122 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow ! what a yummy recipe this turned out to be. It was absolutely delicious. I used fresh tomatoes too and added paneer and potatoes. Besides the green chillies, a little chilli powder gave the dish a nice rich colour. Thanks for sharing :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rachelbk08 January 16, 2010

Exceptional! I made this on the stovetop in my dutch oven. I found cubing the potatoes into one inch pieces works best so they are cooked in the twenty minutes. It seems the longer the dish sat in the dutch oven the more flavorful it became. We'll definitely have this again. Thanks for this great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lhoerth December 01, 2009

This makes a huge batch depending on how large your 'large' potatoes and cauliflower are. We ended up making a double batch of the onion and tomato mixture. Definitely don't be shy with the pepper and seasonings: I nearly doubled them, including salt. We served this at a gourmet Indian food dinner and it was very popular. I will make it again as a good side dish or really healthy lunch. Like others, I cut the oil in half.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janajane14 November 09, 2009

Great recipe, exactly as it is in good Indian restaurants. I pureed 28 oz of whole tomatoes and then strained them instead of just putting 2 cans of diced tomatoes in, and I found that the tomato flavor was more consistently incorporated in the dish plus didn't have any tomato seeds. I even got my husband to eat this happily, and he is no Indian food fan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jarnold October 06, 2009

Really delicious and easy (once I settled on the right garam masala). Didn't use any coriander or ginger and used powdered cumin vs. seeds but it still tasted wonderful. Oh, and I used about 2T of olive oil which was plenty for our tastes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LCinLA October 02, 2009

Excellent aloo gobi! I omitted the green chilies and substituted them with chilli powder. I also used the frozen cubes of cilantro that you get from the grocery store. The flavour was just right, however I had to cook everything for about 45 minutes before the potatoes were cooked. I will pre-cook the potatoes separately next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Panamanian-Canadian angel September 23, 2009

This was a huge hit with both vegetarians and carnivores alike, which really surprised me. The only variations I made was using olive oil instead of vegtable, and like another reviewer, I cooked the potatoes tender by themselves & then added them. This had just enough hints of spice, without being either bland or too hot. I usually add extra the amount of spices call for, but with this recipe I did and will follow exactly as stated. I am excited to have tried this, and plan on making this often. Thanks for impressing my house guests and husband. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HesterX June 14, 2009

Other than cutting back on the amount of oil, I followed the recipe and was not dissapointed. Great flavor, great texture and it rivals that which is served at my local Indian restaurant. Thank you chuckdarwin for sharing the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BonnieZ April 23, 2009
Aloo Gobi