Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almost Apple Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almost Apple Pie

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on December 05, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful in every way. Extremely easy to make and so very tasty. We loved the crumb crust and topping. I made it in a glass flan pan, and baked in the toaster oven. Gerry, you have some of the best recipes, and this one is right up there too. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      I love apple desserts and this one is no different. It tastes sweet and sugary cookie-ish with apple pie thrown in. I'm not sure it's easier than apple pie with refridgerated pie crusts out there, but I don't care, it was delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it game out great. Perfect with ice cream, FYI.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2011

      I LOVE this recipe! So tasty. It's apple pie, but with less complicated crust. :) I used brown sugar for the crust, because I love the combination of brown sugar with apples, and I used a generous teaspoon of cinnamon (I think I'll add some to the topping next time). I also sprinkled some nutmeg into the apples for some extra spice. I made this recipe with early Transparent apples, so I didn't feel the need to cut down on the sugar. The apples still had a nice tang to them, though admittedly, Transparents are rather sour. Awesome, awesome, awesome recipe. I'll make this instead of apple crisp from now on, and okay, probably in place of a full blown pie, because I don't have the patience to do crusts, and I refuse to buy them. Thanks for sharing! I'm going to try this with peaches next. :)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2010

      This was really good. I don't normally like apple pie, but this one was good. I did change things a bit, cause I am allergic to . Not to mention I just tend to cook that way. My 4 kids loved this stuff, first time I've ever had them all beg for more of this type of dessert. I made a double batch. For the crumb crust I did half white and half brown sugar. I used real butter since we like that better, and I added about 1 1/2 teaspoon of salt. (Sorry, I didn't actually measure...I dumped.) For the filling I used the apples, white sugar, and I added a bit of brown sugar to give it a bit of flavor, and then I used some vanilla and lemon juice. We will be using this recipe again. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2010

      Delicious!!! I cut the sugar back to about 1/3 cup, just trying to keep the calories down, and I added about 1/2 tbsp of lemon juice because I was afraid my apples weren't the freshest. This was very quick, easy and delicious! OH, and I also turned the heat up to 375 for the last 5 minutes to get a nice golden brown top. Thanks! Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2010

      Awesome recipe. Served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

      This is truly a wonderful recipe. Takes the humble apple crumble to the next level! I doubled the amounts to make it in a 9x13 inch pan. I used less sugar for the filling than called for, it was perfect for us. And, I used a mixture of white and cane sugar for the crumble mixture. I sprinkled some extra cinnamon and grated nutmeg on top of the crumble before baking. Served it with custard (for DH) and vanilla ice cream (for me and DD!). Thank you so much, Gerry, for sharing another one of your fabulous recipes, this one is also a keeper that I will be making it often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2009

      Very yummy! I chose this recipe cause my daughter is allergic to eggs and most other pie recipes have eggs. this was very easy to throw together. i did add some nutmeg and vanilla to the filling, i also used half white/half brown sugar in the crust. topped with a little cool whip. will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      Quick and easy fruit dessert which everyone enjoyed. My family of five ate the entire dish for dessert, so next time I'll double to get leftovers. Baked per directions in the recipe which worked just fine, will try the higher temperature version, too. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      First time making any kind of pie (I just got married) and it was delicious! Directions are so easy to follow and it turned out great.. thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2009

      This is really good. Like other reviewers, I cut back on the sugar in both the crumb and filling. I used about 3-4 tbsp brown sugar in the filling and 1/4 cup brown sugar in the crumb. I cut my apples in squares (for my little ones). I used a 9x13 glass casserole dish w/about 7 cups apples. Next time, I'll fill the dish with a few more cups of apples.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      Very good and VERY easy. I have never made apple pie before and was scared I'd mess it up. I decided to give this a shot and it ended up tasting very good. My husband and daughter both loved it. I loved that my house smelled like homemade apple pie. This is definitely going to be a favorite around our house.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      Very easy to mix up and get into the oven quick! It was a very happy ending to our meal. My family loved it and so did I!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2009

      I have made this as written and with the higher temperature version and like the one baked at 425 degrees better. I did have to turn the temperature down a little at the end though, so it wouldn't get too brown. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2009

      WOW, WOW, WOW is all I could say while I was eating this!!! DELICIOUS! So easy to throw together & probably by far the best "almost" apple pie I've had!!! My 2-1/2-year-old twins can't get enough of it either!! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe! This one's a keeper! EDITED to say that I made this with a can of cherry pie filling & it was DELISH!!! Thanks again Gerry for the great, easy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2008

      This was so delicious, fast,easy and Cheap! We had some free apples I needed to use up. It took about 4 large apples. I threw it together in like 10 minutes. I love it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      Can't say enough about the EASY part!!! I made this 3 days ago and hubby and I 'Picked and Nibbled' our away at it until we had eaten it ALL in one day! I am making it again tonight, the grandsons coming over will keep us from overdoing it this time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2008

      This is crazy delicious! I used Northern Spy and Roxbury Russet apples which are only available to me this time of year from a local farm. Both are out of this world apples that I recommend trying if you ever come across them. The Northern Spys are usually the size of grapefruit -- I kid you not! I used 2 of each apple. I tossed the apples with 1/4 cup of King Arthur Flour's sugar and cinnamon blend. Served warm from the oven with some homemade vanilla ice cream. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Wow. Seriously - Wow. I followed the suggestions here and used half brown sugar and half white sugar in the crust/crumb. I also pre-baked the crust for about 8 mins before adding the apples/crumb. I can't believe how simple this recipe is and how impressive the results are! Thank you Gerry!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This was really great. I gave a piece to a friend who said it was the best apple pie I'd ever made (and I've made a lot). I did steam the apples in the microwaver for a minute or two before adding them. It may be because I often put in more apples than called for but it seems without that step the apples aren't done when the crust or topping is. I also used 1/4 C butter rather than 1/2 C margarine. What a great recipe. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almost Apple Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (133 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 435.7
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    32%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 3.2 g
    16%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 179.2 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 72.2 g
    24%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 42.8 g
    171%
    Protein 3.9 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes