80 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YUM YUM! This is going to be a favorite recipe! With two large apple trees in my yard, I am always looking for new recipes. This is a delicious alternative to pie and SO EASY! High Altitude note: I baked at the recommended 350 degrees, but it took 55 minutes for the apples to be tender and top lightly browned. PERFECT!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaCooks October 27, 2008

This is a recipe I will treasure! It is so much easier than making an apple pie the traditional way and the crust comes out just like a traditional crust. Love the crumb top as well! delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandagirl October 25, 2008

Wow - This was easy and so delicious! I baked it like stated at 350 for 50 minutes and it tasted like it wasn't quite done. The apples were a little crunchy and the dough was sticky. The next time I made it (cause it's so tasty!), I baked it at higher temp & cooked it longer-YUMMY!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorrie in California October 20, 2008

Oct. 10, 2008 I made this on a cold, dark, rainy day. Perfect! My DH, who loves apple pie above all other dessets, said that this is almost like apple pie and as a dessert it was 5 star all the way. DD could only shake her head hard yes when asked if she liked it, she couldn't stop to talk. DS who doesn't like pie even ate a bite and said that it was good. High praise from him if he actually eats anything. The crumbs on top were almost like a sugar cookie to me, so yummy. My only complaint is the servings say 6-8. I cut ours in 9 and it almost served 3! I had to show great will power not to have a 3rd piece and I had to beat the others back to have leftovers. Great recipe! I made it for PAC Fall 2008. I made this again but baked it at 425 for 40 minutes. It is almost like a crisp. Make two, one each way.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookee monster October 18, 2008

I made this awhile ago and thought I had reviewed it, but I sure will now. This is such a good recipe, even better with whipped cream or ice cream! It is easy, smells delicious and tastes even better. I used gala apples because that's what I had and they were very good. Followed the recipe, except I used apple pie spice instead of cinnamon. Thanks, Carole in Orlando

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
carole in orlando October 16, 2008

Yummm. So good. I made 2 batches. One was baked in a casserole dish and the other was divided between a 12 cup muffin tin and a small 500 ml round casserole dish. I also used butter rather than margarine because that was what I had on hand. The muffins took about 25 minutes and the small casserole took about 35 minutes. The large pie took the full 50 minutes. Pie crust has never been one of my favourite things. This crumb top and bottom is so much better. Made for the Aussie/Kiwi Swap 21

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 10, 2008

This is wonderful! The crust and topping are delicious and the filling is so flavorful - just the right amount of cinnamon and sugar. Thanks for posting! Made for Aussie/New Zealand Recipe Swap #21.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 October 02, 2008

5 stars all the way!!!!!!!!!!! My house smells so good I am silly happy. Need a silly happy every once in a bit. Gerry thank you for all the assistance in this recipe as it is first for me. I did this recipe with pears and have apples ready to go for tomorrow. Anyone who wants to make a simple yet glorious recipe should make this. The aroma alone makes you smile. DH just walked in this second and "what is that smell and when can I have it?" Well he just gave you his 5 stars as well. Thank you

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef1MOM-Connie September 26, 2008

What more can I say that hasn't already been said? Delicious, easy to throw together, and great with a big old scoop of Nilla ice cream on top. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen In The Kitchen! September 04, 2008

ZWT4: Delicious, easy to prepare!! Thank you for sharing it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose July 11, 2008
Almost Apple Pie