122 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good but only after many changes. I had to add lots of garlic and I can of tomato paste. My potatoes did not cook. I had to add so much broth and I put 2 cans of 28 oz of tomatoes (no 8 oz, in my part of the world...). Next time, I'll boil potatoes apart first. Coriander chutney is a must on this!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anoushka April 23, 2013

I really love this recipe! It is so easy to make and I've already memorized all the ingredients and how to cook it. Personally, I like to add 1 tsp. of coriander, and sometimes I like to double on the spice if I want more of a kick. All in all, one of my favourite recipes! Thank you for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eri_gian96 December 30, 2012

Really good. Maybe next time I'll add bell peppers though.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lostris269 August 25, 2012

This is the Aloo Gobi recipe I always use. It tastes just like my best friend's mom used to make. They are from Pakistan. I don't know what bitter taste people are speaking of unless maybe they are using old turmeric. The amount of heat is perfect for my 5 year old and I just put more red pepper on mine and my husband's plate. This is great with homemade roti as well. It also takes longer than 20 minutes for the potatoes to cook. I think this recipe is perfect!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beccamom July 20, 2011

i haven't made this recipe, but 2 teaspoons of turmeric is way too much. you only need 1/4-1/2 tsp. maybe even less. that is definitely what is causing the bitterness that everyone's talking about.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
binduamathew July 19, 2011

It was very nice but I had the same problem as another reviewer of my potatoes not cooking when I just simmered the dish. I put in two garlic cloves and about a tablespoon of grated ginger in. I used sambel oelek instead of fresh chilis, at first only 1 1/2 tsp, and then I added another to get it to the spiciness I was expecting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tea Girl April 02, 2011

A great meatless entree! I doubled the spices, added peas, and used a bit of lemon juice and zest to brighten the flavors. Delish and economical.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dallasdiva March 23, 2011

Love it! I modified by using about a tablespoon of sriracha since I had no chilies in the house and also added 1 can of chickpeas for extra protein. Very easy and fairly quick. The instructions to "leave for as long as possible before serving" really make me laugh however. (What, like a year?) I used the "easy garam masala" recipe for it, posted by zensoujourner at allrecipes, which was an excellent addition too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
frieswiththat February 03, 2011

I wanted to try this recipe because I love Aloo Gobi and I thought I would try making it with the Bend it Like Beckham version first. Also, this recipe came highly rated. However, I did not enjoy this recipe. I found that the recipe calls for far too much cilantro (not a cilantro fan here) and maybe only half of the stalks from a bunch should be used. Also, I cooked the recipe in a pot and rather than simmering for 20min it took me boiling (on medium) for 1 hour. Simmering won't cook the potatoes. In addition, Aloo Gobi that I have had tends to have a thicker sauce that is rich and savory but this sauce was watery and tomato(y). I'm very disappointed in the recipe but on the plus side the rice I made to go with it turned out well!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ltwothaj December 31, 2010

Wonderful recipe. Fairly easy to put together. Family thought it was restaurant quality. This recipe is going in the keeper file. Thanks Chuck!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
concretegirl May 25, 2010
Aloo Gobi