This is the only way I can cook rice properly! It is so amazing that there is no more undercooked, burnt, or watery rice in my house! Since it takes so long, I make a batch or two ahead of time to have rice ready for whenever. Alton Brown truly is amazing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

      Easy & great. Trying to convince the family that brown rice is better than white - hence the great and not excellent!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      Wow, it works! I suck at making rice, even in a rice cooker. I used short grain brown rice, boiled Earth Balance and water in the micro, and otherwise did as directed. I cannot believe it was this easy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      This worked really well with short-grain brown rice. It wasn't at all sticky, as it often is when I make it on the stove top. I replaced the butter with oil and seasoned it with lime juice to serve with black beans.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2010

      Wow. Can't thank you enough for this recipe. My husband loves Chinese food & therefore loves rice--but white rice is just so not healthy. This was very easy. I only used about half the butter & 1/4 tsp salt. THANK U to the folks who made sure to let us know that halving the recipe doesn't work for some reason!! I used a nonstick pan & sprayed the bottom w/ nonstick spray--something I'm glad I did or else the rice would have probably stuck. I would suggest covering the dish pretty tight w/ foil; I had a feeling that was important. I didn't try the rice but my husband said it came out great! thank you again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2010

      I tried it and this is the only way I make brown rice now. I omit the butter and its delish!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      The ONLY way to make brown rice. We add different seasoning based on what we are having for dinner. Our favorite is adding cilantro and lime juice for mexican night.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2010

      Perfect every time! I have had a lot of fun with this basic recipe. Sometimes I use curry powder and Indian herbs and spices and sometimes I make a pilaf using chopped onions, poultry seasonings. Thanks for this reliable recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      I have been making rice this way since I first found this recipe on Zaar, but never got around to writing a review. After reading the reviews here, I wanted to add one of the reasons I love to do my brown rice this way. Not only is it a great tasting rice, but you can make up a large amount of it, divide into plastic freezer bags and freeze for later use. The rice reheats wonderfully, and it is a great time saver. Thanks Seedbeads for sharing this Alton Brown find.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      This review is long overdue... simply put, this is the only way I make rice in my house. I found that using a covered dish works as well, if not better than aluminum foil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2014

      Easy & comes out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      I use a 1/2 cup of wild rice

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2013

      This is the easiest way to make brown rice and it always comes out perfect! I love that I can make a bigger batch this way as well as cook something at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2013

      Fluffy texture and perfectly cooked! The basic recipe is too bland, but this is going to be great with some extra 'fixins'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 7

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alton Brown's Baked Brown Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (148 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 188.0
     
    Calories from Fat 29
    15%
    Total Fat 3.2 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.4 g
    7%
    Cholesterol 5.0 mg
    1%
    Sodium 394.0 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.7 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites