Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almond Joy Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almond Joy Cookies

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on May 16, 2009

      Well, these didn't taste EXACTLY like the candybar, but they sure were GOOD! Thick, chewy, and full of flavor - I ate 5 or 6 before I finally controlled myself! :) I heeded other reviewers' suggestions by increasing the coconut to 3 c. and decreasing the choc. to 4 c. I happened to have 4 See's milk choc. bars w/almonds, so I chopped those up and threw them in w/the choc. chips (to total 4 c.), and the next time I make these, I will use all milk choc., and no semi-sweet. To me, that's why these didn't taste exactly like the candy bar...the semi-sweet was kind of an overpowering flavor. Anyway, if you love chocolate chip cookies, coconut, and almonds, then I highly recommend these babies! Eat them w/a cold glass of milk, and you'll be in Cookie Heaven!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2008

      100% my new FAVORITE cookie!!! Almond Joy is my favorite candy and the dough (ok, I admit to being one of those who eat the dough... someone has to taste it right, mine as well be me?!?!) DOES taste just like an almond joy candy bar - and the baked up cookies are to die for!!! I served them at a BBQ last night and to family today and and twice someone said 'these are way too good' and they really are, every single person had seconds! DS also loved 'em. I toasted my almonds and roughly chopped them, used half sweetened and half unsweetened coconut and used 1 regular size bag mini chocolate chips - and subbed 1/4 cup egg beaters for one of the eggs. I have a 4.5qt kitchen aid mixer and it was full to the brim - the amount written makes a huge amount of cookies. I had to have my DH stir at the very end, the mixer just wasn't going to cut it. I baked up half and froze the rest of the dough (don't know why I bothered I'm going to have to make again for our next get together tomorrow!) Thanks for posting this very awesome recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2007

      Very, very good cookies. I hope other Zaar members will try these. They have everything an Almond Joy has -- and even more!!! I used my ice cream scoop to drop the cookies onto the baking sheet. It holds at least 2 tablespoons -- maybe even more. I got a whole lot more than 36 cookies -- probably almost double that. I went back over the recipe and I don't see where I measured anything incorrectly. I'll be interested to know, as others try these wonderful cookies, if they also get more than the 3 dozen the recipe indicates. But who's complaining -- MORE IS BETTER!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      I wasn't much of a fan of these. I wish those who tweaked the recipe would have rated it on the recipe, not the way they tweaked it to make it better. From the beginning, I noticed the main recipe is the toll house recipe but they halved the butter and salt. I felt like this made the base cookie both bland and dry. I agree with other reviewers that you should substitute milk chocolate chips - and decrease them - the chocolate flavor was way too overpowering - I could not get any almond or coconut flavor. I would also increase the coconut as other commenters said and I loved the idea to exchange almond extract for the vanilla. So, next time I make these, I will double the butter and salt (per toll house), decrease the chocolate chips to 4 cups, and make them milk chocolate, increase the coconut, replace vanilla with almond extract. Maybe then they will be good. I will come back and let you know, but I will not give this recipe a better rating, because the recipe, as written, deserves 2 stars. Sorry.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2007

      These cookies are incredible V. Thank you so much for begging your friend...they are so worth it. I can't believe how much they taste like the chocolate bar. These wonderful cookies are crisp, creamy, very chocolatey and are full of coconut. They are the bomb. I had to omit the almonds because of my dh's allergy, but I bet they are even better with the nuts. I used dairy milk chocolate chips. I'll be making these again and again. Into my keeper box this goes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2014

      Have made these a few times now. Have also made them in a "Mounds" style without nuts. Both have been a hit and are requested for fundraisers. Very easy to make and great as a teaching/learning recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2013

      I made these and they were an instant hit. I followed the directions exactly. I used parchment paper and it made it a snap. Will definitely make them again. I posted a picture of them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2013

      I made these this morning and must say they didn't taste like almond joy. Too many chocolate chips. I am reluctant to making them again. I had to mix the ending ingredients with my hands. I did however get alot of cookies out of it and must say they were just ok. Like chochlate chip cookies. My husband loves choc. chip cookies but was not to crazy about these. I don't think they they tasted at all like almond joy. The recipe should be altered! I wonder if they can be frozen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2013

      These are delicious!! I used 3 cups coconut and 4 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips. I couldn't stay away from the dough or the baked cookies!!! They taste like a chocolate chip cookie but with the yummy surprise of coconut and almond.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      So good! I love the way they look and the shape they held. I don' think they tasted like an almond joy, but they are really good. I think next time I'll used milk chocolate chips. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2013

      This was a wonderful cookie. My whole family really talked about how good they were. Will make them often. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Loved these little gems!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2010

      This was very simple and yummy recipe! The only suggestions that I would make would be to use less chocolate chips, as they overpower the flavor of the coconut/almond. I also havled the recipe instead of the full servings suggested. I did not have any fresh almonds so I used 3 teaspoons of organic almond extract and 1/2 teaspoon of coconut emulsion. I use Guittard Chocolate Chips and they overpowered these flavors. But loved the cookie texture, a bit fluffy and chewy. Will bake again for sure but use less chocolate chips, maybe 1 cup just to sutle the chocolate flavor!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2009

      Most wonderful! I'm sure the original is incredible, but they're also wonderful with the following modifications (based on what I had available!) -Macadamia nuts instead of almonds. -Doubled the coconut -Toasted the coconut and chopped nuts together. -Added about a tablespoon of Amaretto. These modifications add a considerable amount of spread, so accommodate by giving them plenty of room to grow. Thank you so much for this delicious recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2009

    • on March 29, 2009

      Not too sweet and pretty tasty but I wished they had more coconut flavor -- the texture of the coconut was there, but the almonds and chocolate seem to mask the flavor. The next time, I will add Coconut (and just a drop of) Almond extract. Made about 40 cookies from a half batch and like momma213, mine didn't spread much either so I too, flattened the 2nd, 3rd and 4th trays of cookies. My coworkers enjoyed them a great deal -- said I am too picky and my own worst critic! Mahalo for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2009

      Really good, they didn't spread much so I flatten them some before baking. I use part Slenda and part regular sugars could be why. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Wow! This does make a lot of cookies! Make sure to use a very large bowl. I was almost overflowing mine, lol. I was able to get 6 dozen good size cookies. The taste is fabulous but I would like to taste more of the coconut, maybe add a little more next time. I only used 4 cups of chocolate chips. We like our cookies on the crisper side so I baked them for about 12 minutes. Yummy with a tall glass of milk!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2008

      Just made a 1/2 a batch (there's just me and my BF), and these came out great! I'll make these again and again! 5-stars! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2008

      I made these and they were the best tasting cookies. I made them again because the first batch was eaten by my family so fast! In the second batch I used Christmas colored M & M's and chocolate chips. Again my family went crazy over how good these cookies are! I will continue to use this recipe for whatever combination of chips and other ingrediants I decide to use! I still like the original recipe but my family isn't that crazy about coconut! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almond Joy Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (40 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 72

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.6
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    45%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 4.5 g
    22%
    Cholesterol 17.1 mg
    5%
    Sodium 116.2 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 16.0 g
    64%
    Protein 2.5 g
    5%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites