111 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Delicious cake however, I found that we liked the glaze better with the rum cooked WITH the butter, water and sugar rather than adding it at the end. It gave the syrup a wonderful flavor. Adding the rum at the end just tasted too....raw. Thank you!

13 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef bay May 27, 2010

AMAZING! I get rave reviews from everyone who tastes it and it is soooo easy! Easy way to look like a PRO! I use a yellow or butter cake mix instead of the basic and you can interchage the puddings. Pistachio, banana and french vanilla have been awesome. Also, you can make MORE glaze if you like to put on top and bottom. Cake needs to sit overnight if possible. Thank you for this recipe!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katyyy October 19, 2010

Made this for Christmas with good family reviews. I also tryed a individual 6 count, small bundt pan for smaller cakes. The recipe makes about 14 smaller bundt cakes if using the 6 count, small bundt pans. The kicker here the smaller cakes are terrific for individual gifts and are absolutly fantastic with hot coffee.

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wildlife Hooker January 15, 2010

I never liked rum cake because it usually tastes like someone just poured an entire bottle of booze over it. This one is different. It tastes heavenly! I substituted Cruzan Vanilla Rum, Banana Cream pudding mix and pecans instead of what's called for. EVERYONE will be asking for this recipe. Make it for Thanksgiving and enjoy the compliments.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Elpie May 25, 2011

I have made it several times with Rum at home... I personally love mixing 1/2 Meyers rum and 1/2 light rum with a tsp of vanilla bean paste. IT IS BY FAR THE BEST CAKE I HAVE EVER EATEN!!!!! People LOVE this cake, never a crumb left! I will have to try the whalers Rum next time! A great recipe Trust me folks you can't go wrong with this one!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mooses mom April 25, 2011

I made this cake for christmas it was great. I did not have vanilla rum, but i had captain morgan spice rum and meyers rumas well as some vanilla beans. I took the vaniila beans and the spiced rum soak them for two days used that instead and took a tablespoon of the meyers rum soak in vanilla beans and used that as well it was excellent.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lelalo April 18, 2011

This cake is the best cake I have ever cooked or tasted for that matter. My family always begs me to cook this when we all get together for the holidays. I will sometimes change the flavor of the pudding mix to slighly change the taste of the cake, for instance, I have used a chocolate pudding mix and even a key lime pudding mix instead of the vanilla flavored pudding mix, YUMMY!!!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DancehallQueen September 06, 2010

Thank you for this recipe. I, too, have fallen in love with the Tortuga Rum Cakes ever since a relative of mine brought back some from her trip to the Cayman Islands. This recipe is spot on. I didn't change a thing. Except that I was lucky enough to locate some REAL Tortuga Banana Rum at Bevmo so I made a Tortuga Banana Rum Cake. It was delicious. Everyone said it tasted like the real thing. Thank you thank you for this wonderful recipe. God bless:-)

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jmillan January 19, 2010

Very nice! I used Cake Flour Substitute as a substitute for Cake Flour, I also used Trader Vic rum. I added Macadamia Nuts instead of walnuts, and I added some shredded coconut flakes into the batter. After all that, I topped it with french vanilla pudding. It was still delicious! Thank you for posting!!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HawaiiChef79 March 18, 2009

I think this might be the best cake I've ever made! Initially seeing the 3 parts of the recipe looked complicated but it was really easy. I didn't have cake flour so I made my own by using 3/4 cup of all purpose flour and 1/4 of corn starch. The only Vanilla rum I found was Cruzan and it worked out well. I sprayed the cake pan with Pam and was afraid the cake wouldn't come out of the pan but it did with a little help and some prayers! Everyone LOVED the cake. Try this recipe, you won't be sorry. Thanks for the recipe.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cooking Criolla October 19, 2008
Almost Tortuga Rum Cake