Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almond 'feta Cheese' Spread With Herb Oil (Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almond 'feta Cheese' Spread With Herb Oil (Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on July 13, 2011

      Amazing, amazing, amazing!!! Just threw this raw into a lasagna in place of ricotta and it was to die for!! Thanks so much for this recipe - I will be using it for EVERYTHING!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2012

      I couldn't be happier to have found this recipe - it's as amazing as everyone says! Mine turned out like a cross between ricotta and feta (my favorites!). Here's what I did: I soaked slivered blanched almonds for 21 hours, made the mixture in the food processor, then strained it in a strainer lined with a coffee filter (a great alternative to cheesecloth, since that can be hard to find). I only strained for 3 hours, and I'm guessing the full 12 hours would make the final product more crumbly and less ricotta-like (either way, I'd be happy). I put the mixture in two small ramekins sprayed with vegetable spray, baked for 10 minutes at 400, then 20 minutes at 350. This gave the cheese a nicely browned top that looked beautiful. I only had time to chill for 4 hours, then I turned them out and topped them with the olive oil and herbs. The presentation was gorgeous, and my dinner guests absolutely LOVED it.

      I'm thinking of all kinds of ways to use this. To use the cheese in it's creamy form (unbaked), I would suggest using a clove of roasted garlic to avoid the raw flavor of garlic, and I'd also cut back the lemon juice just a bit.

      I know I'll use this recipe a million more times, so thanks so much for posting it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      This turned out very nice!! Such a lovely texture and the flavor was great as well. I served with crackers & carrot sticks. We tried some unbaked and think that was just as good!! I used two little ramekins to bake them in and they turned out great. I didn't keep them on the high temp the whole time though because they did start to brown too much. I would just recommend peaking in about half way to make sure your not overcooking. Made for Veg*n Swap 31!! Thanks so much WICC!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2013

      This is delicious! I have made this twice already. I soaked my almonds then blanched them myself. You really don't need to use parchment paper, just spray your dish with oil first. I baked mine at 425 for 30 minutes. It browned beautifully. I also agree that 1/4 cup oil is too much so I cut back to a few tablespoons. Lastly, Canthelpmyself, it's in poor taste to rate this recipe low simply based on the fat and calorie content. This isn't a site for rating the nutritional value of a recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2009

      Excellent!!!- I first saw a version of this elsewhere on line-where it was 100% raw so I went w/ that concept...the nuts were raw and I worked the skins off over the 24 hour soak (I did extra to make almond milk and pulp too)...to the cheese mixture I added white miso and rejuvelac (both add a nice punch to the flavor) - all rest of ingredients were the same, except no baking and I chose to add no additional oil at the end-just felt no need...I did solar bake it in the lovely sunny day :) :) ;) {it was the Memorial Day Holiday wkend}- we enjoyed it with raw crackers & I had made a cashew version too (a few days before) adding sundried tomatoes and dried chili peppers for a spicy chia/flax seed crust pizza...I am experimenting now with dehydrating slices of the cashew version as it is firmer...this almond version is no doubts the BEST non-dairy cheeze ever!!!! LOVED IT :) :) It is very rich, very special...it will be a new "bring with" &/or "break out" for friends and family...thanks for the wonderful recipe share:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2014

      The best vegan cheese ever!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2011

      I would love to give this 10 stars except with 153 out of 171 calories in this recipe being fat I think it has much room for improvement. Don't get me wrong it is delicious but one tiny little serve is almost a whole days fat allowance and you may as well eat pure fat. Not to mention it is impossible to stop at one serve. I make this regularly but I only use 2 tbsps in with the almonds and I make the oil but only brush it over the top and put all the herb out of the oil on aswell. It tastes just as good but cuts the calories way down. Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2011

      This was absolutely amazing, I've tried making cashew cheese plenty of times using this recipe: http://www.fourgreensteps.com/community/recipes/appetizers/hard-cashew-cheese but almonds are also great! I fed this to my non-vegan boyfriend and he loved it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      This is a very tasty and healthy spread! It doesn't taste like any kind of cheese to me but it's still delicious. I baked mine in a ramekin at 375 for 40 minutes, then turned it out and let it cool before topping with the herbed oil. I served it on whole grain melba rounds and enjoyed this tasty treat - thanks for sharing the recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by magpie diner)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      This was amazing! 100 stars!! My cheese-eating friends ate is ALL, and siad they would not have know it wasn't cheese if I hadn't told them. I actually followed the instructions and baked it low and slow at 200 degrees for probaly 50 minutes. I did not want mine to brown on top, but rather look fresh, white and creamy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2010

      OMG, what a delicious spread! So good it's hard to resist overeating. The spices are just perfect. I used skin-on almonds and never baked it (wanted to get the health benefits from the raw nuts/oil.) This was creamy and flavorful, perfect for dipping veggies. What a healthy snack. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2010

      Delicious! I really like this recipe, and I'm sure I'll be making many more times. I cooked mine on about 375 and it browned a little too much, or maybe I should have used more oil...but didn't really matter, it was warm and delicious and a nice addition to my "cheese" plate! Thanks WICC! UPDATE...Made again for a party, this time cooked at 350 for about 40 mins and then under the broiler for 2 minutes to really brown the top. My guests wanted the recipe, they weren't quite sure exactly 'what' it was, only that it was delicious!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2009

      Excellent! Actually easier to make than it first looks-it just needs waiting time. Told DS to bake it at 350 degrees for 40 minutes (was gone walking with my grandbaby) but now think it should have baked at a higher temperature so it would have browned more like in mersaydees' picture. Maybe 375 for 40 minutes? I did use all the oil and should NOT have but just forgot to reduce it. Thanks Wish I Could Cook for sharing. Made for Theirs, Yours, & Mine tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2009

      This transcends vegan, vegetarian, meat-loving, whatever! This is OMG delicious! I used Wish I Could Cook's tip to use a small casserole - perfect! I believe the 1/4 cup oil is okay for the finished product, drizzled on as you chip away at the dip; I used only a few tablespoons of a rosemary-infused olive oil. The baking wasn't specified, so at first I did 300F, which isn't enough to brown it, so I continued for another 20 minutes at 400F, which did the trick. Not sure I'd be raving about this without baking it first! The raw garlic — I dunnoh?! I will be making this for everyone who passes through my door and wants a spectacular appetizer! :) Thanks, Wish I Could Cook! Made for Veggie Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2009

      Amazing! I didn't even blanch the almonds, and I didn't notice you needed a cheesecloth, so basically I just ground up some almonds and garlic in the food processor, and it was still magnificent. Definitely saving this :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2009

      I've tried quite a few vegan cheeses, both store-bought and homemade, and I have to say this is one of the best. I omitted the herb oil but it was still wonderful. I tried some as a dip with veggie chips before baking, but baked most of it. Next time I will probably bake it longer because it was still creamy (not crumbly) in the center. It was wonderful with a meal of falafel, hummus, rice, and sauteed veggies. I know I will find a million other ways to enjoy it. Thanks for posting! Made for Veggie Swap 13

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2009

      I made this, baking it and next time I think I'd like it even better unbaked! Enjoyable with crackers. Thanks for a cool vegan recipe! :D Made for Vegetarian Swap-May 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2009

      DELICIOUS vegan cheese! I JUST LOVE IT! It's great spread on sandwiches or as an app with fresh bread. Yummmmmmm! Did I say I like this?! I skipped the baking of this recipe & thought it was just perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almond 'feta Cheese' Spread With Herb Oil (Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 10

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 171.1
     
    Calories from Fat 153
    89%
    Total Fat 17.0 g
    26%
    Saturated Fat 1.8 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 293.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 3.3 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.5 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 3.1 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites