Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aloo Gobi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Gobi

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-120 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on March 10, 2007

      This was very good. Full of flavor!I used 6 med tomatoes instead of canned and used ground coriander instead of fresh. The potatoes did take a long time to cook so my cauliflower had broken down from cooking too long so next time I will pre-cook my potatoes.(thus the 4 stars) but flavor gets a full 5 stars! Thanks for sharing Chuckdarwin!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2007

      My husband loved this recipe. I made the recipe as it says except I only added 1 can of tomatoes. I will make this one again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2007

      Lovely recipe!!! I added a teaspoon of black mustard seeds when I added the cumin seeds...it gives an extra kick... I also cooked the potatoes for a few minutes separately, to soften them a bit...before adding it to the cauliflower...that way it all cooks in the same amount of time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2006

      I love the taste of this recipe, but it took me forever to get the potatoes completely cooked through. I'm not sure exactly what I'd do to fix that next time, but I'd better figure something out! I loved this recipe, otherwise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      I have made Alu Gobi several times but this was the best. I suggest that anyone who follow this recipe uses fresh ingredients if possible and add more chilies and garlic for a kick. According to my hubby this was the best Alu Gobi he has eaten since he came to the US..definitely a keeper in our house!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2006

      A good basic recipe. I found it took much longer than 20 minutes for the potato and cauliflower to cook, more like 35-40 minutes. I also think the oil sounds too much, for me 2 tablespoons was more than enough. Otherwise, this is a nice recipe that is a good introduction to Indian food.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2006

      I agree that the 1/4 cup oil is excessive. I used 2 tablespoons and it was enough to fry the onions. Furthermore, 1 teaspoon of salt wasn't enough for the hubby although he does prefer more salt than he should. :) I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned, and that worked out well. Overall the recipe is okay, given that aloo gobi isn't the easiest thing in the world to make - at least not for me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2005

      Very nice. The only changes I made was I used just 2 tbsp of oil which was more than enough and also 1-1/2 tbsp of ginger garlic paste rather than chopped ones. I also found that 4 tomatoes were more than sufficient. Gained approval from BF, as I tried it out specially for him. Served with hot chapatis and cucumber mint raitha. Really good dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2005

      Very Tasty Indeed..Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2005

      This was wonderful - I served it with brown basmati rice and dahl. It was very easy, as well. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2005

      A grea recipe for those looking for something easy yet ethnic. Doesn't require any heavy pestle work, dosen't require any drawn out indian paste reduction....just bare bones cooking. I added more chilis...hot=good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2005

      Good! It taste oddly similar to an Italian dish I grew up on. Very nostalgic and comforting. Everyone in my house loved it, including my very picky eight year old.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2005

      My first aloo gobi and I'm impressed. No wonder it's made around the world. I could make a meal of this once a week. I used a bit less potato than called for but otherwise I wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      This was very good, I used only 2 T of oil plus 3 and 1/2 C of water to cook the potatoes. Next time, I would use less potatoes as this had too many potatoes in proportion to cauliflower. I added peas, which added some variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2005

      I loved this dish. My kids and boyfriend didn't like it much but they're rather picky. I thought it was great tasting and was pretty easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      Loved this recipe. Even my daughter, who has a fairly picky toungue enjoyed it! I would definately recommend this one!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2005

      Chuck Darwin's Theory is: "Anyone can make aloo gobi, but not everyone can bend it like Beckham."

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2005

      This is a tasty aloo gobi. I added 1 teaspoon ground goriander, and use 4 cloves garlic and a 1" piece of ginger. Thamks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2004

      Absolutely mouth-watering recipe and delicious! This is coming from a discerning Indian food critic. Would recommend it to the utmost degree! I also used 4 cloves garlic and 1 inch ginger piece (fresh). Diced tomatoes w/ juice works fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2004

      I am not sure how to rate this recipe, becaues I am not sure how this dish is supposed to turn out, but the recipe seems to be missing some details, and at point 9 my curry was wet wet. perhaps because I used two large cans of tomatoes, but can size is not indicated in the ingredients list. Also, at the end I was left with garam masala and coriander that I didn't know what to do with, so I just tossed it in at the end, I'm not sure if they should have been part of the "bhoona" or not- Anyway at the end of the day, the dish tasted really nice, but I do think it was wetter than it should have been.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Curries Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Gobi

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.9
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    31%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 335.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh coriander

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites