19 Reviews

From the list of steps, initially I though I'd grow old before completing the recipe, but actually it went together quickly. On second thought, it may be just too much of a sacrifice to share. ;-) Made for A/NZ #41 recipe tag.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gailanng June 10, 2010

These were amazing! I sprinkled finely chopped pecans over the top of the glaze for an added touch. Will make these again soon!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beep Beep Momma's Taxi May 04, 2010

LOVED IT! Sarah, this might be the most delicious thing I've ever eaten, OVER-THE-TOP DELICIOUS! Edited to say OF THE 350 RECIPES I REVIEWED IN 2008, THIS WAS THE BEST. In fact, I think it's my favorite of the 650 recipes I've reviewed since joining zaar!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
puppitypup January 06, 2009

Thanks for posting this. I make this fairly often but my pie crust base didn't cling to the cream puff part. I tried your 2 tablespoons of water for the pie crust part and it was so much easier to pat out and when baked held on to the puff part.<br/> My D-I-L says 'I like this and it isn't even chocolate".

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lulu8 August 20, 2013

I make this every Christmas. It's delicious and magical. We all like to look in the oven on Christmas Eve to see it puffed up. I make a frosting of cream cheese, almond extract and just enough powdered sugar to sweeten it a bit. It makes a fantastic part of Christmas morning breakfast! Easter too... and New Years... and birthdays... and Tuesdays... :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pam in the Kitchen December 29, 2011

5 stars...YUM!! tastes just like a bear claw from the store, but better! I will make again

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Luv2baker June 22, 2010

A work colleague made this recipe and it is really great--disappeared fast at the office! You'd swear that it contained almond paste! Yummy, thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
socholy March 18, 2010

In my family we always sprinkled it with walnut bits. It's great either way. It's absolutely a favourite - one that you can finish in a single sitting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
heidi1270 January 01, 2010

I am so glad you posted this recipe. It was a family favorite many many years ago and I had forgotten about it. It tastes like a pastry from a pastry shop. I liked to sprinkle toasted sliced almonds on top of the glaze. I am trying it next with whole wheat pastry flour to add fiber. I believe it will work fine. Great!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Georgia On My Mind Bread Baker December 23, 2008

This is one of my absolute favorite recipes! It is hard to stay away from! It is also called Swedish Kringler.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strumica April 05, 2008
Almond Danish Puff