Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aloo Paratha (Indian Potato-Stuffed Flatbreads) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Paratha (Indian Potato-Stuffed Flatbreads)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 09, 2003

      These were delicious!!!! The only thing I did really different was in the filling. I sauted 1 small onion and added it to the filling. I dont like olives so I left them out. I chopped the potatoes as charishma did to cut down on cooking time. I used more wheat flour than white flour, and lemon juice for the citrus juice (which worked excellent!!). They were just spectacular! Thank you so much for an absolutely wonderful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2002

      Splendid! I enjoyed one paratha for lunch with Tomato Ketchup out of the 8 that I made. I did not have cayenne, so I substituted that with 1/2 tsp. black pepper. The citrus juice worked like magic in this(I used lemon). I did not have kalamata olives, hence, omitted those. A humble suggestion regarding the potatoes - I found that if they are chopped before boiling(rather than putting the whole potato in the boiling salted-water), they tend to cook faster! Hence, a great deal of time is saved. Thanks for a great recipe! This will be a sure certain paratha on our table in the coming winter months.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2002

      I assume you roll the parantha again after putting the filling (step 12). It should be about one sixth of an inch thickness. I'll try these with whole wheat flour only, with minimum oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Absolutely delicious! I added some onion to the recipe and used hot chilli powder instead of cayenne (which I didn't have) and they were really lovely. I served the paratha with an aubergine and spinach curry and the flavours went extremely well together. A great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2006

      I've made this once so far, and it turned out okay, though all errors were my own - I put too much potato in the bread, and as a result they didn't fry well. If I want to overstuff them again I may try boiling or baking. That aside, they were really delicious - I omitted the cumin, cayenne, juice and olives, because I didn't have any, but the potatoes with pepper inside the bread was delicious without. I'll definitely make this recipe again, and follow the instructions more closely next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2006

      Sorry to say: edible, but we didn't enjoy this much. DH thought I put too much pepper in (1/4 tsp cayenne in a half batch and just a sprinkling of black pepper), but he didn't think it had much flavor otherwise. I seasoned to my taste so the spice was right for me but there was just something about the combination of flavors that didn't work for me, but I couldn't put my finger on exactly what, aside from the lemon flavor being a little too dominate. I did make exactly as directed (used 1/2 tsp salt and 3 olives). There's also a small problem with the directions: I rolled out to slightly over 4-inches and still couldn't fit more than about 1 1/2 teaspoons filling inside, much less 2 tablespoons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2005

      It's recipes like this that make 'zaar so worthwhile. s'kat, the instructions were perfect and the results divine. This transformed my sometimes mundane kitchen into a path through India. I only made 8 huge parathas and omitted the olives (not my favorite thing). The toasty, chewy, soft, flavorful breads were the perfect comfort food. I will be eating them (again!) later along with your suggestion to accompany Dave's Roasted Eggplant Soup. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2005

      Yum. I will make these again and again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2004

      I think you have to be good at rolling the paratha if you want a successful batch. For me, the potato mix spread unevenly, and each paratha seemed too small.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Paratha (Indian Potato-Stuffed Flatbreads)

    Serving Size: 1 (108 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.7
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    19%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 398.2 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.5 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 9.6 g
    19%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    citrus juice

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites