Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Alton Brown's 2-Hour Mustard Brine for Pork Chops or Roast Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Alton Brown's 2-Hour Mustard Brine for Pork Chops or Roast

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2013

      Awesome brine! I have used this 5 times now and EVERY time was great! Now here are some tips that I have learned so far...<br/><br/>1) Be sure and rinse the pork very well after the brine...those who are tasting like salt are most likely not rinsing it well enough. When you think you have rinsed it enough...rinse it again.<br/><br/>2) Leave it in the brine the full 2 hours, but no more. There is a chemical thing going on...so less then 2 hours can hurt the process. I use this for 2 whole pork tenderloins and it does not matter if one is bigger then the other...they both taste the same as long as I cook them to the same temp. (yes the meat will look greyish after brine...this is normal) (side note...if using whole tenderloins be sure and trim them very good to get rid of the fat and the silver skin stuff...I use my fillet knife...works great!)<br/><br/>3) Dissolve the salt and sugar all the way. To help with this I have changed a few things. First I add 3/4 cup water to the vinegar and preheat it and leave on a medium heat. Second I add only the salt...dissolve it all the way first, then add the brown sugar and dissolve, then add the pepper corns and let them steep for a few minutes. The salt dissolves easier this way. Then remove from heat and add about 2 1/2 cups ice and stir till melted...then refrigerate it to chill completely before adding meat. (Be sure and use a salt with no iodine or anti caking agent. Read ingredients list and it should only say salt or sea salt. I use Mortons Natural Sea Salt, All Purpose.) <br/><br/>4) Totally submerge the pork in the brine. If using a container like I do, just fill a quart ziploc bag with water and place it on top of the meat to hold it down into the brine. Or you can put the brine and meat in a large ziploc bag and squeeze all the air out.<br/><br/>5) Do not overcook. Pork is not like it used to be...you don't have to cook it medium well or well done. A little pink in the middle is OK. I cook whole pork tenderloins on high heat on the grill like a steak. And I cook it to a medium with a pink center. EXCELLENT! Even tender the next day heated up in microwave (heat whole tenderloin leftovers, then slice after microwave) BUT...this pork is still good even overcooked, thanks to the brine!<br/><br/>I hope these tips will help some. ENJOY!<br/><br/>Can't wait to make this again!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2011

      Don't know why so many reviews complain of "too salty" or "too 'vinegary' "... I got nervous after starting this because of the reviews and shorting the time to just over an hour, wish I'd left for the entire two hours because these turned out really nice. I used boneless center cut chops about 1-1/2 to 2" thick, added some fresh thyme to the bryne, hit them hard in a hot cast iron pan, put some chicken broth in the pan (with the thyme from the brine) and put in the oven at 325 for 1/2 hour to finish... came out very nice.... Yes, the cider does make the meat a bit gray colored.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      used this with extra thick boneless chops. Rinsed and broiled in the oven for about 7 minutes a side. Turned out yummy and moist as anything.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2014

      Awful, no taste and totally changed texture of meat. Marinated 3 pork chops for 2 hours and removed 2 more after 1 1/2 hours due to the change in look and feel of meat of prior 2. Cooked on grill, husband said it was good, his was smothered in BBQ sauce, mine plain with sauerkraut, never again, dry and strange texture of meat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2014

      My family LOVED this recipe!! Although neither my husband or son liked the smell of the brine as the vinegar was heated up. I followed the tips from RSpencer2013 and used the super thick/big panhandle pork chops. I love the fact that it's only a two hour brine. This recipe is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2014

      After reading other reviews, we did not want to take a chance on our chops being too salty. We have a Cuisinart hand-held mixer (for blending drinks and fruit). After heating the vinegar, we added all of the ingredients and mixed them with the mixer. I personally believe this helped dissolve the salt and did not make the chops salty. We also used an electronic meat probe and cooked the chops at 350? on our Big Green Egg. Absolutely delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      Worked perfectly for me! I cut the recipe in 1/2 as I only did 2 pork chops and marinated for 1 1/2 hrs as pork chops were a little thin. The salt and sugar never really totally dissolve as you can always see them in the bottom of the container but the marinade does work. I then followed up with Aaron McCargo's Pork Chop with Mushroom and Maderia sauce. Another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2012

      I have used this recipe before and found it to be perfect. For those who have had less than desirable results, please note that Alton Brown's original recipe on The Food Network's website specifies 4 double thick bone-in loin end pork chops. If you use a different cut, you may have different results. Of course, taste is a personal thing, but when I follow Alton's original recipe, I haven't had any of the problems others have described here. I had almost given up cooking pork chops altogether until I used this brine method. I do add a salt-free spice rub to the chops before cooking for a little extra flavor. Once I ran out of vinegar so subbed apple juice--worked fine. Hope this helps! Happy cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2012

      I tried this recipe with some pork chops and then smoked them in an electric smoker. I made two porkchops, thinking to eat one that evening and save the other one for the next day. They were so doggone good that I wound up eating them both.
      Thank you once again, Alton. This one's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      Does it take an act of God to get the salt to dissolve?! I've made this 4 or 5 times and the salt never dissolves completely even though I have the vinegar the temprature of napalm....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2012

      I loved this brine i rinsed my chops well and they were not salty at all. I brined for 1 1/2 hours and thought it would have been even better had I brined for the full 2 hours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      I made this, but using 1-inch thick pork chops that I had in the freezer. I only brined them for about 1.5 hours or a bit less because there was simply less meat there than this recipe calls for and I was afraid of making them too salty. They were certainly more moist and tasty than your typical pan fried chop would be without brining and I can see where some people might consider them too salty. I liked them and will perfect this method in the future under better circumstances.

      Just remember: people have different tastes so figure out what you like and go with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2010

      This is REALLY good. My husband doesn't like pork, but loves this. I used apple cider instead of cider vinegar, and we grilled it. Soooo good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I followed the recipe exactly and it was so salty that we choked them down. I used kosher salt and less of it--1/2 cup. I only soaked for 2 hours. Was I supposed to rinse them for a long time? I did rinse them, but not enough, apparently.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      The most moist pork chops I have ever had! I have the lap band and my meat has to be very tender and very moist for me to get it down and this was sooooo flavorful also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2009

      Very moist and flavorful on the grill. For my next feat, I'll be brining a double pork roast and smoking it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I miss read the recipe before I went to the store and thought it said "apple cider". I made it with apple juice instead of vinegar. It turned out GREAT! I put a rub on it and barbecued it. It was very moist and delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2008

      This is the fourth time I've used this brine recipe and it has been fabulous every time. Not sure what others are doing differently. My husband hates vinegar and never noticed the taste. I'm hooked!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I think the vinegar "cooked' my chops! I have brined many times, but never used vinegar. I soaked 6 sirloin chops in the recipe for 2 hours and they were gray coming out of the brine. I then grilled them low and slow, and they were horrible. Very dry and I didn't cook them very long. The flavor was OK, but they were dry and tough. I used natural, non-pasturized cider vinegar. Maybe it was too strong....I will not be using vinegar in my brine anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      Very yummy! I remember seeing this on good eats, and how good it sounded then. I didn't taste the vinegar or salt at all, but the chops were incredibly moist and tender. I used 3/4 inch thick bone in chops, and let them sit in the brine for 1.5 hours. After a good rinse, I peppered them and we put them on the grill. We will definately use this method again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Alton Brown's 2-Hour Mustard Brine for Pork Chops or Roast

    Serving Size: 1 (2401 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 536.3
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    31%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 6.0 g
    30%
    Cholesterol 137.3 mg
    45%
    Sodium 17105.9 mg
    712%
    Total Carbohydrate 45.5 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 43.1 g
    172%
    Protein 41.7 g
    83%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites