Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Nutra Grain Bars Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Nutra Grain Bars

    Average Rating:

    33 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 33

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2009

      These are just wonderful! I made them for my 2 year old that loooves nutragrain bars. I made a few changes to them that suited us better. I also didnt have any cake mix, so I used what a previous reviewer used instead. The flour, baking soda, salt, and sugar. Although I cut the sugar down to 1/2 cup. I also used 3/4 cup ground flax seed instead of the 1/4 cup melted butter. I did use the 2tbsp butter though. These were definitely sweet enough and I will absolutely be making these again instead of buying them. Thank you for the recipe! I have come to adore all of the recipes that you post! :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2014

    • on April 09, 2014

      Tasted yummy with a scoop of ice cream, but I thought it was much sweeter than an Nutrigrain bar and kinda made my teeth hurt ;-) Still I Iiked it well enough that I will give it another go, this time without the added sugar. Thanks for a great easy recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      You did it again Kitten! You have never let me down - not to mention providing me with another fabulous recipe! No more Nutri-Grain bars for this house, I am making them for now on. I did try a sugar-free jam just to see if it made a difference. It was good, but I will stick to the "real" stuff next time. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      WOW! This was great!! The base/topping wons wonderful! I used a 1 lb (18 oz) of strawberry preserves. I think it was a bit much, in the middle the bars didn't hold together as well as I would have liked. My 6 yo didn't care for them but she's finiky and claimed befoe she had them "I don't like jelly". I cut into 'sticks' and wrapped in plastic wrap and put in the fridge for future snacking. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Very good. Used 1 1/2 C strawberry jam made last year, and this was plenty to cover. I don't think extra brown sugar is necessary, the sweetness from the jam staisfies that tooth! These went in a hurry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      I love these bars Kitt! I made this last week with homemade blueberry (sugarfree) spread. Delicious!! I did add a little more cinnamon. I'm thinking these would be great with just about any flavor jam or spread! I know this will be made often in this house!!!! Thank you again for another wonderful treat!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2009

      Thses are wonderful! Used home made apple butter in one & peach preserves in another. They were gone in a flash! Kitten you did it once again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Oh my gosh..Kitten, these bars are the whip. I just love em. I used my home-made strawberry/rhubarb jam for the filling. The taste is sinful that I forget that they're good for you too:-) This recipe reminds me of a cobbler in that a scoop of ice-cream would also go perfectly if you chose to make this as a dessert. Made for ThinkPink!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

      Awesome! These are great. Tastes a lot like a cobbler, but in a handy to-go version. I made a batch and wrapped them individually to store in the freezer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Wow! I made a batch of these today using homemade apple butter. I used a reduced sugar yellow cake mix. I also used a combo of old fashioned oats, quick oats, and a 5 grain blend for a little more texture. I used oil instead of the melted butter as well. They turned out wonderful--much better than any store bought bar. Thanks for a wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Really really good! These bars freeze great and taste nice and crunchy right from the freezer. My whole family loved these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      I made these for a fund raiser and they were great! I used seedless strawberry jelly because I do not like the seeds. They sold like hot cakes! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2008

      These are absolutely delicious. I didn't have a box yellow cake, so subbed the dry ingredients from a yellow cake recipe (2c flour, 2tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp salt, 1 c sugar). I also added an extra tsp of vanilla to the wet ingredients, to make up the missing flavor from the box mix. I also subbed canola oil for the melted butter. Given all my substitutions, I held my breath -- but they came out great! I used a strawberry-rhubarb preserve. I think I might try this next time with some homemade applesauce, cooked down to reduce a little more. I cut these up and wrapped individual bars in wax paper, froze them, and will be adding to lunchboxes. Thanks, Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      Followed the recipe exactly (always try to the first time), I also did heat the preserves, other wise I think it would have been mess to spread. Let them cool completely and they were wonderful. These will be great to have on hand in the freezer. Wrapped up most and did freeze them. So much more healthy that the store bought bars, which is a great plus for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2008

      I was looking for a recipe for nutri grain bars because my two little ones (2 and a half and 8 months) love them. My son still has no teeth so I love the fact that they are soft. The store bought ones have preservatives and are expensive so I was thrilled to find a recipe for making them at home!! The true thrill came when I served these today...YUM, YUM, YUM!! I am stubborn about fat/sugar/calories so I subbed 1/4 cup applesauce for the butter/oil but did use 2TBS. oil as suggested. They are excellent so I don't think anything was sacrificed in the oil ommission. I also nuked the strawberry preserves for 45 seconds prior to adding them, this made it super easy to spread them. These bars are so good forget sharing them with the kids!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2008

      Made these tonight to take hiking tomorrow. I tried them and they were wonderful!! I've been wanting to make them for a LONG time! :) SO GOOD!!! I made mine with strawberry preserves. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2008

      My family loved this. These cut beautifully being semi-frozen, and promptly wrapped these indivuallly in foil to retain their shape.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2008

      Thanks for a great recipe, I am looking for new lunch box fillers for kids and other half and this is perfect.........chris

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      These were a hit even with my substitutions (out of necessity). I ran out of oats and added flax seed and graham cracker crumbs for the oat amount. They were good, but I can't wait to make them again-this time with all oats and maybe a different flavor of preserves. I also wonder if apple pie filling would work in these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Nutra Grain Bars

    Serving Size: 1 (80 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 367.0
     
    Calories from Fat 82
    22%
    Total Fat 9.1 g
    14%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 23.7 mg
    7%
    Sodium 267.8 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.9 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 40.1 g
    160%
    Protein 3.6 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes