Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Tortuga Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 101-109 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2007

      This is the first cake made from scratch that didn't go in the trash! This cake was DEVOURED by everyone. I used Cruzan Vanilla Rum and Banana Cream pudding (that's all I had) and WOW. Can't say enough about this cake. Moist, flavorful, not too sweet. You MUST make this cake if you want to impress someone...or you just love a good dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Excellent, excellent, excellent ! !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      Made this several times, and never have any left to eat later! It is so close to tortuga rum cakes it's amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2006

      I too buy these when on vacation, especially fond of the chocolate one..and can get them locally at a specialty shop but so pricey! I ran to the store for a bottle of Tortuga Gold Rum (cost the same as the white) and the cake is in the oven as we speak. And I even got to use the vanilla I bought in Barbados! Judging by the batter it will be excellent! Thank you SO MUCh for sharing this winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      I made this with real Tortuga Rum (Gold) and Duncan Hines cake mix along with the pudding mix. Awesome and exactly like the real thing. My girlfriend loved it so much, she stayed the night... sweet. Be sure to give the cake at least a day for all the rum glaze to absorb and distribute properly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2006

      We love the recipe. We go to the Cayman islands twice a year and always bring some cakes back. This is the closest thing i have tasted. I have made this and put it along side of the (real) cakes and peopel can not tell the difference. Thanks for shareing it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2006

      Tortuga Rum is now available in the United States. www.tortugarums.com www.majesticdistilling.com I just returned from the Cayman Islands and cannot wait to try this recipe, using Tortuga Rum of course.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2005

    • on February 28, 2005

      I was in the same situation.I have just returned from the Caribbean with the delicious Tortuga rum cake.I could not believe my luck when I found this recipe.I made this version twice and it is equally delicious.I got raving reviews from family and friends.Thank you Mary64 for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 6 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 298
    47%
    Total Fat 33.2 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 104.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 598.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 49.5 g
    198%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites