Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alton Brown's Baby Back Ribs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alton Brown's Baby Back Ribs

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on July 05, 2014

      First let me say, I am a Hugh Alton B fan. Now let me say anyone who says this recipe was good, didn't actually try it. I followed exactly and the ribs were almost too salty to eat. Also the cooking time was an hour short. NOT GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2013

      You can never go wrong with AB. <br/><br/>For those who thought it was too salty...please note that the original recipe at food network states "This recipe makes several batches of dry rub...", which is something that was not included in the recipe on this site.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 21, 2013

      I reviewed this recipe once but it disappeared. My only issue was getting the glazing liquid to reduce and thicken. The first time I made the ribs I gave up on the glaze and used Sweet Baby Rays. The second time after heating and stirring for almost 2 hours, I dissolved 2 tsps. of corn starch in a little cold water than added in to the glaze. I thickened up to a very nice consistency in about 30 seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2013

      I am very conflicted about this recipe. On the one hand, the ribs turned out to be the most tender I've ever made, without being TOO tender.... just perfect really. On the other hand, the BBQ glaze was problematic from the very beginning. When I read the reviews here complaining about the glaze, I went to the food network website and looked up the same recipe. The reviewers there had the same issues with the sauce as well! Ultimately, I decided to use half the amount of dry rub. Once the ribs were done cooking, I drained the foil and got my liquid out and it was almost half oil. I had to skim it for a long time before the glaze even started to reduce, and by that time everyone was hungry and the ribs were getting cold so I glazed them with bottled BBQ sauce instead. I still kept an eye on the reducing sauce while we were eating though, and added a small can of tomato paste. Once the glaze was ready (after everyone finished eating), it was indeed a bit on the salty side- but not unbearably so, at least for me. I can't imagine how salty it would've been if I had used all the dry rub! We ate the leftover ribs the next day with the homemade BBQ sauce and even used it for dipping dinner rolls into. I have to say, if it wasn't so salty it would'be been the best BBQ sauce I've ever had. If you're making the glaze, do what I did and use half the amount of dry rub, skim the oil off the surface of the sauce and add an 8oz can of tomato paste. It will still be quite salty though, and will take very long to reduce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2011

      Yes- first time I made these years ago, my wife was like "what are you doing with that amount of salt?". HORRIBLE!
      Decrease the salt IMMENSELY, use more sugar in the rub, and the ribs with the glaze, will be absolutely wonderful. That is why I give it 5 stars. Why Alton doesn't change this is beyond me, but you have to or you will be throwing them out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2011

      Too salty! I even took other reviewer's advice and cut the salt from 3 TB to 1 in the rub... although I think it is the "glaze" that becomes far too salty. The ribs turned out super tender and great until I added that darn glaze. I will use this method of cooking the next time, but will use bottled BBQ sauce instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I agree with many here, these are way WAY too salty if you make them as directed. We did use Kosher salt, and it was still ridiculously salty. That said, the flavor was good and the ribs did fall off the bone. I will make this again, but next time omit most of the salt in the rub.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2010

      To other reviewers and people who try this recipe: the rub Will be too salty if you don't use kosher salt since regular salt and sea salt are nearly twice as dense. Also keep in mind that this recipe makes more than one batch of rub. I used about 1/3 of the rub tonight on our ribs.

      That said, the flavor of these ribs was just good, not very good or spectacular. I was a little disappointed as I thought being an Alton Brown recipe this would blow us out of the water. The glaze was nice and the dish as a whole was nice, but I'll go back to what we think is hands-down the best ribs recipe out there: Beverly Carson's Should Be Illegal BBQ Ribs (#8701).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2010

      My favorite AB recipe! The family loves the flavor and heat, although we have a mild version of the rub for the little ones and yankees in the crowd. This one is worth the extra effort that goes into the preperation. Smiling messy faces and a pile of bare ribs make it great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      The method used in the recipe is absolutely 5 stars, hands down. the rub however, isnt. i didnt really care for it at all, and as previously stated by many reviewers, it makes the "glaze" liquid very salty and inedible. luckily i had my favorite bbq sauce on hand, and i used that instead. I will make ribs using this method, but with a different rub and bbq sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Thanks to helpful reviews about the rub mixture being sufficient for several batches , I used the dry rub mixture to cover 4 slabs of ribs, and the end result was tasty and not too salty. I used a wide skillet to reduce the glazing liquid fairly quickly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Had high hopes for this recipe. Buto oddly, once we reduced the braising liquid it was inedibly salty. We put together a last-minute BBQ sauce for the final step (which we did on the grill).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2009

      So simple so good. I used spare ribs and went through 12 racks in I/2 hour. I was cooking everywhere but the manifold of my car. Fran

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      I've made this recipe with baby backs once. This recipe is the recipe that made my teetotaling great aunt (now deceased) go out and buy wine so that she could make her own! Hands down, this is my favorite AB recipe. This is my go-to BBQ rub, although I usually substitute the jalepeno seasoning for paprika. I have used the rub successfully on chicken, ribs, pork chops, steak. I like to let it "relax" on the meat for a few hours up to overnight before cooking the meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      I have used this recipe several times and it is delicious. Everyone I have made it for was astonished by how great it was. I love AB's recipes and think he is a fantastic cook. I would recommend this recipe to anyone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2008

      These were okay but they had way too much salt for our taste. It took quite a while for the glaze to develop and it seems to have way too much fat. The ribs were not as tender as I would have expected at 2 1/2 hours. Just generally didn't care for this. I saw Alton make this on TV the other day so was so hoping it would turn out. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

    • on July 27, 2006

      Ok so now I've made these ribs twice this way. Both times we really liked them. It's a recipe we'll do again, among others that we like also just because we like to change out with different flavors every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      I've used this recipe a couple of times, each time finishing them on the grill. Each time they have turned out excellent. Quicker than slow cooking on the BBQ, cleaner than pre-boiling, and gave better results than both methods (for me at least). Only problem is the ribs are so good, it took me a week to work off the excess calories!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2006

      I made this recipe earlier today. I absolutley hated it. The glaze made from the rib juice had so much fat in it that it made me sick. I will never again try to make these ribs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alton Brown's Baby Back Ribs

    Serving Size: 1 (2613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2771.1
     
    Calories from Fat 1580
    57%
    Total Fat 175.5 g
    270%
    Saturated Fat 62.0 g
    310%
    Cholesterol 738.9 mg
    246%
    Sodium 11651.5 mg
    485%
    Total Carbohydrate 73.2 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 65.4 g
    261%
    Protein 205.3 g
    410%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    jalapeno seasoning salt

    Old Bay Seasoning

    white wine vinegar

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites