Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost White Castle Hamburgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost White Castle Hamburgers

    Average Rating:

    154 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 154

    Sort by:

    • on March 13, 2011

      Tried this recipe for the first time and its a winner. The title is perfect- almost white castle. Its pretty much there. As a native new yorker who would buy em by the sackful, I would say these would definitely make the cut when ur craving. Kids and hubby loved them. I used 2 lbs ground chuck and spread a layer of dehydrated onion on the bottom of the pan. Toasted the buns first(just our preference), then used the damp paper towel in the microwave to get that steam feel. Wonderful recipe. Will use it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2011

      For almost White Castle burgers that are the bomb all you need is dehydrated onion or onion flakes. Put them in water to rehydrate and make patties with only salt and pepper. Add a little water to your pan along with onion and let them cook until done. That's it. My cousin made these and swear I thought I was eating the real thing until she told me she made them. I didn't believe her so she had to make some more. That's how good they were. This recipe is not good to me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      This tasted just like white castles except WORD OF WARNING...I used ground sirloin 90/20 and after baking mopped up extra fat with paper towels. The buns did not have the inner slightly soggy taste or texture. I also used slightly less onion dip and minced an onion and sprinkled one pan with onion on top and one pan with onion on bottom before baking. No difference in my opinion. I also spread the beef mixture on the sheet and used my rolling pin on top of the wax paper to cover the pan and then pricked with a fork. Next time, I will go against my instinct to mop up the fat and leave it to soak into the bun. It didn't matter so much because my people scarfed them down.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2010

      I cut onion and put it on the pan before I put the burger on it. I made the burger as directed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2013

      These burgers are very similar to White Castle Hamburgers. Mine turned out very well, a really good burger with more meat than the real thing. I had juices in the pan after cooking the meat, I let it sit or cool off and most of the juices were absorbed after sitting, which makes for a juicy burger. I like mine with no cheese, lots of pickles, and catsup. While putting the burger together I had to stop nibbling on the meat, I liked it so well. I'm looking forward to making the meat part on the grill, it's a good combination of ingredients for a good burger. Best copy cat recipe for White Castle Hamburgers I've made so far.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2012

      Yummmm, very close to the real thing too. The only thing i changed about this recipe was the "jelly roll pan". I didn't have one of these, only a dark baking dish. I just turned my oven to 375 and baked for 12 min. Thank you so, so much for this recipe. Was really, really good and can't wait til my picky husband gets home to rave about this one!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Made this for the fam, and everyone flipped. Way super easy to make and so tasty. I didn't have onion soup mix in the house so I used 1 huge Tablespoon of dried minced onion. It was wonderful that way and my daughter told me not to change anything about the way I made them. Thanks for sharing this great recipe, it will be getting used a lot in our house come winter time. Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2011

      Oh yeah! I'll tell you how great these were: My son's new gf (who normally acts like a 'delicate flower') was here ... she put these down like a truck driver! I added an insane amount of re-hydrated onion to the top before cooking but only because we're hardcore. :) Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2010

      These are the closest that I have ever found to the actual thing. I made a batch, and we ate about half of them. The others I froze and and they warmed up perfectly. Why pay ridiculous prices for frozen white castle burgers from the market, when you can make way more, for a fraction of the price. Thank you!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2010

      They tasted kind of like little meatloafs! 4 year old DD loves them and that's the important part. And these are so much cheaper than buying the frozen White Castle burgers at the grocery store. Next time I am going to get much leaner meat. 80/20 ground beef seemed to lose too much in juices - I was only able to get about 14 patties out of this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2009

      I've got to try this as I dearly LOVE "White Castle" hamburgers, but non in my area, & too expencive in markets. But you forgot the most important--to me !!--condiment ! Dehydrated diced onions on top of burger, befor pickles !!! ;-}

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      FANTASTIC! I tried both the Hawaiian Sweet Rolls and Sara Lee White Rolls (both are square) Everyone preferred the Sara Lee Rolls, steamed in paper towels in the microwave. **THESE FREEZE WELL** To freeze, I made the meat mixture up ahead of time, baked several trays worth, scored the meat into squares without cutting completely. When cooled, I wrapped first in press n seal, then heavy aluminum foil and froze one 'sheet' of meat at a time. These stack well once frozen, and I have used a 'sheet' as far out as 6 weeks with good results. To use: defrost, then fully reheat squares, THEN assemble the burgers. The rolls don't freeze well already assembled with the meat - they get soggy even with the meat already frozen before assembling and freezing. I can't tell you how handy these are to have on hand in the freezer....! I am now being constantly pestered to have these when family stops by.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      These were so easy to make and so good! We made these exactly as the recipe stated and can't think of anything we would do differently. Thanks for a great recipe! This one is definitely a keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2014

      Loved this recipe. Good little slider. Not quite sure how they compare to a real White Castle. Never had a hot fresh White Castle. Only had the frozen ones from the grocery store and it is close to those. I would rather have these any ways since it is fresher.<br/><br/>My pan was slightly smaller than recommended so my pattys came out just a bit thicker than I would have liked.<br/><br/>Flavor was great. Kids loved them.<br/><br/>Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      Who knew you could make burgers in the oven? These were so tasty and so easy to make!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2014

      I originally found this slider recipe on Pinterest when I was looking for a recipe similar to White Castle burgers, and I have to say, these are pretty darn close.

      I have made this recipe three times now, and if you want your burgers to taste just like White Castle?s, I suggest using a potato roll for the bun, Velveeta singles for the cheese, and only using diced white onions, a pickle, and ketchup for the garnish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2014

      These were very juicy and tasty, DH loved them! I only had the breadcrumb with Italian seasoning and used the packet of onion soup mix and it still turned out great! Pressed the meat into a cookie sheet and kept the meat in the juices. Would make again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2014

      These were delicious. I have never had White Castle Burgers, they just don't have them in our area, but my husband has and says these are better than the restaurant's burgers. I love how easy they were to make and that I already had everything on hand to make them. These will definitely be a go to when we need a quick delicious meal. Thank you Chef Doozer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      My summer BBQs are wonderful thanks to this recipe I add worteshire sauce as well Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2013

      delicious! the only thing I did differently was I used fresh onion....everyone loved them! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 8

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost White Castle Hamburgers

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 326.2
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    38%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 4.7 g
    23%
    Cholesterol 56.6 mg
    18%
    Sodium 758.2 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.9 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.4 g
    21%
    Protein 17.0 g
    34%

    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites