15 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Excellent! My family LOVED this cake with its strong almond flavor and moist, tender crumb. I used almond meal (same as ground almonds) from Bob's Red Mill.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom4Life February 01, 2008

Delicious almond pound cake! The taste was like a Spritz Cookie in cake form, with a slight crunch in the texture due to the chopped blanched almonds! Delightful! I couldn't agree more with the other reviewers about how quickly and easily the prep came together as well. Thanks for the great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookieMonster2323 July 13, 2014

Wonderful cake! Moist, rich, very tasteful. When the cake was in the oven I re-read the recipe and realized I had forgotten to add the water. But-when the cake was done it didn't seem to have mattered. Next time I will add the water though. Or milk or yogurt like some reviewers have suggested.
Baked it in a loaf pan and it was done in exactly 45 minutes. This is certainly a cake that will be made many more times.
Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dudo March 12, 2011

This pound cake is to die for! I was expecting it to be bland, but it is very flavorful and moist. I did sub plain yogurt for the water, and I didn't bother blanching the almonds. Everyone loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
truth70x7 February 13, 2009

EXCELLENT!! I made 3 loaves of this for my dd's school bake sale - and the 4th loaf was for us - fabulous!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose October 03, 2008

This is very good. I used milk instead of water, like another rater suggested and ground up some sliced almonds (not blanched). But, I recommend taking the time to blanch the almonds and remove the skin because it added a flavor to the cake (which I don't care for). Very nice recipe, I'll have to try it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mle234 March 01, 2008

Excellent, very good and easy to make. I used milk instead of water. Thank you for the recipe

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mvelezlaw February 10, 2008

love this cake. Made it 5 times already. My son and his friends love it too. I cut back a bit on the sugar, even though its only a cup, and I don't bother to blanch the almonds. Still taste great. Also only use 5 tablespoons of butter.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dotalee February 04, 2008

This is wonderful, quick and easy to put together and tastes great. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Evie* January 17, 2007

Very moist and tasty cake. Very simple to make. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gwynn May 19, 2006
Almond Pound Cake