Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aloo Matar Ka Pulao ( Indian Rice With Potatoes and Peas ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Matar Ka Pulao ( Indian Rice With Potatoes and Peas )

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 05, 2011

      Great dish! This dish was very flavorful, but not too spicy. Because there was a comment that the rice was undercooked, I allowed the rice to soak longer and it probably was on the flame a little more than 10 minutes. Everyone devoured this dish: my husband, the rice lover, me who isnot so wild about it, our guests, and their teens who can be picky eaters. THis is a recipe which i will be making again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      Too salty for me and the rice seemed under cooked. I think this one's on me, not on the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2012

      This is a fantastic rice dish, packed with flavour.
      I made a bit too much for our curry, so refrigerated the rest and had it with grilled sausages the next day!
      I think the 1 tbsp of salt should read 1 tsp.
      Doing this again with a curry I have found on this site.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2010

      LOVE IT! This is delicious, my mouth is watering just thinking about it! I made this with Brown Basmati and it took about 20 minutes to cook at the end. Okay, got to go eat leftovers...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This was pretty good. I added 1 c. frozen cauliflower and 3 tsp. of chicken bouillon instead of salt. I will make it again! Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I wasn't fussy on this rice, but my husband loved it. He is taking leftovers for lunch tomorrow.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This was great! Being new to Indian cooking I made this pretty much just as written. I used frozen peas so I added them in at the very end and just stirred them into the hot rice where they thawed and were nice and fresh tasting. I served this as a side dish and it made LOTS of servings. There were 6 of us and we ate only about half of it. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This was excellent, definitely will make again and again! I added silverbeet from our garden in with the potatoes and peas. I added about 1 TB ground coriander and then ran out, so used another TB coriander flakes. I have never cooked rice this way either, but it was done and excellent. Had leftovers for lunch the next day, and it only got better! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      Wordeful rice! Full of aroma and so tasty. I didn't add the potato cause I didn't have any at the time and used olive oil instead of butter. I love it! Made it as a side dish to a chicken kiev (light with yogurt) so it was a good combination. Thanks for posting, Next time I'll defenatly add the potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2008

      perfect! I served with Naan and tandoori chicken with induan spinach on the side.....aesome compliment to any indian meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      Awesome!! I used chicken broth instead of water. I also used ground coriander ( no seeds in the house) and frozen peas..TI served this with panko chicken --thanks for this great recipe-i will definately make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      this was pretty easy and really good. A keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2007

      A nice hearty side dish for spicy Indian dishes. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

    • on May 06, 2007

      Wonderful! A perfect side dish for any Indian food. We served it with Chicken Tikka Masala (#25587) and chapatis (#39198).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      Loved it very, I served it with Indian Lime Chicken. It made an excellent combination. Although it can be served as a complete meal on it own with a little yoghurt on the side Thanks for such a simple and easy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      Delicious.Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2007

      Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2006

      We've made this twice, and the second time, we halved the amount of rice and water, and kept everything else the same, which was how we like it best. We'll be keeping this dish in regular rotation! It goes great with some yogurt-marinated chicken or turkey, like the marinade in Pineapple Kebabs

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2006

      THis was delicious! Easy too! I didn't have any long grain rice on hand so I used brown rice instead. Omitted the potatos but added 2 cups of peas and a cup of diced carrots (looked so colourful!)Substituted 2 cups of chicken stock for 2 cups of water to make it more flavourful. The result? Great Indian ricethat everyone enjoyed!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Matar Ka Pulao ( Indian Rice With Potatoes and Peas )

    Serving Size: 1 (362 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 467.6
     
    Calories from Fat 85
    18%
    Total Fat 9.4 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 4.2 g
    21%
    Cholesterol 15.2 mg
    5%
    Sodium 1819.8 mg
    75%
    Total Carbohydrate 85.9 g
    28%
    Dietary Fiber 7.2 g
    29%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 10.7 g
    21%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites