11 Reviews

Zero stars. Mine was a gooey, nasty, uncooked mess. It stuck to a non-stick loaf pan that was sprayed with PAM! The edges that did cook had no strawberry flavor. I wish I had my ingredients, time, money and energy back. I followed the recipe precisely. Don't know what went wrong. I've never had such a disaster. Maybe it was my oven. I don't blame anyone but myself.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nott June 18, 2009

This was very good! I think next time I may use just slightly less strawberries. I used vanilla yogurt as that is what I had, but it was probiotic so I figured it couldn't hurt to add some good for you stuff in there! My company loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jennygal June 15, 2009

YUM! I had a bunch of fresh strawberries to use up and this recipe fit the bill. I used almost all whole wheat flour and substituted applesauce for half of the butter. Because I doubled the recipe, I ended up with 2 decent sized loaves. The bread doesn't rise that much, so the loaves turn out smaller than expected. But, I love the taste of the almond - adding the slivered almonds is a must. I didn't even make the topping - the bread was just fine without it and would be too sweet, in my opinion, with the glaze on top. Thanks for a really unique treat!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuckyDog June 26, 2008

This was really great! A few changes-- vanilla yogurt, no almond extract, and no almonds but I'm sure it's even better with the almond flavor to it. May just have to make this again! Thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Christineyy! July 03, 2007

Awesome!! I used fresh strawberries that I had chopped and previously frozen for such a recipe!! I just thawed & drained the berries and was in business. This bread is superb!! I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mom2Rose June 26, 2007

delicious bread! I made for breakfast in mini bundt molds. I used half splenda/ half sugar. I also added 1 tsp. each of strawberry and vanilla extract. Instead of the glaze I served with a sour cream sauce sweetened with brown sugar and vanilla extract. my family loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
al-myster June 26, 2005

Yummy....moist and I love the almond flavor with the berries. Very rich and great tasting. Will for sure make this one again, cause its not the usual strawberry bread! Thanx Ang!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LAURIE May 31, 2005

This is a great strawberry bread! It was very easy to make. I was worried that it wouldn't be sweet enough with only 6 Tbsp. of sugar, but it was perfect. My only advice is to double the recipe - it won't stick around long.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bronco1016 April 25, 2005

Wow! This is yummy. I tried to make this cake once before, with frozen strawberries, and whether that was the problem, or not, it didn't work out. I waited until fresh strawberries were on the market and tried again today. I'm very happy that I didn't give up. It's tender and fragrant with strawberry and almond. Thank you very much for posting this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mianbao April 09, 2005

This is a luscious cake/bread. My husband was skeptical when I mentioned the ingredients-- his comment: "Baked strawberries ?" But after one bite, he declared this to be "gorgeous, the best non-chocolate cake" he's ever eaten. I used thinly sliced almonds instead of slivers- it had a nice crunchy texture. Absolute tops, thanks for posting !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FlemishMinx May 21, 2004
Almond and Strawberry Bread