110 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I omitted the nuts and opted for coconut instead (I added 1/2 cup of processed sweetened flaked coconut to the batter). I also brushed the cooled imbibed cake with a little more simple syrup and pressed some toasted flaked coconut over the cake to finish. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lynn in MA May 15, 2014

Excellent results with this recipe. I use two 6-cup bundt pans when I make it.<br/><br/>I have substituted the rum out for amaretto and added 1/2 to 3/4 cup of chopped maraschino cherries and replaced the nuts with sliced almonds for a New Year party. Everyone loved both types.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brian Campbell 196604 February 22, 2014

i read the reviews and when i made it i put the rum in the glaze while cooking the sugar and butter. happened to notice one of the ingredients is pudding. stopped at the store and read the ingredients and they are mostly corn starch. i make a pudding for something else read the recipe and everything is in the cake but corn starch. so i added 2 table spoons full instead of the pudding that has artificial flavorings and color. not a yellow but taste wonderful. better than the original, it taste like the one i had in the Caymans many years ago. no preservatives and hadn?t sat on a shelf for weeks. love this cake. i will never buy that one again!!!!!!! mine was so much better

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonfly3333 January 18, 2014

I love that this doesn't use cake mix. It's still easy to make, and super tasty. Very moist and yummy. The flavor is out of this world.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Halima Dances December 12, 2013

I just got back from Barbados and wanted to make a good rum cake and this recipe is incredible! I'm taking a large cake into work tomorrow so everyone can get a taste of Barbados. The rum glaze is beautiful and I don't think I've ever made a cake so light and soft before!<br/><br/>In the UK it's quite hard to get cake flour so I substituted it for 1 & 1/4 plain flour and 3/4 cornflour as advised by a friend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Bax December 10, 2013

I found this recipe a few years ago when a very good friend of mine asked me to make her a rum cake for her birthday. It has since become a tradition. This recipe is a lot smoother than a traditional rum cake as the rum doesn't smack you in the face. The taste reminds me of the Lifesavers Butter Rum candies that I grew up on. You will not regret adding this to your collection of special occasion treats. This cake continues to be requested by friends and co-workers regularly and is fairly simple to make. If you are concerned with the rum being a little too strong, heat the syrup with the rum rather than adding it in at the end. This cake will become super moist, to the point of falling apart after it has sat for 24 hrs or so.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
msjulabee_13004045 November 25, 2013

I've sold several of the large bundt cakes for groom's cakes. One had to travel over 3 days before the wedding and it was STILL fabulous with not one crumb left. A German restaurant outside of Santa Fe used to make this recipe and it took me 4 years of experimenting before I found this one and now it's my go to cake. I've never had anyone NOT like it and usually it doesn't last until the next day. Thank you so much! I'm making several for two fund raisers here in November and December. Oh, and folks, trust me, you DON'T want to ever use Malibu rum ..... just sayin'!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
saundrini5 November 13, 2013

Will use again. Tastes just like the rum cakes from st croix. Love it! Adding it to my list of great cake recipes! I don't like a string rum taste. I didn't use all the glaze but I used most of it. Somewhere between 1/2-3/4 of it. When u put the glaze on it, give it time to soak and then give it more time to meld together. Taste is wonderful.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChenziraStyles July 14, 2013

I made this cake for my husband who loves rum cake, especially Tortuga Rum Cake. I hadn't had rum cake before this one believe it or not. But this was amaaazing! He loved it! He asked if we could give it a 50,000 star review lol. I used coconut rum, because I couldn't find vanilla rum. Everything else was exactly as the recipe indicated. We each had 2 slices! Delish!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SLMadhere November 21, 2012

I wish I could give this 10 stars! We fell in love with Tortuga rum cake when we stopped in Grand Cayman during our honeymoon cruise. 6 years later, I FINALLY decided to try this recipe. It is to die for! So moist and delicious! My husband ordered a Tortuga cake for comparison's sake. We haven't tried that one yet, but I can tell you that the one this recipe makes is bigger than the standard Tortuga version. So good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
veggiegirl November 14, 2012
Almost Tortuga Rum Cake