Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Tortuga Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2010

      This an awesome recipe. Everyone says that it's the best. And I'm having constant requests for more. I'm actually going in to work on my day off to deliver a special rum cake! However the reason for the review is to let you know that Tortuga rum is now available. We just happened upon it in our local liquor store last night. I previously used captain with extra vanilla since it's our favorite, but now we have the authentic rum! I did use it last night for this recipe, but have not tasted it yet. I can definitely say it has a much higher alcohol level. I was burning it off to give a richer flavor & almost blew up the kitchen. LOL ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      We just returned from the Bahamas and have the Tortuga cakes we brought back with us. This is better than the original. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2010

      O M DOUBLE G!!!!!! I made this cake lastnight for my daughter to bring to her office to pass out for the holidays. I didn't wait until the next day to try it and I'm glad I didn't. This was the moistest, most delectable Rum cake I've ever had. I am definitely making this recipe again. I didn't find the Whaler's Vanilla Rum but substituted another brand of Vanilla Rum and it came out wonderfully delish!!! Thank you so much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2010

      WOW! Made this last night, had doubts because all the recipes I've used the past few months lay claim to the "best". I tasted a piece this morning, after letting it sit all night and it was fantastic. I used apricot brandy instead of the rum and bought in 5 pieces to work this morning. Needless to say, I now have Thanksgiving orders for 4 cakes. THANK YOU THANK YOU for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2010

      Excellent Rum Cake. I could maybe do with a bit more of the glaze as it doesn't seem to ever soak through to the top of the cake but it is amazing none-the-less. I highly recommend it to anyone.
      I ran out of eggs so I had to substitute half of them with egg beaters but it worked great and tasted soooo good. It was hard to keep from eating the whole thing before bringing it to the party I was attending!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2010

      This is one of the best cakes I have ever made or eaten. It is fun to make and is terribly good. I have made it several times and will make it again. It is better than the Tortuga Rum Cake that I bought in the Cayman's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2010

    • on March 20, 2010

      Way better than tortuga rum cake!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2009

      This recipe is fabulous. It is even better than the Tortuga because it is bigger and made from scratch. When I make this, it disappears quickly and everybody asks when the next one is being made. Thanks for an excellent recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      This is a great recipe! Definitely the next best thing to a Tortuga rum cake. I don't think you could get any closer! It is always a hit and everyone loves it! Easy too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      This was a huge hit at a birthday party last night. I used yellow cake mix instead of the basic cake mix and I used Capt Morgan Private Stock Rum because that is what I had. It came out beautifully. Will be making this often!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2009

      We have a Caribbean themed holiday party at work every year. I decided to try this recipe and it made a big hit. It may be the best cake I have ever made - Thanks for making me look good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2009

      OHHHH YUM! I followed the recipe except that I used Bacardi Gold rum since that was what I had on hand. Used 1/2 cup for the cake and about 1/3 cup for the glaze. I made it the day before and stored it in the fridge. Oh man, this is so good. It got rave reviews from my friends as well. Served it with some freshly whipped cream. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I WILL make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2009

      Delicious!! I have always ordered the Tortuga Rum Cake as a tradition at Christmas, but this definitely comes more than close and saves $$. Making this cake will now be the tradition!Outstanding!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2009

      Tastes just like the Grand Cayman Toruga rum cakes

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      This is one of the best rum cakes I have ever made. My family could not wait to dig in so the rum syrup had only soaked for a few hors before they started to eat it. I only had Bacardi Rum on hand but that worked just fine , I will try it with the suggested rum next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      I made this last weekend for a caribbean themed wedding reception I catered. I used butterscotch pudding instead of the vanilla and used a heavily spice rum. We put créme anglaise and raspberries on each slice and got raves from the guests. This is a wonderful recipe!! So moist and yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      Made this for family dinner at Thanksgiving. everyone loved this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2009

      This is excellent. I made it using banana pudding and flavored the cake with banana flavoring. Used real Tortuga Banana Rum (you can purchase all the different varieties of real Tortuga Rum online and have it shipped to you - there are a lot of mainland distributors). Thanks for sharing. It soaked the cake over 3 days and found this worked even better to give it a stonger flavor. Similar to the Irish Christmas cake, that is soaked for weeks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2009

      I have made this several times and it is always fabulous. One note, the intensity of the rum flavor may vary, depending on when in the rum soaking glaze process you add the rum. If you add while still heating, the flavor will be more subtle. Thanks for an awesome recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 298
    47%
    Total Fat 33.2 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 104.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 598.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 49.5 g
    198%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites