12 Reviews

This was a bit of work, but very good tasting. I didn't have fenugreek seeds, so I used fenugreek powder in step 9 with the rest of the dried spices. I also added a little water at that point to get the spices to distribute properly. Seemed like it needed a little liquid. I'll definitely try this again.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tom Sullivan January 16, 2003

This recipe was excellent. I did double the spices because I like my food very flavorful. Also, as some other reviewrs noted, I added 2-4 Tbsp on water when I added the cauliflower, and 2-4 Tbsp again when I added the potato, to distribute the spices and to prevent sticking/burning. I used red chili flakes instead of whole chilis (1/2 Tbsp). Delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
merangelmagick March 08, 2010

I have been making this for myself, family, and friends (a friend's son happily ate this when he was less than a year old) since 2002 and just now realized that I never reviewed it, so here it goes. This is a great, perfect recipe. I never had a better aloo gobi anywhere. I never omit anything, but I feel it's the mustard seeds, the cumin seeds, and the green chili that are most important for the unique taste of this dish. The only thing I do differently is that I usually add a bit of water in step 8, since to our taste without water it comes out slightly dry. To my taste, Indian food just does not get better than this. Thank you, JustJanS!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anya August 26, 2009

This is excellent! I have always been hesitant to make cauliflower cauliflower (gobi) probably because growing up it was at every Indian party we went to, and I got sick of it. I am returning back to this staple food because of all its recent health accolades...and I am so glad I chose this recipe for cauliflowers return to my palate! Thank you for posting it! It is in a word...Delicious! (Oh, I eliminated the potatoes to reduce starchy carbs...so it was simply delicious cauliflower!)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shalini February 23, 2012

I have not made this recipe, so......., but I have made other versions. Reading the reviews, I kept thinking, "get the fenugreek seeds", and "black mustard seeds aren't very hard to find". It would probably be even better. I guess I'll have to make it now to find out. We liked it lots when I made a version of this 1 or 2 decades ago.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jbleakman March 10, 2011

Another winner. Made as written, but needed a little water. Was suitable for a main for the vegetarians and a great side dish for the rest of us. will be making the next time a curry is on the menu. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sams1 February 25, 2010

Made this for myself as an amateur, even though I used yellow mustard powder instead of black seeds, and couldnt find fenugreek seeds. I did however have some curry spice a friend picked up in India. Was delicious, although I ended up having to stew the mix longer as the cauliflower was still too firm.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheffster October 12, 2009

I made this last night and it was yum! I also added a little of the cauliflower water at step 10 to help the spices coat everything. We had it with some plain yogurt which went really well together. Thanks for an easy, tasty recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elisse37 May 29, 2009

I normally make my aloo gobi with tomatoes and with more of a gravy consistency, but really like this drier preparation as well. I did cut some corners - I skipped boiling the potatoes and blanching the cauli. I just added both after step#7 in your recipe, added some water and let them cook all together. Since this is a drier dish, we had this with a dal and basmati rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eatrealfood August 07, 2006

Excellent! I didn't have fenugreek seeds but other than that, I followed it exactly as written. Next time,I will squeeze a little bit of fresh lemon juice over it. Thanks for the recipe! — Jun 3, 2006

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ranikabani June 05, 2006
Aloo Gobi - Potato and Cauliflower Curry.