11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I'm so happy to have this recipe and thankyou for sharing it!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alana December 18, 2001

Bergy, you saved me a fortune!!! I can make twice as much almond paste at half the cost of a four ounce tube! I stumbled upon this recipe accendently----a happy surprise!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Richard-NYC April 16, 2003

Can't stop eating this easy, tasty almond paste, though I'm supposed to be saving it for a recipe (Lemon Blueberry Upside-Down Cake from "Bon Appetit", which I found from the Couldn't be Pareve blog). Delicious and authentic. Agree with a previous reviewer - if you want a really vibrant shot of almond in a recipe, add a touch of extract to the mix. I may do that next time, but for now, it's wonderful!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jay3fer July 08, 2010

Wonderful and simple! It saved me $10.00 for a measly 7 oz. tube of almond paste. I would add a teaspoon or two of almond extract though for a more robust flavor.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HOKAMAS002 July 28, 2008

I've though that prepare almond paste would be so easy.
I blanched the almonds myself the day before. I grinded them with the food processor for a while, added the sugar, processed again, added the egg white and processed shortly until all came together.
I did not add aromas (almond extract, orange flavor, vanilla, or others) nor food coloring, but next time I know that this would be done very fast and the result is great.
I shaped roses simply for fun and I can say that it was never so easy to shape them like with this paste. The paste was less fat that the commercial one.
I notices that the petals dried out a little bit after 1 hour. This is a big advantage if you use this paste for modeling.
I don't know if this depends on the almonds, but I suppose this, if this is not desired I suggest adding some (1 teaspoon) of almond oil.
Thanks a lot; I will use this recipe again for sure.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
awalde September 10, 2012

I could believe how simple this was to make - I will never buy canned again! used my food processor and added a teaspoon of pure almond extract and it tastes great. Now to make my Italian wedding cookies (aka Venetians or Rainbow cookies).
THANKS

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mamacinzia November 12, 2010

Wow what a great recipe! Thanks a bunch. I live in a rural area and have been looking for almond paste for 2 weeks. And online it is expensive! This was easy and fast and terrific.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
eldeetx June 12, 2010

This worked very well for me. I used it in a cake recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kana September 01, 2006

Brilliant recipe to have on hand! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VegeMight June 11, 2005

Bergy, thanks so much for posting this. I wanted to make Bev's Chocolate-Glazed Coconut-Almond Cake #19190 and I couldn't find Almond paste in any of the stores near me. I made this for use in the cake and it worked just great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Pixie* February 08, 2005
Almond Paste