Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / "almost" Boston Market Creamed Spinach Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    "almost" Boston Market Creamed Spinach

    Average Rating:

    57 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 57

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2010

      Excellent. Really enjoyed- will do again ( of course not every night for vegatable- although my family would love it). Thanks for another terrific recipe Kittencal

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

    • on April 05, 2010

      Yum! Thia was my first attempt at homemade creamed spinach and it was easier than I thought it would be. I wasn't going to add any parmesan but at the end felt like it needed something so I did add the cheese. It really set over the top! This is absolutely fantastic, much better than anything I've ever had from a restaurant or store. Thanks for posting this winner Kitten!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      This was another GREAT recipe from Kittencal. Everyone really loved this at dinner tonight. I served it with Prime Rib. Thank you for another keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Kittencal - once again you are the best! This was incredible! Excellent! Phenomenal! Very very close to how I remember Boston Market creamed spinach only better. I added the garlic, but not the cayenne (to be honest, I forgot it). I discovered (too late) that someone used the last of my parmesan cheese and I substituted shredded cheddar with great results right before I discovered I was out of sour cream, too! I left it out as someone else said and didn't miss it - will probably try it with sour cream another time, though. Wonderful, easy and quick. We would give it more stars if we could! Thanks for sharing all of your great recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      You probably know this already... but you are one heck of a cook... i've tried a few creamed spinach recipes and of course yours is the best. Will try some garlic next time for a little more spice... but overall... my goodness.... tasty, tasty, tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      OMG! So Good!! Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2009

      AMAZING! I followed it exactly. Wow!!! better than boston market, for sure...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      Yummm. I used fresh spinach that I had run through the water and set aside. It turned out that the washed spinach carried lots of water already that the 1/4 cup of water is an excess. So I will not add it next time. Other than that this dish is great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Yaaaayyy!!! KittenCal, I love this!! I mean, wow, it turned out perfectly! I cut the entire recipe in half, and no trouble whatsoever. Next time though, I think I'll sub half of the half and half for milk, just to lighten up the recipe a bit. But overall, I can't believe how close this is to boston market's creamed spinach. Bf absolutely loved it--with recipes like this, my two-days-a-week-vegetarian plan is a piece of cake. No meat was missing at our table tonight--this spinach was the star! Thanks so much KittenCal--if I'm looking for a killer dish, I always know whose recipes to look up!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2009

      This was yummy and easy! I added garlic and used 1 percent milk. Thank you Kittenkal; I always know your recipes will be tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2009

      Wonderful recipe, even my spinach hating husband loved it. Almost indistinguishable in flavor and texture from Boston Market's creamed spinach.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2009

      I had bought fresh spinach for a salad, but it froze in my fridge cause the temp was off. I have never liked cooked spinach, but had to find something to do with it so thought I'd give this recipe a try. OMG -- sooo good! I'm going to try in on my daughter-in-law who hates veggies - I think even she will love this. Thanks! bought for salad, but had a

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      Yum! I kind of eyeballed it, about halving the recipe. At the last minute discovered I didn't have any sour cream, so subbed cottage cheese. Loved it! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2009

      as with all of kittencal's recipe, this was delicious and easy to make. we had it with the barefoot contessa's steakhouse strip steaks and it was better(and cheaper) than mortons or flemings steakhouse. i followed the directions to the t and it was very, very good. better even the next day. as for trying to cut down fat and calories, oh well, life is meant to be enjoyed, even if it is only for one fabulous meal a week.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Oh my goodness! This was delicious. My kids, who HATE spinach ate it up! When making the white sauce I kept stirring and stirring and it wasn't thicking and I was starting to wonder if I did something wrong but then all of a sudden it was very thick. So be patient! Definitely a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      I was looking for something to make tonight to go with Super-Rich Virginia Crab Cakes and when I opened the freezer, all I had was a box of frozen chopped spinach. So, I looked for a spinach recipe and voila! Kittencal comes through again! This was very easy to make and it was so delicious. My husband went back for seconds! Oh and it was a great match with the crab cakes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      Excellent, I took this to Thanksgiving and it was a hit. I did add the garlic and opted for cream cheese instead of sour cream. Plus a little cayenne pepper in the sauce for extra flavor. I am planning on making this again for Christmas

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2008

      4 Stars, very tasty, but the sour cream detracted a tad, perhaps cream cheese or even mascarpone would work better? Made 1/2 recipe, due to DH's departure for hunting and prior overdose on spinach, and used fat-free half and half. The sauce does seem too thick, but it ended up just right as Marmish said. This was very good, but I want to tweak some more. Thanks for posting, Kittencal! Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2008

      This makes a wonderfully creamy side dish. I used organic chard for the spinach and it was perfect. Used lots of black pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for "almost" Boston Market Creamed Spinach

    Serving Size: 1 (198 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 337.8
     
    Calories from Fat 252
    74%
    Total Fat 28.0 g
    43%
    Saturated Fat 16.8 g
    84%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 581.6 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 4.9 g
    19%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 9.1 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites