110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is a great recipe! Definitely the next best thing to a Tortuga rum cake. I don't think you could get any closer! It is always a hit and everyone loves it! Easy too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
djp1265 December 20, 2009

This was a huge hit at a birthday party last night. I used yellow cake mix instead of the basic cake mix and I used Capt Morgan Private Stock Rum because that is what I had. It came out beautifully. Will be making this often!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chelebelle December 13, 2009

We have a Caribbean themed holiday party at work every year. I decided to try this recipe and it made a big hit. It may be the best cake I have ever made - Thanks for making me look good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shorts954 December 11, 2009

OHHHH YUM! I followed the recipe except that I used Bacardi Gold rum since that was what I had on hand. Used 1/2 cup for the cake and about 1/3 cup for the glaze. I made it the day before and stored it in the fridge. Oh man, this is so good. It got rave reviews from my friends as well. Served it with some freshly whipped cream. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I WILL make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoveToBake67 December 06, 2009

Delicious!! I have always ordered the Tortuga Rum Cake as a tradition at Christmas, but this definitely comes more than close and saves $$. Making this cake will now be the tradition!Outstanding!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bszynalik November 24, 2009

Tastes just like the Grand Cayman Toruga rum cakes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jen & Kai October 31, 2009

This is one of the best rum cakes I have ever made. My family could not wait to dig in so the rum syrup had only soaked for a few hors before they started to eat it. I only had Bacardi Rum on hand but that worked just fine , I will try it with the suggested rum next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
meggamoma August 16, 2009

I made this last weekend for a caribbean themed wedding reception I catered. I used butterscotch pudding instead of the vanilla and used a heavily spice rum. We put créme anglaise and raspberries on each slice and got raves from the guests. This is a wonderful recipe!! So moist and yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swtptto July 07, 2009

Made this for family dinner at Thanksgiving. everyone loved this.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krazynthekitchen July 07, 2009

This is excellent. I made it using banana pudding and flavored the cake with banana flavoring. Used real Tortuga Banana Rum (you can purchase all the different varieties of real Tortuga Rum online and have it shipped to you - there are a lot of mainland distributors). Thanks for sharing. It soaked the cake over 3 days and found this worked even better to give it a stonger flavor. Similar to the Irish Christmas cake, that is soaked for weeks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kknebraska June 29, 2009
Almost Tortuga Rum Cake