110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Awesome recipe. I loved that this recipe did not use a cake mix. Made this for Christmas and the cake received rave reviews. Making it again for New Years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starterchef December 26, 2010

This an awesome recipe. Everyone says that it's the best. And I'm having constant requests for more. I'm actually going in to work on my day off to deliver a special rum cake! However the reason for the review is to let you know that Tortuga rum is now available. We just happened upon it in our local liquor store last night. I previously used captain with extra vanilla since it's our favorite, but now we have the authentic rum! I did use it last night for this recipe, but have not tasted it yet. I can definitely say it has a much higher alcohol level. I was burning it off to give a richer flavor & almost blew up the kitchen. LOL ;)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shortishtish December 22, 2010

We just returned from the Bahamas and have the Tortuga cakes we brought back with us. This is better than the original. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan in Raleigh, NC December 16, 2010

O M DOUBLE G!!!!!! I made this cake lastnight for my daughter to bring to her office to pass out for the holidays. I didn't wait until the next day to try it and I'm glad I didn't. This was the moistest, most delectable Rum cake I've ever had. I am definitely making this recipe again. I didn't find the Whaler's Vanilla Rum but substituted another brand of Vanilla Rum and it came out wonderfully delish!!! Thank you so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChamoritaMomma December 01, 2010

WOW! Made this last night, had doubts because all the recipes I've used the past few months lay claim to the "best". I tasted a piece this morning, after letting it sit all night and it was fantastic. I used apricot brandy instead of the rum and bought in 5 pieces to work this morning. Needless to say, I now have Thanksgiving orders for 4 cakes. THANK YOU THANK YOU for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tammyb63 November 19, 2010

Excellent Rum Cake. I could maybe do with a bit more of the glaze as it doesn't seem to ever soak through to the top of the cake but it is amazing none-the-less. I highly recommend it to anyone.
I ran out of eggs so I had to substitute half of them with egg beaters but it worked great and tasted soooo good. It was hard to keep from eating the whole thing before bringing it to the party I was attending!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HocoRuco September 17, 2010

This is one of the best cakes I have ever made or eaten. It is fun to make and is terribly good. I have made it several times and will make it again. It is better than the Tortuga Rum Cake that I bought in the Cayman's.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Can Burn Water May 27, 2010

Way better than tortuga rum cake!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alisonpaige March 20, 2010

This recipe is fabulous. It is even better than the Tortuga because it is bigger and made from scratch. When I make this, it disappears quickly and everybody asks when the next one is being made. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
march_5_94 December 31, 2009
Almost Tortuga Rum Cake