12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh my goodness, these are so good! The nutty bottom layer is delicious and so healthy, but like others have said, the little bit of chocolate on top really makes these fantastic. (you could also make chocolate by mixing melted coconut oil, almond butter, stevia, vanilla, and cocoa to top this) I ran out of almonds so used a combo of walnuts and sunflowers for 1/2 of the nuts. Easy to put together- just wizz up in the processor and put in a pan. That's my kind of recipe. Easy with great results. Thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi October 15, 2008

I used raw sugar and honey in place of the stevia and agave. 1 Tbsp each. Other than that I followed this like you have it. Not sweet, but so good! A 12th of this is very filling. The chocolate for me is a must. It's a bit like an almond joy, but it's a equal amount of both. Chewy, crunchy, lovely! Thank you!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Narshmellow May 15, 2008

These are wonderful! My teenager is growing super fast but is very skinny, I am so glad I found these power bars to add to his diet in between the meals as they're full of good stuff and pretty high in calories. I didn't add any Stevia or Agave as I felt that almond butter and chocolate chips add just enough sweetness without it becoming too overwhelming. Thank you for sharing a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alinasls October 01, 2012

This is really good! I made just at written but left out the stevia. I am currently pregnant and having a hard time keeping much food down so needed something that was high in calories but not big in quantity and this fits the bill. The flavor is much like a candy bar but it has some great nutrients too. The only complaint I have is that it is pretty expensive to make but that is minor so it still gets 5 stars from me! Thanks for the great recipe Elana....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jennyblender October 16, 2011

These were great! Feels like I'm cheating on my "diet" but I'm not!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bizzie July 30, 2010

This is a 10 star recipe - YOU MUST MAKE IT! I left out the stevia and used honey instead of agave and of course ghiradelli dark choc chips on top - we liked to cut them small and store in fridge.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Born2cook May 27, 2010

I'm attempting to eat with no sugars for a few weeks. I put a packet of powdered stevia in and skipped the chocolate. It still turned out very good. I'll have to try some of your other gluten free recipes now. I put the almonds in whole. I think I should have chopped them up first. I'll have to do that next time. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chief cook and bottlewasher May 20, 2009

I don't know why the author of this recipe gave it a bad review. I found these to be pretty good. They took a bit of work, but any food that is good for you generally takes some work. I'm glad I found something to use up some of that flax seed that I had bought on sale. Thanks! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LilPinkieJ November 21, 2008

Took a little time to get all the ingredients for these little gems, but that all came together when a neighbor of mine actually had some stevia on hand (I didn't even know what it was before this!), & then I shared the bars with her! Most definitely had to include the chocolate topping! And, if you pace yourself for one bar every day or two, they'll last a while (Yeah, sure)! Thanks for sharing your recipe! [Made & reviewed for one of my adopted chefs in this Spring's PAC]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike April 27, 2008
Almond Power Bar