Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Almond Cake from Albufeira, Portugal Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Almond Cake from Albufeira, Portugal

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on June 09, 2010

      You are right, I did love it! We enjoyed this with some macerated berries for my grandmother's 92 birthday. I added extra almond extract into the batter because we love it so much. My springform pan let some of the syrup drip onto the floor of my oven, so next time I'll be sure to place some foil under before adding the syrup. An easy recipe that will be made again, and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      This cake is so easy and quick to make and it is so good. My background is Portuguese and I love making traditional recipes, my mom loved it and it is definitely a keeper. It is not too sweet and the syrup makes it moist. I accidentally added extra almond extract to the syrup but it didn't ruin the cake at all it just added to it. I wrapped the springform pan in aluminum to prevent the syrup from leaking thru and it helped. Great cake will definitely make it again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2010

      Made this to bring to my mothers house as a surprise dessert, super fast and easy to make, everyone loved it! I make it once a week now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      I made this recipe to try out my new spring form pan. It was a huge hit!!!!!!! Everyone loves it! I have given out the recipe to over ten people. This recipe is definatley a keeper. Thank you so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Wonderful

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2009

      This is the EXACT cake my grandma used to make when I was a little girl over 40 years ago. There is nothing better on a cool winter evening with a dollop of fresh whipped cream and a cup of steaming coffee or tea!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2007

      Made this for a meeting that I attended at a Mental Health Hospital. The guard at the door said that they don't usually let food in (I might have baked a knife or some drugs into it) but if I would give her a sample she'd let me take it in. She liked it so much she almost confiscated my cake!! Sage - this is a great cake and very flavorful!! The folks at the meeting loved it and I know I'll make it again - wonderful flavor and texture!! Thanks for a winner!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2007

      This cake is delicious! I love the flavor added by the almond syrup! In my opinion it is the key to the cake! I only had a 10 inch springform pan, so mine turned out a little thinner that it should have. Maybe that helped get the almond flavor into every bite! Thanks for posting such a wonderful dessert! Made for ZWT3.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2013

      I made this cake for a party, and it was really, really, tasty. I made the almond syrup too early so it ended up hardening on top of the cake in a candy-like form, but it still tasted great either way! I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2012

      Such an easy and delicious cake - it reminds me a little bit of a semolina cake we order from a Middle Eastern restaurant - the cake is nice and syrupy with the crunch of almonds on top. I will caution you that the almonds toast very quickly - no more than 3 mins under the broiler. Also, I doubled the almond extract - you may want to do a little less than double.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Almond Cake from Albufeira, Portugal

    Serving Size: 1 (138 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 440.7
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    33%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 58.9 mg
    19%
    Sodium 356.7 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 69.3 g
    23%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 51.4 g
    205%
    Protein 6.1 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites