Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aloo Palak (Indian Potatoes & Spinach) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Palak (Indian Potatoes & Spinach)

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2010

      Fantastic recipe! I didn't have waxy potatoes on hand but it still worked well with regular potatoes. I also cooked the ingredients differently in order to brown the onions and fry the spices as is common in Indian cooking. My cooking method is as follows: First saute the garlic, ginger, onions and green chili together till the onion started to brown. Then add the spinach and cook till it wilts and puree. Cook the potatoes without any turmeric or salt till almost done (I just cut into cubes and microwaved for about 5 minutes.) In a deep fry pan fry the cumin seeds for about 20 seconds till they start to lightly brown and then add the turmeric and other powdered spices and fry for about 20 seconds to bring out the flavor. Add the spinach-onion paste, salt, and potatoes and cook for a few minutes for the flavors to absorb and the potatoes to fully cook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2010

      I didn't blend the spinach mixture, just left it whole. I used a bit of oil in place of the butter as well, and used regular potatoes. Loved the flavours. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2014

      Very good as written. The second time I made it, I doubled the potatoes; pureed half the spinach mixture and mixed the pureed part back in with the rest, so it is creamy but has texture. Will definitely add this to our regular rotation.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2013

      Great recipe! I use regular potatoes and fry spices in advance, in order to release flavours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      Fabulous. Even though I forgot to put the onions in, and left out the butter for the sake of my cholesterol. Seasoned to perfection. Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2012

      Sylvie, thanks for sharing your Aloo Palak, I made this side dish as a side dish with turkey at Christmas supper, I made Aloo Palak potatoes instead of mashed potatoes.
      Of course it took more time and effort to make this dish comparing to plain mashed potatoes, but it worthed every extra step or work. I had made too much, even next few days we enjoyed them as leftover and they were as delicious as first day.
      I will make this again and recommend everyone to try this healthy potato dish.
      Thanks again Sylvie.
      Santi

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      Really nice and spicy! Next time I'll double the potatoes, but that's the only change. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      I really loved this! I used butter and I'm thankful I did, I tasted the spinach paste before frying it and it tasted pretty bland and in need of salt, but after I fried it, by god it was delish, I actually could have eaten it by it's self LOL! Had to skip the Garam Masala as I'd run out cooking the rest of my dishes for the evening, but I don't think it missed any flavours.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2012

      Excellent dish. I made it exactly as written. Everyone in my family loved it. My teenage daughter asked me to make it again the next night.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2011

      very good recipe, made pretty much as directed, but subbed green chilli for red as that's what I had, thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Yummy! I made several changes per what I had on hand: I minced the onion, garlic, & ginger, sauteed them in 1 Tbsp butter & 1 Tbsp EVOO, added the spices (I didn't have cumin seeds so used 2 tsp cumin powder, also subbed cayenne powder for the chilis), and used 1 bunch of red chard instead of spinach. Chopped the card and did not puree. Maybe this seems like a different recipe at this point but the ratio of spices gave this dish a wonderful aroma and flavor! Went great with curried chicken and saffron cashew rice :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      YUM! Loved it! Perfect recipe and didn't take long at all. I love the tumeric with the potatoes. It's less overwhelming when served this way! I too omitted the fresh cream. It's not necessary to make this an awesome dish!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This was good. Omitted the fresh cream (and used margarine) to keep this vegan. The ratio of potatoes to spinanach was too high for us- next time I would use more spinach or just add less potatoes. Made a good amount of food, about 3 hearty or 4 small servings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2009

      Great recipe! I used regular potatoes and it turned out fine. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Really good but I cut down the potatoes and butter and added more spinach!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2009

      Great recipe! I used the exact proportions in the recipe and loved the taste as it was lightly spiced and I could still taste the ingredients. The only thing I varied was to roast the cumin seeds and ground spices first before adding the spinach mixture so that the spices were aromatic and didn't taste raw.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2009

    • on June 12, 2009

      This recipe is really great and easy for beginners (like me) I tried this recipe last night and it was amazing how easy it was to make. I just made a few adjustments (for the same serving of 2 ppl) I didn't add the ginger (I didnt have it on hand), I cut only half of an onion and I put one table spoon of butter, but I guess it goes according to what taste you like. I also added corn kernels to the spinach and potato, since I like the taste of corn and spinach. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

    • on May 18, 2009

    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Palak (Indian Potatoes & Spinach)

    Serving Size: 1 (472 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 404.3
     
    Calories from Fat 241
    59%
    Total Fat 26.8 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 16.0 g
    80%
    Cholesterol 65.5 mg
    21%
    Sodium 134.7 mg
    5%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 7.3 g
    29%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh ginger

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites