10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

You are right, I did love it! We enjoyed this with some macerated berries for my grandmother's 92 birthday. I added extra almond extract into the batter because we love it so much. My springform pan let some of the syrup drip onto the floor of my oven, so next time I'll be sure to place some foil under before adding the syrup. An easy recipe that will be made again, and again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookiedog June 09, 2010

This cake is so easy and quick to make and it is so good. My background is Portuguese and I love making traditional recipes, my mom loved it and it is definitely a keeper. It is not too sweet and the syrup makes it moist. I accidentally added extra almond extract to the syrup but it didn't ruin the cake at all it just added to it. I wrapped the springform pan in aluminum to prevent the syrup from leaking thru and it helped. Great cake will definitely make it again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Preta75 February 23, 2011

Made this to bring to my mothers house as a surprise dessert, super fast and easy to make, everyone loved it! I make it once a week now!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Puntins! April 17, 2010

I made this recipe to try out my new spring form pan. It was a huge hit!!!!!!! Everyone loves it! I have given out the recipe to over ten people. This recipe is definatley a keeper. Thank you so much!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COCONUT LOVER December 16, 2009

Wonderful

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Yvonne F. November 17, 2009

This is the EXACT cake my grandma used to make when I was a little girl over 40 years ago. There is nothing better on a cool winter evening with a dollop of fresh whipped cream and a cup of steaming coffee or tea!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LisaCooks August 30, 2009

Made this for a meeting that I attended at a Mental Health Hospital. The guard at the door said that they don't usually let food in (I might have baked a knife or some drugs into it) but if I would give her a sample she'd let me take it in. She liked it so much she almost confiscated my cake!! Sage - this is a great cake and very flavorful!! The folks at the meeting loved it and I know I'll make it again - wonderful flavor and texture!! Thanks for a winner!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acerast June 27, 2007

This cake is delicious! I love the flavor added by the almond syrup! In my opinion it is the key to the cake! I only had a 10 inch springform pan, so mine turned out a little thinner that it should have. Maybe that helped get the almond flavor into every bite! Thanks for posting such a wonderful dessert! Made for ZWT3.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ColCadsMom June 20, 2007

I made this cake for a party, and it was really, really, tasty. I made the almond syrup too early so it ended up hardening on top of the cake in a candy-like form, but it still tasted great either way! I will definitely make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alrightalex June 23, 2013

Such an easy and delicious cake - it reminds me a little bit of a semolina cake we order from a Middle Eastern restaurant - the cake is nice and syrupy with the crunch of almonds on top. I will caution you that the almonds toast very quickly - no more than 3 mins under the broiler. Also, I doubled the almond extract - you may want to do a little less than double.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
runnerlaur July 15, 2012
Almond Cake from Albufeira, Portugal