Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aloo Gobi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Gobi

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on March 07, 2010

      This had to be THE BEST vegetarian dish I have ever eaten! After tasting the spices I couldn't wait for it to get done. 20 mins felt like eternity! LOL. Would give 10 stars if I could!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2010

      Delicious, I really enjoyed it. Better the second day when flavors fully develop. Will be making it again. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2010

      Wonderful and easy receipe! I used fresh tomatoes instead of canned and extra virgin olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Also, don't be afraid to double (yes, double) the amount of cumin for this receipe. If using whole cumin seeds, first roast/saute the seeds in the oil and then add the onions (I use red onions). I used 2 tablespoons of cumin powder (that I roast and grind to a powder in advance). You can also add all of the spices after adding the cauliflower and potatoes. Enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2010

      I have this cooking now and the house smells wonderful! I stop at step 7 and throw it all (except the garam masala) in the Crockpot, since I have a short attention span and may otherwise burn it. Putting the potatoes in raw has never been a problem for me, but that could be because I'm slow cooking it. Maybe the directions could be more specific about how small to cut them...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Enjoyed the recipe. However, the potatoes need to be cooked before adding to the recipe, which is a big oversight. Plus, the recipe needs significantly more salt. Otherwise, pretty good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Best Aloo Gobi recipe I've ever come across. Tastes just as good (if not sometimes better) than what I get at restaurants! There are never any leftovers at my place. Comes out better if you use a homemade garam masala as opposed to store bought. Fun film, great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2010

      Yes yes yes yes!!! This is so close to the Aloo Gobi I have been ordering with EVERY Indian meal in the past 30 years - I thoroughly enjoyed it - as did all my guests

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Wow ! what a yummy recipe this turned out to be. It was absolutely delicious. I used fresh tomatoes too and added paneer and potatoes. Besides the green chillies, a little chilli powder gave the dish a nice rich colour. Thanks for sharing :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      This was delicious. Mine came out wetter than I was expecting, probably because I included the liquid in one of 2 28oz cans of tomatoes, but still with great heat and flavour. There was a lot left over since I'd also made a lamb and tomato curry, so I made a soup the next day by using an immersion blender to break up most of the chunks. I added some chicken stock and a can of evaporated milk. I think I liked the soup more than the original dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

    • on December 01, 2009

      Exceptional! I made this on the stovetop in my dutch oven. I found cubing the potatoes into one inch pieces works best so they are cooked in the twenty minutes. It seems the longer the dish sat in the dutch oven the more flavorful it became. We'll definitely have this again. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

    • on November 17, 2009

      Very good! Suggestions to double spices is a good one. Also, I used canned tomoatoes with the chilis already added and it turned out to have an ideal spice level (not too hot but with some kick!).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2009

      This makes a huge batch depending on how large your 'large' potatoes and cauliflower are. We ended up making a double batch of the onion and tomato mixture. Definitely don't be shy with the pepper and seasonings: I nearly doubled them, including salt. We served this at a gourmet Indian food dinner and it was very popular. I will make it again as a good side dish or really healthy lunch. Like others, I cut the oil in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2009

      Great recipe, exactly as it is in good Indian restaurants. I pureed 28 oz of whole tomatoes and then strained them instead of just putting 2 cans of diced tomatoes in, and I found that the tomato flavor was more consistently incorporated in the dish plus didn't have any tomato seeds. I even got my husband to eat this happily, and he is no Indian food fan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      Really delicious and easy (once I settled on the right garam masala). Didn't use any coriander or ginger and used powdered cumin vs. seeds but it still tasted wonderful. Oh, and I used about 2T of olive oil which was plenty for our tastes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2009

      Excellent aloo gobi! I omitted the green chilies and substituted them with chilli powder. I also used the frozen cubes of cilantro that you get from the grocery store. The flavour was just right, however I had to cook everything for about 45 minutes before the potatoes were cooked. I will pre-cook the potatoes separately next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      This was a huge hit with both vegetarians and carnivores alike, which really surprised me. The only variations I made was using olive oil instead of vegtable, and like another reviewer, I cooked the potatoes tender by themselves & then added them. This had just enough hints of spice, without being either bland or too hot. I usually add extra the amount of spices call for, but with this recipe I did and will follow exactly as stated. I am excited to have tried this, and plan on making this often. Thanks for impressing my house guests and husband. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2009

      Other than cutting back on the amount of oil, I followed the recipe and was not dissapointed. Great flavor, great texture and it rivals that which is served at my local Indian restaurant. Thank you chuckdarwin for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2009

      This was a pretty good recipe. I will double the spices next time. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Curries Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Gobi

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.9
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    31%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 335.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh coriander

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes