Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Aloo Gobi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Aloo Gobi

    Average Rating:

    122 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 122

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2012

      Pretty tasty. It really needs time to sit and absorb all the flavors though, so don't make this right before dinner. Even better- try putting it serving-size containers and sticking it in the freezer and you'll have a great Indian side dish whenever you need it, and it tastes great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2011

      It's awesome me and my husband love to eat this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      i haven't made this recipe, but 2 teaspoons of turmeric is way too much. you only need 1/4-1/2 tsp. maybe even less. that is definitely what is causing the bitterness that everyone's talking about.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2011

      I read previous reviews about the bitter taste and was like, "pshaw! they must have sensitive palates.", but then I made it and it WAS bitter. Really bitter! I guess it must be the turmeric? I don't know what caused the bitterness, but next time I might lessen the dose of turmeric and garam masala.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2011

      I found this to have a really bitter aftertaste that prevented us from really enjoying it. It wasn't terrible, but I won't be making it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2011

      A great meatless entree! I doubled the spices, added peas, and used a bit of lemon juice and zest to brighten the flavors. Delish and economical.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2011

      I had high hopes for this recipe since it was so highly rated. I found this recipe to be rather bland, tasting nothing like the Aloo Gobi you would get at an Indian Restaurant. Since the recipe does not state how much garlic or ginger to use, I used a 1 inch piece of ginger and 3 garlic cloves. I also added a couple handfuls of frozen peas at the end with went nicely. Overall, this was just OK.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2011

      Love it! I modified by using about a tablespoon of sriracha since I had no chilies in the house and also added 1 can of chickpeas for extra protein. Very easy and fairly quick. The instructions to "leave for as long as possible before serving" really make me laugh however. (What, like a year?) I used the "easy garam masala" recipe for it, posted by zensoujourner at allrecipes, which was an excellent addition too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

    • on January 17, 2011

      Very good! I would make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2011

      I found this recipe very bland, lacking in the complexity of flavor I'm accustomed to enjoying when I eat this dish at Indian restaurants. My husband thought it was "ok, but not great." In addition, the large quantity of turmeric gave it a slightly "off," bitter flavor. I followed the recipe as written, using a generous 1-inch piece of ginger and 3 large cloves of garlic. I had high hopes for this recipe based upon the positive reviews, but it turns out that this just isn't the right aloo gobi recipe for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2010

      I wanted to try this recipe because I love Aloo Gobi and I thought I would try making it with the Bend it Like Beckham version first. Also, this recipe came highly rated. However, I did not enjoy this recipe. I found that the recipe calls for far too much cilantro (not a cilantro fan here) and maybe only half of the stalks from a bunch should be used. Also, I cooked the recipe in a pot and rather than simmering for 20min it took me boiling (on medium) for 1 hour. Simmering won't cook the potatoes. In addition, Aloo Gobi that I have had tends to have a thicker sauce that is rich and savory but this sauce was watery and tomato(y). I'm very disappointed in the recipe but on the plus side the rice I made to go with it turned out well!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      I am not sure why but this wasn't the best for us. It might be b/c I used crush tomatoes instead of diced? I don't know. It had a weird bite to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2010

      Have made this many times and am always happy with the results. The whole family likes this, I always double the recipe & we never have leftovers. Thank you for such a great recipe. Happy Cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2010

      Lovely blend of spices, thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2010

    • on April 02, 2010

      I ended up making this with broccoli instead of cauliflower because the grocery store didn't have cauliflower for whatever reason (boo!) but it of course still worked out well. I think I'd cut back on the coriander next time though. We're not huge fans of it and it was a bit overpowering, but the flavours otherwise were great. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2010

      Delicious, makes more than I had anticipated. I used 5 cloves of garlic an in,h of ginger and about 20 ounces of diced tomato.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

    • on March 12, 2010

      I LOVE THIS DISH!!! So easy. I really like it with half potatoes and sweet potatos . Also I think it is best with fresh tomatoes not canned.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Curries Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Aloo Gobi

    Serving Size: 1 (337 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 215.9
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    31%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 335.1 mg
    13%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.3 g
    25%
    Sugars 5.6 g
    22%
    Protein 5.7 g
    11%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    fresh coriander

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes