Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Nutra Grain Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Nutra Grain Bars

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-33 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on October 21, 2007

      I just recently started using this web site and I LOVE it - and these bars were one of the first recepies I tried and they were SUPER! I was looking for lunch ideas and thought these would be nice. I added cherry preserves and also some cream cheese frosting - so good I only had a few left to put in the freezer after everybody munched on them! Thanks Kittencal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2007

      Hmm...sorry if I get a double post, but review isn't showing. I thought these tasted good. I made a batch and threw them in the freezer for quick breakfast/snack. A few comments... I can't imagine someone adding more sugar to sweeten crust and topping. I have a definite sweet tooth and with the preserves in these bars, they were VERY sweet. I can only eat very little at a time..so I would not add the extra sugar before making them as the recipe specifies. Recipe produced a very crumbly bar...possibly needed more binder. Next time as a preference I will add less sugar, less preserves [way too much] and reserve more of the dry mix for the top of the crust. Good taste, but I would say more of a cookie and less of a nutra grain bar. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2007

      The kids really enjoyed this as an afterschool snack. The instructions were easy enough that my 11 yr DD was able to make it with only a little supervision. We only had peach marmalade so made it with that, very good, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      Delicious!! Thanks Kitten! These were easy to make and delicious too as are all your recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      I made these with the following adjustments I made: no brown sugar, I used oil not butter, and omitted the lemon juice. They were very good - my husband prefers them to the store-bought cereal/fruit bars, my kids really enjoyed them. I may use a bit more jam next time than I did this time - I was afraid to use too much so I was very conservative with the 1 1/2 cup. I also plan to use the lemon juice next time, just to see what the taste difference will be. Very easy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2007

      I made these this morning and they were great! The only thing that was bad (and that was my fault) was adding more raspberry preserves than suggested, thinking it would only be better. It turned out to be a little too much. Make sure to spread a thin layer of the preserves. A little goes a long way. Thanks Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2007

      This was SO easy and quick to make and the kids loved it. It's also so much more economical than the boxes of the commercial version. Next time, I will likely cut down on the sugar by a 1/4 cup - I doubt the kids will miss it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2007

      Wonderful bar cookie, made them following directions, then made more adding 1/2 cup each coconut and chopped walnuts and replacing raspberry perserves with apricot perserves.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      I just made these and I'm happy to report they looked just like the picture :-) I used strawberry preserves (didn't mix with water) but I followed the instructions on everything else. Thank you for posting! BTW, thanks for the tip to freeze before cutting- that really, really helped!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2007

      Delicious! I used red raspberry "seedless" jam because someone in the family doesn't like seeds. I will be making these again and trying other flavors of preserves. We loved these. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2007

      These are FAR better than Nutra-Grain Bars! I used red raspberry jam and they are simply delicious! Like Kitten states in her description, the water is not needed with the jam. The next time I try this recipe, I may try adding a little coconut to the batter and may try almond extract in place of the vanilla. I could eat these all day ; ) They are just too good, Kitten! ; )

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2006

      I made these to take to work and just know everyone is going to go crazy. They are sooooo good. I had to break out my mixer to make the dough which did seem a little bit dry. Was tempted to alter a bit as that had me worried, but I didn't and the resulting cookie was just perfect. For the preserves, I used a combination of cherry preseves supplemented with raspberry and plum preserves. A divine combination prompted by necessity. 10/8 Update: Made these again by request. This time I used almond extract in lieu of vanilla and combined peach and raspberry preserves. The dough was a bit softer on this batch -- guessing this was because I used oil instead of butter. Again the cookies were superb.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2005

      This was a fun recipe to whip up! I used Butter flavored cake mix and a mix of raspberry/pear preserves. I didn't wait 'til these cooled and they were soft like a fruit cobbler. Once I refrigerated them they cut wonderfully and had a nice "chew" to them. I really thought the flavor was similar to a Nutra Grain bar.I am going to take some to a bake sale. Thanks a lot Kitten! Roxygirl

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Nutra Grain Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.0
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    22%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 23.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 267.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 40.1 g
    160%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes