8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Hubby & I both loved this. I used 10 minute brown rice & made a half serve with a half pkt of French onion soup mix. After fluffing it was a little dry so I just added another dob of butter and stirred through but 5 stars for simplicity & great flavour, a definite keeper. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** November 14, 2008

I made this recently to go with tilapia. Quite pleasantly surprised! It is so easy since it's made in the microwave and I had all ingredients on hand. Just as easy as making some boxed mix but I imagine cheaper and healthier. I used dry parsley because it's what I had on hand. It made more than we needed but reheated well for another meal. Also, I tried 6 mins first and it still had too much water so cooked a little longer. I probably cooked 9 mins total. I am very glad I found this recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DebbieCooks February 10, 2013

We liked this. I had to use dried parsley - no fresh, and added a little extra butter at the end. Will make again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs March 02, 2012

I love brown rice and this is a great quick and easy recipe. I used dried parsley and it took ~12 minutes to cook in my microwave oven. Made a yummy, filling lunch. Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' March 28, 2009

This was easy to make. With reading the other reviews I followed the recipe except I added about a 1/4 cup more water. I had to cook this is my microwave for 10 minutes. I used one teaspoon of dried parsley as I didn't have fresh. We liked this put my kids complained because the onions from the soup mix didn't soften up. It was a quick, tasty side dish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol January 07, 2009

needs more water to soup ratio...too salty for my tastes

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brookeba July 01, 2007

This was very good! I made it as directed. I had to add extra parsley and salt as well.I loved the fact that is incredibley easy. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Princess O April 27, 2007

This was a very easy way to jazz up Minute rice. The only change I made was to substitute 2 tsp dried parsley for the fresh. It needed quite a bit of salt as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shana C April 19, 2007
Almost Instant Onion Rice