41 Reviews

These were super easy to make and disappeared fast. I used apricot-pineapple preserves, 2 garlic cloves smashed and minced and a 1" piece of fresh ginger. Prefer fresh to powdered. I think next time I will increase the garlic and ginger to give it a bit more spark. But, all in all, it was delicous. Would be great as a main dish using chicken legs and/or thighs.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terriyaki 2 January 03, 2009

I've made these wings for the past two football seasons. And they are now my signature and is requested all the time. There are some people who suggest the apricot perserves instead of the pineapple. I actually couldn't find the pineapple reserve so I just used a can of pineapple, the ones that are in their own juice. I don't drain the juice but instead add it to the marinate or I'll use frozen concentrate pineapple juice. I haven't tried to the apricot suggestion but I think I'm going to make two batches, one with pineapple and one with apricot. Thank you for posting this! I had to edit this review. The last time I made these wings, before I poured the entire marinate over the wings, I took a cup of the completed marinate and stored it and a few days later, I used it for on chicken stir fry. That is something that I'll certain do again! Thank you again for posting this recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedSoxsNation #33fan November 16, 2008

We loved these! I made them for the SuperBowl, just DH and me, and we ate them all up!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mamie37 February 03, 2004

Not sure what I did wrong, but these came out pretty tasteless. I marinated them for several hours and followed the ingredients and instructions to the letter. I will end up taking the remaining wings and morph them into some new recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nmdreamcatcher January 02, 2015

These are AMAZING! My kids love them! I always hate when people completely change a recipe and then rate it, but I am going to break my own rule. I make the sauce just like you would normally make it, but put it in a large metal pan. I grill my wings with a little Cavender's seasoning (best in world). When they are mostly done, I put the pan of sauce on the grill and brush keep brushing it on the wings and let it caramelize. I put them on a platter and sprinkle them with sesame seeds, green onion, fresh chopped jalapeno and cilantro. So yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Shel at the Lake August 16, 2014

4.5 stars really. These are yum. I made them with drummettes and five were a nice serving for me with green bean casserole (yes, the traditional one).

Later...unfortunately they don't reheat well and are far from as good leftover cold.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BarbryT March 02, 2012

Made these tonight and they were fantastic!! My hubby isn't a pineapple fan so we used a peach-mango preserves and the combination was lovely. Thank you so much for this great recipe! We'll definitely be making them again!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MistressRach January 01, 2011

was very tasty; i actually marinated it for 24 hours, but it turned out sweet and tangy. also, i used the apricot-pineapple preserves as well, and i didn't use ginger.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
babyleaflet December 10, 2010

I forgot to rate these, but I made them for a superbowl party. I didn't have any, as I don't care for wings. But my guests gave them rave reviews. Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katie224 April 05, 2009

The Flavor was really good. A good recipe to make if not all your guests like spicy wings. I would put the wings on the grill when there done cooking just to crisp them up.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lil_woman February 08, 2009
Aloha Chicken Wings