Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aloo Gobi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Gobi

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on April 02, 2009

      Yum!! this is my first attempt at Indian food other than Naan, and man was it yummy!!! I felt the urge to add a dollop of yogurt to my bowl and that hit the spot. I also added about twice the spices that it called for on the advice of others. I didn't add water to mine because I used my own tomatoes , frozen from my garden and there was more than plenty liquid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Made this last night and thought it was very good. This the first time I put tomatoes into Aloo Gobi, but it was nice! I used two fresh tomatoes and a dollop of tomato paste. It was a bit dry for my taste but a little water fixed that right up. I used one banana pepper and one green chile. Wilol be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2009

      I thought this was pretty good, but I must have done something wrong because it was less flavor than I expected. I expected much more kick given the spices involved, but it was relatively bland. Decent flavor, but just not enough of it for me. I'll play with the ingredients to see if I can kick it up a little. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      thank you so much for posting this recipe, it saves us time so we don't have to rent the dvd every once in a while we feel like making this :p our family LOVES this aloo gobi and it's the first and only recipe we've ever tasted! p.s.: great between two slices of buttered toast!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

    • on February 12, 2009

      I didn't have cumin seed, so I used ground cumin. I wasn't sure of the ginger or garlic measurements, so I used 1" of ginger and 5 cloves of garlic. I wasn't sure of can size, so I used 1 28 oz can of diced tomatoes that was on sale. I didn't have chili powder -- though I did -- so used ground red cayenne pepper. I wasn't sure about the stem/leaf thing on the cilantro and got tired of ripping off the leaves so think I ended up using just 1/2 a bunch. Was tasty still. Also, didn't use 1/4 cup oil. Used more like 1.5 T canola oil. The potatoes cooked up in 20 minutes because I chopped them bite-sized. I also cut the cauliflower bite sized and it kinda went fall-aparty at the end. Still good though. I didn't wait as long as possible -- ok, maybe I did. The length of time was as soon as the beeper went off that it was done. Very tasty! Spicy but not hot, until I dumped more cayenne in it ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      Love the taste! ... I made as indicated except I did not have the corriander and I used 1 and 1/2 cans diced tomatoes instead of 2 ...(I had 1/2 can left over from another recipe and per D Rusak's comment I figure it wouldn't hurt to have less tomatoes) ... Great recipe! ... thank you Chuck!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I am giving this a 5 for ease of preparation and taste, but this does not taste like the aloo gobi I have had before. I think there is too much tomato, and something with the spices is not quite right. This is a super simple recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      This is the best recipe I found for this online. I would recommend a bit more turmeric and ground cumin seed, cayenne pepper, and ground coriander instead of garam masala. We used olive oil and three very large cloves of garlic. We did not have fresh coriander, sadly, but used the best dried cilantro to sprinkle on top that we could find. I cut the potatoes into square inch cubes and the cauliflower into small pieces as well and cooked for half the time. The proportion of potatoes (we used four smallish potatoes) and cauliflower was perfect for us. For us it only served four but we eat it as a main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2009

      This is a great addition to my cookbook! Like others, I used 2T ghee & 4 cloves of garlic, however I think the proportion of potatoes to the cauliflower is just right, so I guess it depends on personal preference. Served this with basmati rice - & added to it tumeric, chopped onion & yoghurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      superb!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2009

      fantastic!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2008

      Exceptional flavors. Fun to make and a huge hit with the family. I used zucchini instead of cauliflower and served it with basmati rice and cold plain yogurt. Thank you very much, we will make this alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      Great recipe for me, a vegan. But my husband who likes meat it made a great side vegetable. I am often looking for recipes that would make a main dish for me and a side dish for my husband.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      This was very good. It makes a lot for a side dish even though I made half a recipe. I served it with Balti Butter Chicken Balti Butter Chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 12, 2008

    • on November 04, 2008

      This is the best cauliflower dish I've ever made! Think you don't like cauliflower? You just might just change your mind after you'd tried this dish. The cauliflower soaks up so much flavour you barely know you're eating vegetables.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2008

      This was my first attempt at Indian food. My expectations were low due to the fact that my ethnic cuisine is a far cry from the restaurant style food we usually eat. My husband and I were very pleasently surprised with this!! It was easy to make and tasted wonderful. I used only 2 potates (which I highly recommend par boiling them first) and dried coriander, and only a half a head of cauliflower (I couldn't fit more into the pan). Give it a try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2008

      Really Good!!! My husband loves curries and gave 2 thumbs up for this one. I used 1/2 tsp chili, 1 tablespoon of crushed ginger, 1/2 tsp crushed garlic, 800g of tinned tomatoes, 1/2 cup of water and only a splash of oil. The curry came out lovely and thick just like the pictures. We served as a side dish for our BBQ. Thank you for sharing Chuckdarwin :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2008

      Love this recipe - so flavorful! Thanks for posting! I use less oil to make it a little healthier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Curries Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Gobi

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.9
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    31%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 335.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh coriander

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites