110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Five stars are not enough. It deserves ten. I used Haitian rum and pecans. Made it exactly as told.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie M Johnson May 05, 2012

We have a timeshare on Cayman Island. We go to the Tortuga Rum Factory often for lunch. As a part of their combo you get a piece of rum cake. This was so close. I used Tortuga Banana Rum in the cake and plain rum for the syrup. A very moist cake! I made it for Super Bowl Sunday and it was definately a hit!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cheesehead February 05, 2012

This cake is soooo yummy. just make it and eat it. you will love it. In the Minneapolis area, Surdyks Liquor carries Tortuga Rum. It is worth the trip to go get some, it is a nice sweet warm rum...

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridgetsuz January 31, 2012

If there was a 10 star rating on this site, that's what I would give it. I did the exact same thing
as Heart N Soul did, every time we go to the caribbean, I get one of the Tortuga Rum Cakes, and like her I thought it was the best cake ever. I also looked at ordering the cakes on line, but it is extremely expensive, so I had a brain wave and decided to look on this site for TORTUGA RUM CAKE, and low and behold there it was. Thank you so much for this recipe, it is the best. I have to go, just took my rum cake out of the oven and have to bathe it in that delicious Rum Syrup. MMMMMMM. I don't care how many calories it is.
Hear N Soul, you have made this girl a very happy woman. Now I don't have to wait to go to
the Islands to get my favorite cake.
Shauna Simoneau

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
shaunasimoneau January 23, 2012

I did it!

My co-worker brought in the Tortuga cake to work on Friday... she said it is the world's best rum cake ever....I said there must be a recipe somewhere online for it as I refuse to eat store bought stuff and always prefer homecooked. soooo I stumbled opon this site.... thank you thank you thank you for this lovely recipe.... I made my very first rum cake... it's cooling now... and my co-worker will be the first one to try it tomorrow at work... I'm excited to hear her opinion....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ajja007 January 16, 2012

Terrific, tender cake. I subbed a commercial cake mix for the first part of the recipe and was out of pudding mix, so subbed cornstarch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Molly53 December 04, 2011

This cake is just wonderful. All I can say is WOW!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
messler8 September 05, 2011

This cake is amazing!!! It really is better the next day, if you can make it that far. We almost ate the whole thing in one sitting. The harshness of the rum subsides and the cake is more uniformly soaked the next day. Best to make it the night before serving. I actually put mine back in the oven after glazing to make it even crunchier on the outside, and it helped firm it up a bit more. Delicious. I think this batter would make an UNBELIEVABLE pineapple upside down cake. That'll be my next try.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TLexx June 05, 2011

The best Rum Cake ever!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camygael May 05, 2011

One of the best cake's I've made. Really loved this cake. I used pecans instead of walnuts. It was fantastic. I can see that if you don't like the raw character of the rum, you might want to cook the rum like some suggest, but I thought it was great; like dessert and an after dinner drink all in one! Thanks for the great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rebecca_wiggins@hotmail.com April 03, 2011
Almost Tortuga Rum Cake