16 Reviews

These were nice and soft, almost chewy and very easy to make. I used the drop method and sugar dipped glass to flatten. I think Hersheys kisses pressed into the center would also be delightful. Thank you for sharing this recipe Donna!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cindy Lynn January 24, 2003

These were wonderful Donna M. I made them as I would regular sugar cookies and used Fall colored sugar (gold, green and orange) on top. You are right, this recipe is very versatile. The cookies were nice and soft on the inside. My kids helped with the decorating. Thanks for a great recipe.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' September 28, 2002

In spite of the delicious title, this is a slightly dry, not too sweet cookie. I was surprised to find that they taste like the recipe my mom always uses for cookie press cookies. But I tried to use cookie cutters after chilling the dough for hours- dough was too sticky. Then used the "press with a sugared glass" method, which worked. But "Pianolady" is correct- these are not cookies that you should take out of the oven slightly underdone. Let them get good and brown around the edges if you want any flavor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
J-Lynn July 04, 2008

WOW!These are delicious! They were very easy to make. I came out with 7 dozen cookies. I rolled them into balls and then pressed them with a cookie stamp that had been dipped in sugar. I will make these again and again! Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Graybert November 11, 2003

What a simple recipe! So easy to make, tasty too! I will say that I ended up making two different almond butter cookies today (I ran out of cream cheese; and the other recipe didn't have cream cheese on the ingredient list). Of the two, this one was far simpler and quicker to make and the ingredients went further. However, I do think I prefer a more crisp, buttery flavor. This cookie was on the softer side. I used the drop method w/ a red sugar-dipped glass and marishino cherries cut in half for Valentines Day. I will admit I did make larger cookies. The only change I would make for next time would be to roll them into balls before pressing w/ the glass for a neater circle shape. If I hadn't made both cookies in the same day, I probably would have rated this with 5 stars. Thank you for a great recipe Donna! This would be the recipe I would turn to first.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hey, Good Cookin'! February 13, 2011

This is my favorite frosted cookie recipe! I love it as it turns out like a really tasty butter cookie. Many compliments during the holidays. However, I do not eat or serve these plain. Cream cheese or buttercream frosting is a must. I also do not put cherries on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skinnynurse09 February 10, 2010

great recipe...I made these as drop cookies for christmas but i cut marishino cherries in half and pushed them into the cookie before baking. The cherry and almond taste together is awesome and the cherries gave them a great color.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim Cai December 24, 2009

Very nice. Agree with earlier comments as they are better baked slightly toasted on the bottom, as it cooks out the alcohol that is in the almond extract and vanilla. I made mine as a roll out with red and green sprinkles for the holiday. Very nice creamy taste! Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boogerz December 16, 2007

Made theses cookies for dd's 7th birthday. We also decorated them. They are really good. Also very easy! The only change I made was I didnot add the almond extract.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Z,G,L's mom December 12, 2007
Almond Butter Cookies with Cream Cheese