34 Reviews

Richard, this is a wonderful cake! DH requested a pound cake for Easter dessert, so I went looking. I love the Cake Mix Dr, and have prepared many of her recipes, but not this one. I already knew it would be delicious. And can we say easy? Sheesh, you just throw everything in the bowl at once, and mix. The flavor is amazingly good, and the family loved it. I served it with a mix of blueberries, raspberries, blackberries and strawberries that I mixed with some sugar and almond extract, and some fresh whipped cream. Heavenly! I baked mine at 350° for just a bit less than 45 minutes, because my tube pan is dark nonstick, and I didn't want the edges of the cake to burn. It was perfectly done. Thanks for posting, Richard!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao April 21, 2003

This cake is absolutely the most delicious tasty poundcake I have ever had! And so easy! I didn't even need the fruit and whipped cream to be in heaven. I used half of it to make a trifle and everyone was bowled over by the flavor of the cake! Thanks Richard for a cake I will be making many, many times again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle S. February 22, 2003

I'm toying with the idea of making my own cake or cupcake tower for my upcoming wedding, so I'm trying out some new recipes. I made cupcakes out of this recipe and boy were they great! I was concerned that it would be too dense, but they were surprisingly light and wonderfully flavored (not to mention, super easy!). I used a cream cheese icing that was really good but overpowered the flavor of the cake . . . think I'll try a whipped cream topping next time. Currently I have a couple cupcakes stashed in the freezer to see if I would be able to make the cakes ahead of time, freeze them, then thaw them out for decorating before serving. Oh, and for any of you who care, I found that scooping the batter into a zip top bag then piping it into the cake liners is definitely the mess-free way to go with cupcakes! Thanks for this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee January 30, 2009

When I was making this cake I had planned to skip reviewing it because I wasn't following the recipe exactly, but...I just had to add my note because it turned out so great. I was down to the wire with about an hour until company arrived and all I had for dessert was some lemon curd that I had made. When I looked in the pantry I had a lemon cake mix and brownie mixes. Luckily, I chose the lemon cake mix. That was the only change I made.I baked it in a large loaf pan and it taste great. With lemon curd and whipped cream it will be delicious. Oh yeah, I did add a little rum extract. I thought lemon and rum sounded like a match.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Beach Tia September 26, 2007

Easy and Very good cake. It came out soft, moist and delicious. My family devoured this cake in one day. Thank you for posting the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
YungB March 06, 2014

A delicious cake that stands out on its own. It's super easy to make, and you could even switch up the extracts if you wanted different flavors. Thanks for sharing this wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! April 11, 2013

This pound cake is exelent it never fails. I also make it with betty crocker gluten free cake mix do to many with gluten sensetivity and no obe can even tell. It is the best and made it alot. But serve even next day taste better. When hot or even warm its not so great.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
caterina72 March 30, 2013

I made this cake today and like another reviewer I used a lemon cake mix. I also use coconut oil instead of vegetable oil. I think lemon and coconut go well together and this turned out great. The cake had just a hint of coconut and was not overpowering the lemon flavor. This is a "kepper".

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gladys P. February 27, 2012

Love this recipe! I've made this many times and everyone raves about it. The only change I make is to eliminate the almond extract and use 2 teaspoons of vanilla. I can't recommend it highly enough!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa February 24, 2012

Great cake! I've made it a few times and it always comes out perfect. It is wonderful even plain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizCl January 18, 2012
Almond Cream Cheese Pound Cake