Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    78 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-78 of 78

    Sort by:

    • on October 25, 2004

      This is so easy to make and does taste like an apple pie! My husband loved it! I made a few changes: I used Red Delicious apples and 2t cinnamon .. I also baked it in a 9x9 .. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2004

      I made this recipe and another apple pie recipe today because I couldnt make up my mind which one I wanted to try first. I am glad I made both. I made as written and used 1/2 Granny Smith and 1/2 Gala... the combination was perfect! Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      I really enjoyed this "almost" pie! It was tasty. I doubled the crust and apples and put it into a 13x9 inch dish and it came out perfect!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2004

      This recipe is great because I am not good at making pie crust. My husband and daughter loved it. I will definitely make this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2004

      I made this last night and I could not get my husband and daughter to quit eating it. My husband is normally not much of a dessert eater and when it come to compliments on food his usual response it it is good. Well, last night when I asked him if he liked this, his response was YES I DID...and after 2 bowls of it I guess so...he even made a special trip to the store to get some ice cream to eat with it!! Thanks for a great recipe that I will be making again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2004

      I would like to give you more stars, but my hands are tied:). This was great. I have always wanted to make an apple pie from scratch, but have been to lazy and perhaps a little apprehensive about making my own pie crust...Well this solved my problem. I made this and the aroma was wonderful. I baked it for about 1 hour(my oven's fault)This wasnt only just easy, It was delicious. The next time, I think I will substitute brown sugar for the regular sugar in the apple mixture. I added vanilla, which enhanced the already yummy taste. I also think the next time I will put the crust in the oven for maybe 10 or 15 minutes to brown a bit and then add the rest. I ate this warm (I couldnt wait for it to cool) with ice cream. The title says it all..Almost apple pie.Thanks for this delicious recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2013

      I must say that I'm not a huge fan of apple pie. But, I had some apples to get used up & just wanted something fast & easy - which these were. I was not expecting such awesome flavour! Between hubby & I, we ate the whole pan in 2 days! I imagine it would be good with some vanillea ice-cream, too, ,but we found it to be perfect just the way it was.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      This is an amazing recipe. I agree with the poster that a higher temp would be better, though. I had to bake longer at 350. I used regular "red delicious" apples & used Splenda for the sugar. I used a good heaping tsp of cinnamon. I had some trouble w/ the crust setting up, but I think I higher temp would make it work out better. but it tasted great & was much enjoyed by my hubby. Thanks so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I made this on 12/15/09, for the " Let's P-A-R-T-Y 2009 " Event. The was two hard parts about this recipe, getting the apples ready, and waiting long enough for it to get cool enough to eat. :)As for the baking time, I needed to add about 10 more minutes for the topping to get browned. We both thought that the topping should have a little bit more sweetness. So, I think that about 1/4 cup of brown sugar will be added the next time. Thanks for posting and, " Keep Smiling :) "

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      I strayed a little from the recipe, something I don't usually do on the first try. I used only brown sugar in the crust and half brown and half white in with the apples. This was so easy and pretty quick to put together. My DH and I really enjoyed this. Althought I am a baker, I don't make pies, pie crust drives me crazy and it makes me say bad words! So any recipe that comes close to pie works for me. Will be making this again and again. Next time may try some of the other suggestions also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      My husband reminded me yesterday that he did like the recipe. (I did not because the top came out flowery...) So I had to change the rating to be fair, Gerry. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2009

      I added about 1 tsp. cinnamon in with the crumble on top after reading in another review that it was bland. Thought it would perk up the topping and it did. I used macintosh apples with great results! This is one delicious pie and I will share the recipe with my neighbor, because it's so easy to make and so yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This got good reviews at Christmas dinner but I thought the crumbs were bland. I'd have given this recipe three stars but I think part of the problem was the apples I used. I used 5 granny smith apples that probably weren't juicy enough for this recipe. Next time I'll add some cinnamon to the crumbs, make sure I'm using juicy apples, and add some lemon juice to the filling. It's so easy that it's worth tinkering with!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2007

      I made this last night. super simple and super good. The crust is fantastic. It took 10 minutes to put together and everyone loved it. Great to use up all those apples from apple picking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2005

      A very easy, great tasting pie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      This was great, delicious, and easy, and the crumble DID taste like pastry. But I think I would use a juicier fruit, or maybe spread the crumble more thinly on the top, because some parts of the top stayed pretty floury after baking. No leftovers, though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2005

      Yes, this is the easiest apple pie ever! However, I think I used the wrong apples as I found it quite dry. I HAD to put a lot of cream on it. I found it much nicer cold than hot. It was certainly worth giving it another go and next rime will used a "jucier" fruit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2004

      Your preamble tells it all - quick, easy & the base tastes just like pastry! I added a wee dash of nutmeg to the apples & will probably use some brown sugar in the crumb topping next time - and there will definitely be a next time. Thanx Gerry!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.7
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    32%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 179.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.2 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 42.8 g
    171%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites