Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Marzetti's Slaw Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Marzetti's Slaw Dressing

    Average Rating:

    46 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 46

    Sort by:

    • on May 03, 2010

      Great Dressing. The only change I made was to use powdered sugar. This seems to give it that "Marzetti Texture" that's sort of creamy/smooth. My husband thought it was Marzetti's Slaw Dressing. Came together under 2 minutes, flavor was exactly what I wanted, and there's enough dressing left over for tonights dinner! Thanks for posting! Di ;-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2009

      WOW! I really love this dressing. I used Splenda, added a splash more vinegar and a pinch more celery salt. I'm diabetic and love coleslaw. This sugar-free version is just what the doctor ordered. I bought some thin sliced rye bread today, lean corned beef, sliced white American cheese and plan on a fabulous grilled sandwich with slaw this weekend:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      Terrific and easy! I added sugar to taste, which was roughly 3tbps. I really liked to addition of the celery salt....Chicago would be proud! I will definitely use this from now on!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2014

      This is basically how I make mine, with a tad less sugar. I usually buy the tri-colored cole slaw mix that also has purple cabbage and carrots. I do add a little black pepper and a little celery seed instead of the celery salt. Most packaged mixes consists of long, coarse strands of veggies so I pulse it a couple of times in the food processor before adding the dressing. BBQ, fried seafood, and fried chicken just ain't the same without a good cole slaw!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2014

      This is great! I used Splenda instead of sugar and might reduce the amount next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2013

      I'm surprised I've never rated this. I really love it. Seems to be just the right amount of everything. I like it that the recipe is easily halved and stored for leftovers. I also used it in place of the dressing in Carrot and Raisin Salad With Pineapple and it worked perfectly. ETA- also I always use apple-cider vinegar.Update: Four years later and still using this exclusively. I have been experimenting with reducing the vinegar in my diet since I showed allergy to mold on one test and all fermented foods are cousins to mold. I can't do anything about the vinegar in the mayo but thought I would reduce what I could. To the sugar I added: 1 tsp ascorbic acid (unbuffered vitamin C powder) and 2 tsp powdered mustard. Then mixed in 1/4 cup water before adding the whole thing back into the mayo. Seemed to come out just right. I did taste more of a mayo flavor but I think if I tweaked the ingredients any more, the the flavors would be off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2013

      Really great dressing! Even my 87-year-old Mom likes it and she swore she'd never eat a "creamy" dressing in her life! It does taste like Marzetti's; however, I also used apple cider vinegar, added 1 tsp. black pepper, and used only 1/2 cup of sugar. It's delicious - thanks so much! I used it on bagged slaw veggies so I had twice as much as I needed for that, but I'm sure I'll find a wonderful use for the remaining half!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2013

      I made this last night to go with our fish dinner. I did 1/4 the recipe as I only had half a cabbage. We loved it. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2013

      Nice dressing. I made this to use on Mazetti's Southern Pecan Slaw and found the dressing had similar texture and flavor. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2013

      I used a bag of coleslaw mix. I have never tried Marzetti dressing so I don't have anything to compare it to but we did enjoy this. It does make a lot of dressing and I used it all on one bag. Next time I think I would use two bags.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

      it was a little bit different than Marzetti's in a good way. I prefer this dressing to theirs, it is sweeter and not as "bitey". Will become my standard.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2012

      This was a nice easy dressing that tasted somewhat like Marzetti's. I used bagged coleslaw mix so my salad went together in a snap. Would make again. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2012

      Undissolved sugar =yuk.
      Solution = measure vinegar in glass measuring cup and add sugar. Microwave in 30 second intervals, and stirring in between until dissolved, cool, continue with recipe :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2012

      Good recipe. Very similar to Marzetti. I used another reviewers suggestion to use powdered sugar and it blended in smoothly with the mayonnaise.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2011

      Great - it is very similar to Marzetti's which I always use, but can't get where I am now. I only had Dijon mustard - but that worked well. Maybe I will try spenda next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2010

      This was good even though I couldn't get that much sugar to dissolve. It was pretty sweet tasting. I'll make this again but next time I'll use less sugar and less vinegar. I used the white vinegar as stated but next time I'll try apple cider vinegar like some of the other reviewers did.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      I made this recipe tonight using Miracle Whip and it is absolutely delicious! Exactly what I was looking for!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I try and use splenda whenever possible. This dressing is superb, used it with finely shredded cabbage and broccoli stem mixture. Definately a keeper and thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      I have a chicken salad recipe that I adore and since Marzetti's slaw dressing is an ingrediant, I tend to keep it on hand for just this recipe. Imagine my disappointment when a craving struck and I realized I was out of Marzettis! Luckily I found this recipe and it worked spledidly! Followed exactly except just slightly decreased mustard. Will use this from now on! Thanks so much for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Loved it! Very much like Marzetti's, but I like it better. Will never have to buy slaw dressing again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Marzetti's Slaw Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (703 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 860.1
     
    Calories from Fat 572
    66%
    Total Fat 63.6 g
    97%
    Saturated Fat 9.6 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 67.2 mg
    22%
    Sodium 1667.4 mg
    69%
    Total Carbohydrate 70.3 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 61.4 g
    245%
    Protein 1.6 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites