Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Tortuga Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    110 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 110

    Sort by:

    • on June 24, 2009

      I have made this several times and it is always fabulous. One note, the intensity of the rum flavor may vary, depending on when in the rum soaking glaze process you add the rum. If you add while still heating, the flavor will be more subtle. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Can I give this recipe 6 stars?! I had Tortuga Rum 151 proof to use up and searched for a recipe. This was such a big hit with many of my family & friends. I must of left it cool a little too long as I was trying to be cautious about the "delicate" comment. So, I just returned it to the oven for a very short warmup and it popped out perfectly. This will be one of my regular recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2009

      Such an awesome cake. My BIL made it this past weekend. We have had the original Tortuga rum cake twice now in the carribean and this is just as good, better because now I can have it anytime! Excellent, moist cake. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2009

      I love rum cake. Though I've never had one that wasn't too strong. This one was PERFECT! I've made it 3 times already. I did cut the rum back to 1/3 cup in the glaze. I have one baking in the oven right now!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      WOW this was GREAT! I've made the other popular recipe on here with cake mix but liked this much better. I did 3/4 c of each chopped walnuts and pecans, most on the bottom, then half the batter, then more nuts on the sides (as much as they would stick) then filled the pan. After baking, DH poked holes in the cake with skewers and poured the glaze and let it rest, still in the pan, overnight with foil on top. By the next day it was plenty moist! Oh and I used Malibu (coconut) rum. YUM! Highly recommend with coffee!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2009

      This is the richest cake I've ever eaten, including cheese cakes! It was delicious. We're not going to be able to eat it all before it goes off so we're going to have to freeze some. I don't know how well it will thaw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      According to the www.tortugarumcake.com website, Tortuga rum is available in the U.S. I tried this recipe for the Super Bowl party and it was such a big hit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      I can only imagine how this cake will taste with Tortuga Rum. I made with regular rum that I have and it was to die for. My family ate half the cake after dinner and there are only 3 of us. Thank you so much for such a wonderful wonderful recipe. It is in my keeper file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

    • on November 22, 2008

      This cake not only tastes great, it also smells SOOOO good. I don't particularly care for rum,but this cake is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I had never had rum cake before, but this recipe got such great reviews I thought I would give it a try. It was addicting, and I'm not even big on alcohol. Next time I might try cutting the rum a little and subbing with rum flavoring. When I made the glaze I didn't read the directions and dumped everything in together, but it didn't seem to matter. The cake looked like it wasn't going to come out of the pan, but a quick swipe around the pan with a tiny knife and it came out like a dream. It does taste better the next day after a good 'soak' but I can tell you it is still moist and delicious the same day as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      I just got back from a trip to the islands... and while I was there I ate 6 mini rum cakes! I loved them so much... I wanted to find a recipe that was close for when I got home... I made this one the night I got back... (I could not wait) and it is AWESOME! I used a food processor to mix the cake mix part.. and it was a lot easier... I also use malabu coconut rum and it came out GREAT!!! I am thrilled with the results my only concern was that it was tricky to get it out of the pan after cooling... but even if the top is not esthetically perfect.. the taste is spot on! I am usually the type that will try many different recipes until I find the one I like... my search is over on the first try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2008

      Fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2008

      Three words...A-MAZ-ING! I've made several rum cakes since getting the recipe. Everyone who has ever eaten it tells me how delicious it is. I make it with Malibu Rum and banana pudding and pecans. I keep saying I'm going to try other combinations (Captain Morgan and vanilla pudding), but this tastes so good already. I always let the cake sit overnight in the pan (as I usually make it in the evenings). I plan on giving these as Christmas gifts this year. I also plan on getting mini-bundt cake pans to use when taking this to a potluck (people tend to grab cupcakes and cookies over slicing a piece of cake). This recipe is a permanent staple in my collection. Thank you so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2008

      Chef Chill had prepared this awesome cake before we arrived in TN to enjoy a vacation at her home. The cake seemed to get better tasting each day. I will assume she followed the directions and ingredients as posted. I plan to try this in my home soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Absolutely delish. The cake just keeps getting better and better each day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2008

      This cake is amazing! I followed the recipe exactly, although I couldn't find tortuga rum. In my search for a suitable replacement I found Rhum Barbancourt from Haiti aged 15 years, a wonderful rum. My only complaint with the cake is that despite liberal greasing of the bundt pan (using butter), some of the top of the cake stuck in the pan when I turned it out onto the plate. I'll try greasing and flouring next time and maybe not leaving it in the pan so long (I left it in there to cool overnight) and see if that works better. So the cake wasn't quite as pretty as I'd hoped, but once I tried it I didn't care what it looked like!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2008

      This is a very good cake. Some of my customers love it and the others think it's too much alcohol. Must use a very good rum and I think it would hold up well with a nice amaretto glaze I will try that nest time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2008

      I have a bottle of real Tortuga rum but I decided to keep it and test this out with the Whaler's first. I could only find coconut Whaler's so I used that and the cake turned out so moist and delicious. I will definitely make this one again. It was super easy to make and almost as good as the real thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2008

      Incredible recipe! My favorite this year! Thank you! Was an absolute hit with my family! Making it next week again for a friends birthday!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 298
    47%
    Total Fat 33.2 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 104.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 598.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 49.5 g
    198%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes