Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Tortuga Rum Cake Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on February 22, 2014

      Excellent results with this recipe. I use two 6-cup bundt pans when I make it.<br/><br/>I have substituted the rum out for amaretto and added 1/2 to 3/4 cup of chopped maraschino cherries and replaced the nuts with sliced almonds for a New Year party. Everyone loved both types.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2014

      i read the reviews and when i made it i put the rum in the glaze while cooking the sugar and butter. happened to notice one of the ingredients is pudding. stopped at the store and read the ingredients and they are mostly corn starch. i make a pudding for something else read the recipe and everything is in the cake but corn starch. so i added 2 table spoons full instead of the pudding that has artificial flavorings and color. not a yellow but taste wonderful. better than the original, it taste like the one i had in the Caymans many years ago. no preservatives and hadn?t sat on a shelf for weeks. love this cake. i will never buy that one again!!!!!!! mine was so much better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2013

      I love that this doesn't use cake mix. It's still easy to make, and super tasty. Very moist and yummy. The flavor is out of this world.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      I just got back from Barbados and wanted to make a good rum cake and this recipe is incredible! I'm taking a large cake into work tomorrow so everyone can get a taste of Barbados. The rum glaze is beautiful and I don't think I've ever made a cake so light and soft before!<br/><br/>In the UK it's quite hard to get cake flour so I substituted it for 1 & 1/4 plain flour and 3/4 cornflour as advised by a friend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      I found this recipe a few years ago when a very good friend of mine asked me to make her a rum cake for her birthday. It has since become a tradition. This recipe is a lot smoother than a traditional rum cake as the rum doesn't smack you in the face. The taste reminds me of the Lifesavers Butter Rum candies that I grew up on. You will not regret adding this to your collection of special occasion treats. This cake continues to be requested by friends and co-workers regularly and is fairly simple to make. If you are concerned with the rum being a little too strong, heat the syrup with the rum rather than adding it in at the end. This cake will become super moist, to the point of falling apart after it has sat for 24 hrs or so.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2013

      I've sold several of the large bundt cakes for groom's cakes. One had to travel over 3 days before the wedding and it was STILL fabulous with not one crumb left. A German restaurant outside of Santa Fe used to make this recipe and it took me 4 years of experimenting before I found this one and now it's my go to cake. I've never had anyone NOT like it and usually it doesn't last until the next day. Thank you so much! I'm making several for two fund raisers here in November and December. Oh, and folks, trust me, you DON'T want to ever use Malibu rum ..... just sayin'!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2013

      Will use again. Tastes just like the rum cakes from st croix. Love it! Adding it to my list of great cake recipes! I don't like a string rum taste. I didn't use all the glaze but I used most of it. Somewhere between 1/2-3/4 of it. When u put the glaze on it, give it time to soak and then give it more time to meld together. Taste is wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      I made this cake for my husband who loves rum cake, especially Tortuga Rum Cake. I hadn't had rum cake before this one believe it or not. But this was amaaazing! He loved it! He asked if we could give it a 50,000 star review lol. I used coconut rum, because I couldn't find vanilla rum. Everything else was exactly as the recipe indicated. We each had 2 slices! Delish!! Thank you for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2012

      I wish I could give this 10 stars! We fell in love with Tortuga rum cake when we stopped in Grand Cayman during our honeymoon cruise. 6 years later, I FINALLY decided to try this recipe. It is to die for! So moist and delicious! My husband ordered a Tortuga cake for comparison's sake. We haven't tried that one yet, but I can tell you that the one this recipe makes is bigger than the standard Tortuga version. So good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2012

      Five stars are not enough. It deserves ten. I used Haitian rum and pecans. Made it exactly as told.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2012

      We have a timeshare on Cayman Island. We go to the Tortuga Rum Factory often for lunch. As a part of their combo you get a piece of rum cake. This was so close. I used Tortuga Banana Rum in the cake and plain rum for the syrup. A very moist cake! I made it for Super Bowl Sunday and it was definately a hit!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2012

      This cake is soooo yummy. just make it and eat it. you will love it. In the Minneapolis area, Surdyks Liquor carries Tortuga Rum. It is worth the trip to go get some, it is a nice sweet warm rum...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      If there was a 10 star rating on this site, that's what I would give it. I did the exact same thing
      as Heart N Soul did, every time we go to the caribbean, I get one of the Tortuga Rum Cakes, and like her I thought it was the best cake ever. I also looked at ordering the cakes on line, but it is extremely expensive, so I had a brain wave and decided to look on this site for TORTUGA RUM CAKE, and low and behold there it was. Thank you so much for this recipe, it is the best. I have to go, just took my rum cake out of the oven and have to bathe it in that delicious Rum Syrup. MMMMMMM. I don't care how many calories it is.
      Hear N Soul, you have made this girl a very happy woman. Now I don't have to wait to go to
      the Islands to get my favorite cake.
      Shauna Simoneau

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2012

      I did it!

      My co-worker brought in the Tortuga cake to work on Friday... she said it is the world's best rum cake ever....I said there must be a recipe somewhere online for it as I refuse to eat store bought stuff and always prefer homecooked. soooo I stumbled opon this site.... thank you thank you thank you for this lovely recipe.... I made my very first rum cake... it's cooling now... and my co-worker will be the first one to try it tomorrow at work... I'm excited to hear her opinion....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Terrific, tender cake. I subbed a commercial cake mix for the first part of the recipe and was out of pudding mix, so subbed cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2011

      This cake is just wonderful. All I can say is WOW!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2011

      This cake is amazing!!! It really is better the next day, if you can make it that far. We almost ate the whole thing in one sitting. The harshness of the rum subsides and the cake is more uniformly soaked the next day. Best to make it the night before serving. I actually put mine back in the oven after glazing to make it even crunchier on the outside, and it helped firm it up a bit more. Delicious. I think this batter would make an UNBELIEVABLE pineapple upside down cake. That'll be my next try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2011

      The best Rum Cake ever!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2011

      One of the best cake's I've made. Really loved this cake. I used pecans instead of walnuts. It was fantastic. I can see that if you don't like the raw character of the rum, you might want to cook the rum like some suggest, but I thought it was great; like dessert and an after dinner drink all in one! Thanks for the great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

      Awesome recipe. I loved that this recipe did not use a cake mix. Made this for Christmas and the cake received rave reviews. Making it again for New Years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Tortuga Rum Cake

    Serving Size: 1 (162 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 628.4
     
    Calories from Fat 298
    47%
    Total Fat 33.2 g
    51%
    Saturated Fat 12.4 g
    62%
    Cholesterol 104.0 mg
    34%
    Sodium 598.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 68.8 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    2%
    Sugars 49.5 g
    198%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites