Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Tortuga Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2008

      This cake is amazing. I have made over 25 of them this past year and each one is enjoyed to the last crumb. I do suggest using a silicone bundt pan for easier removal of the sticky cake. I let it cool for 3 hours before trying to remove and if I see some sticking to the sides I use a spoon to run between the cake and the pan.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2008

      Wow! This cake is amazing! Very simple to do. The result is a very moist cake with just the right amount of rum. I used Captain Morgan's Parrot Bay coconut rum and the coconut flavor worked out really well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2008

      This cake is delicious! Everyone I've made it for has loved it. For those English readers who cannot get the vanilla instant pudding mix, I used Morrisons vanilla angel delight packet mix and it worked really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2008

      Sooooooooooooooo Good! My Father-in-Law won't stop bugging me to make him one, because my husband can't spare a single crumb to share. This will a tradition in our family for sure. Thanks!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      An FYI... I found TORTUGA RUM in my local RALPH'S grocery store! (Kroger chain). It was on sale for $17. I had the original Tortuga Rum cake that I pick up in Jamaica. YUMMY!! Can't wait to try this recipe out!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2008

      OH MY GOODNESS!!! This cake is amazing. I always loved the original Tortuga Rum Cake and had to try to find a copycat recipe. I think this actually taste better than what you can buy. I followed the recipe exactly. It is just the right amount of rum, and the cake is so moist and deleicate. I am sure this is not going to last long in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      I baked this rum cake a few days ago and cut it today. Ah it was just awesome. Not too sweet, moist and just the right amount of rum. I couldn't find the Whalers Vanilla rum so I substituted with Myers Dark rum. It was just perfect everyone enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2008

      What a fantastic cake! I didn't have anything to compare it to since I have never had the original - but I don't think that matters. The entire cake was gone in three days! I had to use cruzan vanilla rum (that was hard enough to find) and had nothing but compliments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      WOW! This is the first time I've ever had a rum cake. This one is sure to impress anyone! Very easy to make and the cake came out so moist and flavorful. I made this cake with Captain Morgan Spiced Rum, instead of the Hawaiian Style in the recipe. Will make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      LOVE THIS RECIPE! Thank you for posting. Since finding this recipe, i've been making this cake just about every weekend. I've also gotten a request to make 4 of these for a party. This cake tastes amazing. I'm glad I finally found a recipe that wasn't made from a yellow cake mix.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

      I've made this several times now, and it is delicious - better than Tortuga Rum Cake (Maybe its real the butter that makes it soooo good.) I normally make it with Bacardi rum, and it comes out great with wonderful rum flavor, but I don't recommend the "Whaler Vanille" that the recipe calls for as it is extremely sweet and the cake comes out way too sweet. I use only 1/4 c butter in the glaze. I also use a combo of sugar and cornstarch and vanilla in place of the vanilla pudding mix (a copycat pudding mix recipe.) It was nice to find a rum cake recipe that didn't use a box of yellow cake mix. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Just when you thought it couldn't get any better... I just tried this same recipe, but used Kahlua instead of the rum... Oh My God!!!! Delicious! I'm anxious to try new combinations such as Amaretto, Frangelico and more. This is the best rum cake ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      I made this dessert for Thanksgiving and it was the hit of the party. This cake had so much rum flavor and it was so moist. My sister in law said it should be called better than Tortuga Rum cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      I have made this twice in the last two months using Cruzan Vanilla Rum. It is SSSOOOO good and tastes just like the Tortuga Rum Cake! And it tastes even better the next day!!! My family loved it so much, they want me to make it again for the holidays. I don't know if I can wait that long because I want some right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2007

      This is the first rum cake recipe I've tried that even comes close to the original. My mother demands it on all special occasions now, reminds us of time on the islands!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      THIS has been added to my cookbook! What a fabulous recipe for a rum girl like me! I brought it to a picnic and all I brought home was a plate. Last time I do that! Thank you SO much for sharing! LA :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2007

      This is the best rum cake I have ever had!! Even my friends who claim to hate rum cake, love it. I use cruzan vanilla rum most of the time and it turns out great. We go on vacation every year to the caribbean and I won't buy the Tortuga rum cake anymore. This is much better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2007

      This cake baked up very, very pretty. HOWEVER...hubby couldn't wait and ran into the kitchen to slice him off a piece of it straight from the oven before it had time to cool, and he grimaced - made an awful face. I believe the hot rum syrup was still seeping through the cake, and it was very, very pungent. Not a good thing, if you are not a rum-drinker... At any rate, by the next morning, the hard kick of the rum had finally combined with the sugar to give it a fantastic taste, and the syrup - after having ample time to saturate the cake - made for a very moist texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      Pretty good rum cake. I used a long thin knife to poke holes all the way through the cake so that the glaze soaks through it more thoroughly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      absolutely perfect copy of Tortuga Rum Cake. Best online recipe I have ever tried.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 298
    47%
    Total Fat 33.2 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 104.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 598.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 49.5 g
    198%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites