Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Like Papa John's Pizza Dough Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Like Papa John's Pizza Dough

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 12, 2014

      Pretty good. Got a good crunch on it. I don't like a sweet dough, so I only used 1tbsp of sugar.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2012

      I made this with Papa John's Pizza Sauce (#108447) and was shocked how fast my pizza's got eaten. Normally we only need 2 pizzas and still have leftovers. I doubled the recipe and made 3 large pizza's, they were gone! My mom said it was the first time in a long time pizza didn't give her heart burn. I will definitly make again! I did under cook one since it was on the bottom rack, but it crisped up nice under broil.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2007

      This is a great recipe as long as you modify it some. I add onion powder, garlic powder, generic italian seasoning, oregano, corn meal and Kraft parmesan and romano cheese to the crust prior to baking it. When I pull the bare pizza crust from the oven I rub olive oil on the outer crust and layer lightly with cornmeal and garlic powder. My favourite pizza is pepperoni, bacon and feta cheese with extra sauce.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2014

      Thought it was great, and a lot like PJ's crust. I agree this is too much for one crust, and two little for two. Recommend you follow thee exact directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2013

      This recipe will make a very good pizza crust, but it won't be any thing like Papa Johns. But I'll let you decide whether that is good or bad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2013

      Great dough recipe! I've tried many before and this is the best and its very quick and easy! I wouldn't put the water that high temp to not kill the yeast I go about 110 deg. - 115 deg. Some people below who say they only made one pizza out of this dough probably did that. This makes 2 pizzas for me. I've used this recipe to make calzones and it came out perfect no pre-bake either. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2012

      Excellent! after 15 years of trying,i can now make pizza! such a quick and easy recipe!
      i had no faith in this until i "blind baked" the dough, cant believe how much it "fluffed" up.
      i used a fan assisted electric oven, set at 220 celsius with more than perfect results!
      amazing Thanx!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      Best pizza crust I've made yet! I did accidentally burn one of the pies after cooking it with toppings at 450 for 13 minutes. It was on a lower rack than the other. Next time I might pre-bake at 450 and cook at 400 and check after 10 minutes. I didn't add any spices and everyone loved the crust. Next time I'll try garlic salt and italian seasoning. Thanks so much, I will be using this recipe often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      very good and easy. i was kind of worried because there wasn't really any long periods for the dough to rise. but it turned out very light and moist. good stuff =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2009

      I can't tell you how many pizza dough recipe's we've tried. This one by far is the best! Works with pre-cooking the crust for 5 minutes, or just putting the ingredients on and popping it in the oven w/out pre-baking it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This crust is great, the only thing I'll change in the future is to cut the recipe down because it seemed about 25-30% too big for just one pizza, maybe my measurements were a little off, trying to convert to metric, but if the crust had been just a tad thinner it would have been perfect. I also added the corn meal to the crust after the first baking. Would you believe this is the best pizza I've had in 2 years in Argentina?! The pizza here is too thin with few toppings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      We liked this, but wouldn't have compared it to Papa John's if not for the recipe title. It was a slightly sweet crust. It made one thin crust pizza on my pizza stone. The dough was easy to work with, but I didn't need nearly as much flour as was called for in order for it to pull away from the bowl. (I'm assuming that's why I only got one pizza out of the dough, also.) Overall, a nice crust, and I'll probably make it again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Because we now live in Singapore, it's been awhile since we've had a real Papa John's pizza. I can't say if it tastes just like it, but we definitely liked it. It was easy to work with. It came out a little thin, but I accidentally used an 11x17 pan instead of 9x13. (Our wonderful pizza stones won't fit into our Singapore-sized oven.) :( But this was a taste of "home" for us. I used this with sauce #108447.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Like Papa John's Pizza Dough

    Serving Size: 1 (613 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1504.7
     
    Calories from Fat 278
    18%
    Total Fat 30.9 g
    47%
    Saturated Fat 4.1 g
    20%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1180.9 mg
    49%
    Total Carbohydrate 267.3 g
    89%
    Dietary Fiber 10.8 g
    43%
    Sugars 25.9 g
    103%
    Protein 35.9 g
    71%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes