117 Reviews

I've used this recipe about half a dozen times in the past 4 years to make this rum cake. I ALWAYS get rave reviews when I make it. The first time was at a cookout and everyone there was hesitant to try it at first, I think they tried it to be nice. That was until they actually ate it. I had 5 people request the recipe and one who invited me over the next weekend to make it with her. I took it to work for a Christmas party and it was gone in 20 minutes. This is by far the best recipe out there for this rum cake, and it tastes as good, if not better, then the original. Thank you again, I'm about to make another one tomorrow!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starmushrooms April 09, 2011

I created a Pina Colada variation of this recipe by substituting coconut oil for the vegtable oil and using Pina Colada mixer with powdered buttermilk instead of plain milk. In the glaze I substituted the Pina Colada mixer for the water and cut back the sugar by 1/3 cup. Everyone loved it! It was so fabulous it brought tears to the eyes!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carahighsmith July 22, 2007

i read the reviews and when i made it i put the rum in the glaze while cooking the sugar and butter. happened to notice one of the ingredients is pudding. stopped at the store and read the ingredients and they are mostly corn starch. i make a pudding for something else read the recipe and everything is in the cake but corn starch. so i added 2 table spoons full instead of the pudding that has artificial flavorings and color. not a yellow but taste wonderful. better than the original, it taste like the one i had in the Caymans many years ago. no preservatives and hadn?t sat on a shelf for weeks. love this cake. i will never buy that one again!!!!!!! mine was so much better

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dragonfly3333 January 18, 2014

I am not a chef by any means but love to cook for friends and family. I had this cake page bookmarked for the last 6 months waiting for our yearly Fire Department cake sale. The cake sale is a once a year event where funds are raised to purchase equipment for our volunteer fire fighters. Anyway, Deb was not sure that I should try a new recipe and sell it to someone until we tried it ourselves. I made this cake Thursday night which we enjoyed with family/friends on Friday night I made another which was auctioned off Saturday night at the fire station. Everyone who we shared our cake with LOVED IT ! If you follow the directions, you can't miss! The cake sold for 250.00!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ButchV12 February 28, 2011

This has got to be the BEST recipe here. I've made this cake a few times and have received nothing by raves. The only change I made was I did not use cake flour; instead, I used 1 3/4c AP flour and 1/4c corn starch.

INCREDIBLE!!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikki999 February 17, 2011

22 Minutes...that's how long it took for this to disappear. I used Myer's Rum as well, and mixed 1/2 cup finely ground walnuts into the cake itself...otherwise, I made it as directed...they loved it. Wonderful recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GardenWitch January 31, 2010

I never leave revies, but this cake was soooooooo good that I registered just so I could say Thank You for the awsome receipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cuttietx January 12, 2010

Try it once and you will be hooked! No other rum cake recipe can come close to this one. I made my first cake three days ago and it dissapeared so quick that I had to make another one today so I could share it with more of my friends. I want to try this recipe with different liquors and pudding mixes. Thank you kindly for this over the top recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunny Day January 12, 2010

Oddly, this is nearly identical to my own run cake recipe(which I've not posted due to my belief that it is just my secret) and thus will rate it as if it were(just because I want to). I use Jamaican or Nicaraguan rums and also the cooked type of pudding rather than instant. I recommend playing with the flavor by adding cocoa to the cake or using different flavors of pudding mix.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Big John April 07, 2009

Just like Chef Bay, I cooked the rum with the rest of the glaze ingredients.. I did use Malibu with Coconut Liqueur and it turned out amazing! I poked a few holes in the cake and did a very slow soak, it took me about two hours to soak it but it was well worth it - super moist and not soggy. I also, let it sit overnight in a tight container once it was completely cooled, and it was then refrigerated for one more night, I did then let it come to room temperature and it was just delicious. Great make ahead recipe, strongly recommend.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
essiej3 June 22, 2016
Almost Tortuga Rum Cake